We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
101
196
135
68
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
196
135
68
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsecole militairechamp de marsquiet streetrooms are smallhop on hopfew blocksminute walkperfect locationsmall elevatorhotel is locatedshort stayyogurtaround the cornermetrocafeseiffeleurope
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2018

Hotel Eiffel Rive Gouche... Where do I start?

The hotel is in a very quiet road and yes, it's close to the Eiffel Tower but somehow, I felt unsecure. Arrived by taxi very late night I was surprised by this little area. Lots of doggy people watching us while we walked from taxi to the hotel.

Male receptionist welcomed us with no smile at all. Soon we got the key we went upstairs.

We had a double room. Small room. If you have lots or big luggage’s, trying to find a place put it will be tricky. The heat in the room was unbearable. There was no AC and the single fan that was provide simply moved the hot air around the room. We couldn’t open the window as was facing hallway and lots of people was passing by our door. Traveling with child security was on the first place. No tea/coffee facilities
If you're anywhere on the ground floor, expect zero sleep from the noise! First floor has to be a little better but I couldn’t sleep at all. Gladly I booked just one night.

The WiFi is joke in this place. Worse than dial-up and the signal constantly drops every few minutes. The WiFi may be free, but was useless during my stay.

Bathroom is the smallest I have ever seen. The shower is no bigger than a phone booth. No toiletries but at least fresh towels

We didn't try the breakfast here as I wanted to leave this place as soon as possible.

I don’t recommend this place during the summer and travel with small children.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Beata J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivegauchedirection, Directeur général at Eiffel Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear Beata J,
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience at our hotel. This feedback helps us to improve the quality of our services.
We are sorry to read that your stay was not up to your expectations. However, we need to add a few precisions : our neighborhood is one of the safest of Paris; There are lots of shops and restaurants in the area that are opens till quite late and you can walk at night safely. Our semi pedestrian street is quiet at night and there are usually no doggy people around. The size of our rooms and bathrooms are according to three stars hotels' standards. There was a technical problem with the wifi during the night of your stay but it was solved the following morning.
We hope that you will give us another try,
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018

We arrived to a room we had booked and paid for on hotels.com. Upon our arrival my 7 month pregnant wife and I were told "the room may smell for a little bit, it was just cleaned". No problem. We arrived to our room and the smell was absolutely toxic. We couldn't figure out what it was until I leaned against the bathroom door and realized it was covered in fresh, wet paint. It wasn't "just cleaned" it was JUST PAINTED. The door still had wet paint with no signs posted or any warning. Both my shirt and my wife's were ruined. We talked to the manager who told us not to worry, he'd put fans in the room and air it out, it would be fine when we came back from dinner. Two hours later and it was not. The manager was gone for the night and the night clerk refused to help us. Finally he called the manager who returned to the hotel. We were told it was the last room in the hotel. We could repack our things and stay at the hotel next door, but we'd have to pay for it and get reimbursed later. Not an option we were willing to take. They offered to re-book us at another hotel for our stay, but we'd have to pay upfront. No, again, not acceptable. EVERY solution involved US paying. Finally, hotels.com called the hotel and arranged us another accommodation and at least the staff at paid our taxi. They also gave us back our shirts which they said they would clean. Of course they didn't. The next day I came back to retrieve a bag I'd left in the room which still smelled toxic. This was an absolutely horrible experience to have to go through. My wife and I had traveled all day. We just wanted to go to sleep, but at 11:30 at night we're still trying to find a solution, repacking our bags and moving to another hotel. Obviously we regret booking at Eiffel Rive Gauche.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivegauchedirection, Directeur général at Eiffel Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Dear DJ J,
We would like to extend again our most sincere apologies.
We are indeed doing some renovation work in our hotel but it was an error from us that made you have a freshly painted room. We would not give unfinished room to guest and obviously would not expose them to toxic substance. We did our best to find a solution according to the circumstances. Paris was busy that night but we managed to find a hotel in the vicinty. However, the night clerk of that hotel would not agree for us to pay for your room and we had to wait for expedia to make the arangement. We are sorry that you could not enjoy our hospitality and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in a near future to show you the quality of service we pride ourselves to provide.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Hotel has no air conditioning, bed sheets were not cleaned. There were hair under the comforter on bed sheets. The bathroom is nasty and check in desk is a table. I understand most hotels in Paris or Europe as general are small compared to US but cleanliness should not be compromised. This was an equivalent of run down motel 6 in US

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paraschokshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivegauchedirection, Directeur général at Eiffel Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear Paraschokshi,

Thank you for sharing your impression about our hotel. We are so sorry that we did not meet your expectations. The hotel has no air-conditioning as mentioned on our website but we provide fans in each room. The mattresses protection are checked daily and we are sorry that you found hair on it. We have reminded our staff to be more vigilant. The hotel cleanliness and the quality of service are our main concerns as well as our guest satisfaction.
Warmest regards
Grégoire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018

Great location within walking distance to the Eiffel. Cute hotel (with an elevator) but no air conditioning though.
Some good eateries around the area, wonderful staff. Arranged cab for airport departure. It was a super hot week in Paris and unfortunately the fans were ineffective - our windows opened up to a noisy street so that didn't help much.
The folks in Reception were sweating it out too unfortunately. All said no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SudeshnaFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivegauchedirection, Directeur général at Eiffel Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear SudeshnaFloyd,
Thank you for taking the time to share your impression about our hotel. We are very glad to read that you enjoyed the location and our service. Our semi pedestrian street is usually very quiet with very few cars passing by. We are sorry that it was noisy during the time of your stay.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon.
Warmest regards
Grégoire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

when we arrived at the hotel the "reception area " was a table in a room. Its the first time I have never been asked for my passport, The floor looked very shabby the stairs was spiral and wooden so you heard everybody moving about up and down the stairs, and children loved to run up and down most of the time which was very loud and annoying. The room was a very big disappointment very old skirting boards where filthy there was a small built in cupboard for clothes which was not big enough so we kept ours in the suitcases. if we opened the window it opened into a roofed courtyard but other people could see right into your room also the bathroom didnt have nothing up at the frosted window so once you put the light on everyone would be able to see you. The room was very hot we turned the radiator off and had an oscillating fan on constantly which didnt help at all. You could hear other people talking in other rooms. The website for this hotel must have been done when it was new am afraid it doesnt look like that now....

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank mazzar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivegauchedirection, Directeur général at Eiffel Rive Gauche, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Dear mazzar_10,
Please accept our apologies for not providing the quality of service you were expecting. We thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. Your remarks are very important to us and they will help us improve the quality of service of the hotel.
Warmest regards
Grégoire

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews