We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very standard”
Review of Plaza Opera Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plaza Opera Hotel
Ranked #777 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Okay so the hotel is conveniently located . Bus stop across the road, close to the opera district and a nearby train station to get you into the city, hotel staff are very nice and helpful, wifi is available . I would not give this hotel 3 stars. It is so small and squashy, I stayed on the third level. Bed is tiny for me and my husband, you can barely walk around the room, toilet has a horrible smell. Breakfast is too basic ! It is in the basement, it is an extremely small room a completely unenjoyable experience for breaky. Lift fits only two people , three people squashed.no aircon, no minibar. This cannot be the Parisienne 3 star standard walk up the road there is a 3 star hotel that looks a hundred times better than this place. Next time I come to Paris I'll pay a little extra in accomodation to get a decent looking place ! afterall you get what you pay for .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LianaNasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 109 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2012

Very central location, 10 min walk to Gare du nord, 2 minute to metro Notre Dame de Lorette, and to Cadet, also just a few stops from Opera, Galeries Layette. Nice 20 min walk up to Montmartre or 5 minutes down to Grand Boulevards and maybe half an hour to Rivoli at strolling pace.
I checked in to a room on first floor. It was really noisy, so after two tries, they transferred me to the 5th floor room 53 - much quieter and newly refurbished, and very nice... accepting that....
The rooms are typical tiny Paris size, you can only just walk around the bed - but a nice balcony with a view of Paris rooftops
Breakfast (continental) Correct.
I would stay again because it is as good as you can expect in Paris for this price level, very practical location, everything worked well in the room etc. and much better than many other hotels.
R

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and request for the quieter side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rollingstoneSydParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hotel was fine for the price, in a safe location close to the Metro. However ask for a room not on the street-side as it is very noisy. Also it does not have airconditioning which we were told on the booking but only a fan which made it very hot in July. The bathroom was a bit old and run-down in our room but I could see other rooms were renovated. For the price it was good.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AwanaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We booked this hotel after checking out the details on TripAdvisor. The location was the main factor as it is close to the Gare du Nord, less than fifteen minutes' walk, and we used the Eurostar.

The reception area is small and traditional. There is usually one person behind the desk. We had a friendly welcome and efficient check in. We had three rooms which were on the second and fourth floors. Our rooms had balconies which were big enough for four people to sit out on.

We didn't have any trouble with street noise even though this is a fairly busy road leading from the station. Travel connections are excellent with two metro stations within a few minutes walk. Line 7 will get you into the centre of the city within five minutes.

There is no air conditioning but it was cool in the rooms as the weather was comfortable,not too warm.

Rooms are large and nicely decorated. The bathrooms were large and had free shower gel, shampoo and body lotion.

All in all, this is a great not too expensive hotel in a good neighbourhood with excellent transport links.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have great balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directriceplazaopera, Responsable commercial at Plaza Opera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Thank you for this review. We generally give room on same floor for familly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Great position to visit easily the city. Bus stop in front of the hotel and 24h market next to. The staff was very friendly and the hotel got all the comfort I need.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Directriceplazaopera, Responsable commercial at Plaza Opera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

The team of reception is always at disposal, it is our pleasure to speak with visitors and help them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Paris Marriott Opera Ambassador Hotel
Opera / Bourse
New Hotel Lafayette
New Hotel Lafayette
#1,117 of 1,804 in Paris
338 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel France Albion
Hotel France Albion
#254 of 1,804 in Paris
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Ibis Paris Opera la Fayette
Opera / Bourse
Eden Hotel Opera
Eden Hotel Opera
#442 of 1,804 in Paris
345 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Best Western Premier Opera Faubourg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Opera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Opera Hotel

Address: 12 rue de Maubeuge, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #777 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: €80 - €157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Opera Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel situated in the heart of the city near Opera, art galleries, fine restaurants, museums, Gare du Nord & Gare de l'Est. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza Opera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Plaza Opera
Plaza Opera Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing