We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Libertel Montmartre Opera
Ranked #414 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2017

The hotel manager refused to accept the reservation and provide a room because "of the attitude." My elderly mother with a young child came into the hotel after a bad stay at another hotel (the other hotel had broken AC and it was 37 Celcius outside). Of course my mother was shaken and tired. The manager refused to give her a room because "of the attitude." My mother did not scream, she did not use any bad words, in fact she doesn't even speak the language. She was just extremely tired after a long travel and very unwelcoming city. The manager was extremely rude and continued screaming. His behavior is unacceptable. When a tired traveler comes in, this is not how he/she should be treated. The manager obviously had some personal issues that affected his work. My mom was just at the wrong place, at the wrong time; but that still doesn't excuse his unacceptable behavior and the fact that the booking was refused.

Room Tip: Wifi was not working well in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank katierose203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2017

My husband and I stayed for three nights in a “Superior Double Room” at the Libertel Montmartre Opéra in May 2017. The room was fairly simple and small, but we weren’t in Paris to hang out in a hotel room (and I’m hoping you aren’t either). It was clean and the bed was comfortable, which was what we cared most about. Our room on the sixth floor (which people from the United States would call the seventh) had a view with the Eiffel Tower, which was pretty cool. My sister-in-law was staying on a lower floor (I think the third or fourth) and had a bit of noise from the street below, but we did not have a problem on the sixth. The hotel is in a good location, less than two blocks from the Pigalle Metro Station (three quick stops from Gare du Nord, if you are coming in from CDG), right by the foot of Montmartre. Pigalle itself is a bit seedy, just a heads up if that kind of thing is an issue for you, though I’ve heard it used to be a lot raunchier. All in all though this was a good mid-range lodgings option for us.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christophe T, Adjoint de Direction at Libertel Montmartre Opera, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment we are happy to read that you appreciated our hotel however we regret that you not llike the area.
Best Regards,

Christophe THOMAS
Adjoint de direction
Libertel Montmartre Opéra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Pros: The property was located really conveniently for our purposes, including proximity to the Metro but also walkable to points of interest. I appreciated that there was very little street noise to disturb us. The staff were pleasant. They kindly upgraded our room, which was unexpected but appreciated. My relatives had a smaller room and you definitely notice it's less spacious (also, size of bathroom/ shower etc.). There is climate control/ air conditioning in the hallways and bedrooms. We were delighted that the temperature in the hotel was cool and comfortable, especially since it was so hot outside. The bed was also very comfortable, with a very good mattress and nice sheets, etc. We appreciated having free wifi. I also noticed that there appeared to be complimentary newspapers in the lobby - although I didn't take any, it's nice for these to be available for guests.

Cons: It might be helpful to have a bit more storage in the room for clothes - adding a cupboard/closet/shelves could also provide buffering if it was against a shared wall with another room. I mention this because the wall wasn't very soundproof - I was awoken early in the morning by people in the next room. I could hear them talking (they weren't shouting) and also when they turned on the coffee maker, opened and closed their door, etc. it was loud.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank redxdress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

The hotel was good for money. But the perception online was different as standard tariff was mentioned too high as per the hotel quality seen in reality and thus discount seemed veryigh even though the rate after discount was ok. Bathroom was too small and inconvenient.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rajveer Singh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

There was some initial confusion when we arrived as the room we were given was MUCH smaller than the picture associated with our booking. It turns out Expedia had the wrong pictures associated with the rooms, so we were upgraded to a Club room after some haggling. Our Club room was great: big, clean, 2 windows and a nice view. The location is great as well - 1 block from the Moulin Rouge, 3 minute walk from the subway (Pigalle), and lots of restaurants/bars around. Special mention goes out to Steing at the front desk who was super friendly and helpful. Good value for the price (although we got a deal through Expedia), aside from some initial rudeness from the woman at the front desk when we arrived, no complaints.

Room Tip: The room designations don't refer to size, so make sure you know what room you've booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melancolia1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France Albion
Hotel France Albion
#237 of 1,805 in Paris
1,081 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Opera Frochot
Hotel Opera Frochot
#655 of 1,805 in Paris
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#453 of 1,805 in Paris
937 reviews
Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
Timhotel Montmartre
#483 of 1,805 in Paris
1,099 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Royal Fromentin
Hotel Royal Fromentin
#1,086 of 1,805 in Paris
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Libertel Montmartre Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libertel Montmartre Opera

Address: 32 rue Duperre, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#77 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: €62 - €142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Libertel Montmartre Opera 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and refined, but also welcoming and comfortable, the Hotel Montmartre Opera is located between the Moulin Rouge and the "Nouvelle Athenes" neighbourhood, beside Montmartre and close to the Opera Garnier, only 1.5 km from the Gare Saint-Lazare and the Gare du Nord. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Libertel Montmartre Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Libertel Montmartre Duperre Paris
Libertel Montmartre Duperre Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing