We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Plaza Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Opera Hotel
Ranked #781 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 19 October 2012

This hotel is a bit old looking when you first walk in but what it lacks in modernity it makes up for in location. The lift is tiny, one person with bags is about all you'll fit in there, so it's a trek up the stairs to the 5th floor and rooms 53 and 54. 53 is tiny. The huge bed takes up most of the room and makes it difficult to walk around the room. The bed was very comfortable though. But the bathroom is really lovely and seems quite new. As well as that you have a balcony with a view over the Parisien rooftops. However, it's all about room 54. Relatively huge when compared to 53 and with the classic view of the Eiffel Tower peeping over the roof tops. The bathroom here is also quite new and you can have a bath looking at the tower if you like. This room also has a balcony with a small table and two chairs. Really lovely room and well worth the hike up the stairs. Room 53 was quite warm, even in October but it wasn't unbearable.

The rooms have free wifi.

Breakfast was fairly mediocre but there are plenty of cafes around about.

It's about 15-20mins walk from Gare Du Nord, likewise to Gallerie Lafayette but it is well serviced by buses, taxis and the metro. Mont Martre is just up the hill as well.

Biggest problem I had with it was that the left luggage area was really just a spot in the foyer behind some chairs. Not locked up and not really supervised. All of my stuff was fine, but still I was worried.

Room Tip: Ask for room 54! That's the one with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LotusFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 107 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Close to Gare du Nord station and Cadet tube station.
Breakfast is ordinary.
Very very small lift. Even three persons can't stand. One can't carry two luggages at a time in the lift.
Toilet was very good and spacious.
Hotel staffs are very nice and helpful.
Room was non A/C and was very hot. Not good in Summer

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debasis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Okay so the hotel is conveniently located . Bus stop across the road, close to the opera district and a nearby train station to get you into the city, hotel staff are very nice and helpful, wifi is available . I would not give this hotel 3 stars. It is so small and squashy, I stayed on the third level. Bed is tiny for me and my husband, you can barely walk around the room, toilet has a horrible smell. Breakfast is too basic ! It is in the basement, it is an extremely small room a completely unenjoyable experience for breaky. Lift fits only two people , three people squashed.no aircon, no minibar. This cannot be the Parisienne 3 star standard walk up the road there is a 3 star hotel that looks a hundred times better than this place. Next time I come to Paris I'll pay a little extra in accomodation to get a decent looking place ! afterall you get what you pay for .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LianaNasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Very central location, 10 min walk to Gare du nord, 2 minute to metro Notre Dame de Lorette, and to Cadet, also just a few stops from Opera, Galeries Layette. Nice 20 min walk up to Montmartre or 5 minutes down to Grand Boulevards and maybe half an hour to Rivoli at strolling pace.
I checked in to a room on first floor. It was really noisy, so after two tries, they transferred me to the 5th floor room 53 - much quieter and newly refurbished, and very nice... accepting that....
The rooms are typical tiny Paris size, you can only just walk around the bed - but a nice balcony with a view of Paris rooftops
Breakfast (continental) Correct.
I would stay again because it is as good as you can expect in Paris for this price level, very practical location, everything worked well in the room etc. and much better than many other hotels.
R

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and request for the quieter side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rollingstoneSydParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hotel was fine for the price, in a safe location close to the Metro. However ask for a room not on the street-side as it is very noisy. Also it does not have airconditioning which we were told on the booking but only a fan which made it very hot in July. The bathroom was a bit old and run-down in our room but I could see other rooms were renovated. For the price it was good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AwanaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,123 of 1,804 in Paris
338 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France Albion
Hotel France Albion
#250 of 1,804 in Paris
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette
Opera / Bourse
Eden Hotel Opera
Eden Hotel Opera
#451 of 1,804 in Paris
345 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Premier Opera Faubourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Opera Hotel

Address: 12 rue de Maubeuge, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #781 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: €80 - €156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Opera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel situated in the heart of the city near Opera, art galleries, fine restaurants, museums, Gare du Nord & Gare de l'Est. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Opera
Plaza Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing