We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$202
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Monceau Wagram Hotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$118
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Berne Opera(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Royal Saint Germain(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Mansart(Paris)
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Vintage Hostel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$354
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (962)
Filter reviews
962 results
Traveller rating
284
451
111
57
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
451
111
57
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsarabian thememetro stationfree smartphonerer borly airportcleaned every dayromantic weekendvery pleasant stayinternet accessper daystayed for nightscontinental breakfastcomfortable hotelmontparnassebathtub
Filter
Updating list...
208 - 213 of 962 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2008

Montsouris

Half an hour by taxi from Charles D Gaulle airport. €50 cab fair, much easier than airport transfers, struggling with baggage on the Metro and so forth.

Reception staff warm and welcoming, with fantastic English. First impressions are beautiful Arabic design, clean and modern with internet access by half-hour or hourly cards, purchased at reception.

The rooms are clean bright and met expectations, not huge. That's not a big problem as Notre Dame is 15 minutes away by Metro, and from there the city is your oyster. The closest Metro station (Pte de Orleans) is 5 minutes walk from the hotel, and a daily ticket is €5,80 for unlimited travel. You will pass local grocers and other shops en route, all have a good command of English so buying your bread, beer and eggs is an easy experience, with market style frontage of fresh produce outside. Turn right from the Metro station and you have Buffalo Grill and even Pizza Hut - although a sleepy suburb, you are in Paris and have all amenities available.

Continental breakfast, but you can have it in your room.
Air conditioning does work, but is not fantastic.
Bedding is clean, bed very comfortable.
Towels clean and lots of them.
Sewing kit, shoe clean kit.
Soap, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, cotton buds, face wipes, moisturiser all individually wrapped.
No tea making facilities in room - no room for them.
Mini bar priced as you'd expect, and there is a safe in each room.

We would happily stay again - the Italian restaurant next door is lovely, the manager speaks better English than us, and is very friendly.

You really could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank laird_byron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2008

Small, dingy, rude staff, in the back end of nowhere.

Never a 4* or actually 5* as on lastminute.com. Possibly the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. One of you has to stay on the bed to allow the other to move about the room. Unable to turn around in the bathroom. Truly awful. Avoid.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerBiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2008

This is a small hotel, located almost outside the centre of Paris. The rooms are small (which is no different to many other French hotels) and decorated in an oriental style.
Having said this, this is one of the friendliest places I have stayed at. Staff have been helpful and courteous. The rooms are spotless and there is a very nice buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northernlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

Maybe I was just lucky but the hotel wasn't as bad as most of the reviews here seem to claim. I do agree it's a bit over-priced.

The interior of the hotel, both the rooms and the common areas, was gorgeous, just like in the photos. Late in the evening, when all the other lights besides the tiny blue bedside lamp were turned low, it was amazing. There were a lot of iron details. They looked great, although it was awfully easy to bump oneself.

The bath was nice and the shower head worked perfectly, no complaints about that. There was no bath robe but as I don't find it necessary anyway, I didn't even think about it till reading some of the comments here. But bring your own conditioner.

I agree that the breakfast is worth skipping. Just by the metro station (Porte d'Orleans) there's a creperie offering wonderful pancakes with Nutella (and lots of other things). Creperies are probably among the best memories I have of Paris.

The staff was helpful and (to my secret dismay) spoke quite good English. The TV had about six French channels, CNN, smething in German and if I remember correctly, somehting in Spanish. ANd probbaly something else as well.

The location was okay as the metro station was very near to the hotel and the centre of Montparnasse was just about seven minutes away. It was great to be able to walk in the evening without hearing English all around me. There's a lovely Moroccan (if I'm not mistaken) restaurant nearby. Sadly I don't remember the exact location well enough to give guidelines but the couscous was superb.

Overall I liked the experience, although next time I'll probably stay in a different hotel - just out of pure curiosity as to what other areas of Paris are like to live in. And it was a bit over-priced, it's true. But one has to book well in advance to find something cheaper and more central.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SeverinK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

My husband & I spent 3 nights at this hotel last weekend. We had a standard room which was extremely small (one person had to stand in the corner so that the other could pass by!). Also the room was very very dark due to the fact that the curtains & bed covers plus the swaths of material over the head of the bed were coloured mauve and dark blue. No chance of reading anything unless you had a torch with you!

There were no bathrobes nor carpets as advertised.

Good points are that the bed linen and pillows were excellent.

There are a lot of cafes around the hotel serving excellent breakfast and much cheaper than the 15euros per person at the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank sunrise_sigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews