We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture
Nearby Hotels
US$347
US$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$565
RelaisChateaux.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Eiffel Seine(Paris)
US$257
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$125
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$280
US$230
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Monceau Wagram Hotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Royal Saint Germain(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Berne Opera(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$123
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$371
US$356
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$267
US$235
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,040)
Filter reviews
1,040 results
Traveller rating
303
481
155
66
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
481
155
66
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrome metro stationtrain noisepremium roomcroissantsmoulin rougedvd playergare st lazareminute walkquiet streetcity breakshort breaklight sleeperparis attractionspleasant hoteltea and coffeemain attractionsfive nights
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 1,040 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2018

I stayed here for a weekend in August 2017 on a last minute cheap deal as I had Eurostar tickets and a ticket to see PSG. I've stayed in a number of hotels in the 8th as it's close to our office.
The Cervantes represents great value for money and is a worthy 3 star. I've stayed in worse 4 star. It's conveniently located for St Lazare, Europe, Rome and Place de Clichy metro stops and is well served by the bus. There are plenty of bars and restaurants and the area feels safe late at night considering it's proximity to the red light district.
It's sits on a quiet street and my inward facing room meant that the train noise from didn't bother me.
The room was clean and comfortable although the bathroom was tiny. Not that much of an issue. The aircon was good and quiet. Breakfast was fine and there was plenty of it. The Wifi was also good.
The free Nespresso machine in the lobby was welcome and the staff were friendly.
I'm actually booking a weekend in May here on the strength of my previous experience.

Room Tip: Inward facing, the higher up the better
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dec0hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadrien B, Directeur général at Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear dec0hen,

Thank you so much for your comment !
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and all the different services that we offer for our clients.
Knowing that you have been comfortable and also have appreciated facilities such as fast and free Wifi, buffet breakfast, free coffee etc, always encourages us to continue doing our utmost to make your stay most pleasant.
Our location indeed makes it very convenient to explore the city !

We look forward to welcoming you for your next stay in Paris !

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Hotel is located at the 8th arr. , with many restaurants and brasseries 5-10 min walk. good location if you don't want the crowded over toured neighbourhoods. access is also great with 2 nearby metro staations (Rome, Europe). i had a mixed experience with the hotel. to start, the room is quite small (solo), also the shower with almost no space to move. but taking into account that this is paris, let's say OK. also LCD TV is quite large (27") with good HD quality and wide selection (too bad on movies in english - why do europeans so obsessed with dubbing movies - that i'll never understand). who's interested in hearing someone in a studio overdubbing the real actor (!?) Ok, not hotel's fault -:) but let guests have some native english movies, it is, after all the most spoken language in the western world isn't it? regarding the room- could be much better. carpet seems stained and old. soap dispenser in bath was not replenished after request , which is NOT OK. which is a pity because the only time it had soap in it was wonderful using it! the bed is quite big and comfortable but the pillows - soft, with no firm option. i hate soft pillows...are there guests with no neck at all?...-:). the lobby area is really charming with free espresso and tea. real welcoming. i must indicate that having said that all the staff guys (and girls) i ran into were great -
helping, smiling and willing to help (minus the dispenser incident...)). for the price paid this place has great potential.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eitan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadrien B, Directeur général at Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear Eitan R,

Thank you for you comment. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed our great location in Paris. We have a lot of places to visit around the hotel and metro stations are under two minutes walking.

Regarding the room size do not hesitate to ask us for a room move during you stay.

We have different types of rooms and depending on the occupancy, we can easily provide you a larger room. On TV channels aspect we already provide more than 10 channels in English (CNN, BBC, Fox news…). This is our bigger offer for international channels.

Finally, I’m very sorry for the soap issue, I’m going to check with the housekeeping supervisor. Normally housekeepers should refill all the amenities on a daily basis.

I hope to see you again at Hotel Cervantes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 days and had a great time. Staff are very helpful and speak English. The WiFi is fast and the free coffee a real bonus. Good location for walking everywhere but also close to metro. My room was small but perfectly functional with its own little balcony. Some people have complained about train noise but so far up it wasn’t a problem. The room would not suit a tall person as I am 5 2 and kept hitting my head in the shower, but otherwise excellent! Definitely recommend. Also the Italian Restaurant next door is excellent value for money spvtry that too!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank cavanm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadrien B, Directeur général at Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Hi Cavanm2

Thank you for your nice review!
All the team and I are more than glad to read your feedback concerning your stay with us.
We hope to see you again at Hotel Cervantes!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Hotel is in a quiet back road. On arrival there was a pleasant, small reception area and the staff were very friendly and welcoming - but that, unfortunately, is where the good bits end.
We were given a room on 5th Floor and due to the main lift being out of action were offered use of a small service lift - barely large enough for two people. Corridors both on ground level and outside our room were cluttered with large bags of hotel linen and cleaning items - which remained in situ throughout our stay. Our room was extremely small and the bathroom even smaller!!! The bathroom offered minimal space and had cracked tiles and a broken shower.
Our room was at the back of the hotel and was above the railway line and so there was rail noise until late at night and restarting in the early morning.
There were coffee/tea making facilities in the room however the only cups for hot drinks were plastic and completely unsuitable.
We chose not to take the option of breakfast during our stay preferring to eat out so am unable to comment on this.
It was well placed for sight-seeing and plenty of places to eat within easy reach.
I will definitely return to Paris but I will not be staying here again and would not recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I would try and avoid rooms to the rear because of the railway noise
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadrien B, Directeur général at Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Julia M,

Thank you for your comment. I’m glad that you appreciated our great staff team. Unfortunately, regarding the elevators, it was totally out of service for ten days, but I can assure you the issue has been resolved. As you mentioned in your comment, we were lucky for having a second elevator, even if this second one was smaller

Regarding the size of the room, we have different types of rooms in the hotel. Next time do not hesitate to ask for a room move during your stay. We are working to make your stay a great stay and we will help you with pleasure.
I look forward to seeing you here again and proving you how hotel Cervantes is a nice hotel!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Visited 18-20feb. Double room. Very small aprox 8ft x 10ft. Very cramped. The real issue was the bathroom. At just under 3ft wide you could not sit on the loo normally. Only seated sideways as there was no leg room. Shower head broken. Excessive use of plastics. Plastic cups for tea and coffee. Plastic wraped soap.
On the upside the bed was comfortable. Nice reception area. Nice location near Clichy.
Rooms at rear of the hotel suffer from railway noise. Reasonable value for a coty centre hotel.

Room Tip: Front of hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadrien B, Directeur général at Hotel Cervantes by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Tim M,

First of all, thank you for your feedback, which is valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay.

We are sorry to hear that your room did not meet your expectations.We wish you would have addressed this with us directly as our reception team would do everything to find a room more suitable for you.
We are happy that you could take advantage on our hotel location, and that your stay in Paris was otherwise enjoyable !

We look forward to welcoming you during your next stay in Paris.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews