We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
40
93
72
63
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
93
72
63
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hotel de ville marais district great location air conditioning and hot water mona lisa basic things electrical outlets smallest room room was small but clean french hotel within walking distance bars and restaurants major attractions stayed here for nights min walk eiffel tower metro
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 331 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018

Before you stay in a French hotel you should know that their star rating system may not be what you're accustomed to. I suggest reading up on this on the myriad of articles out there

This hotel is rated 3 stars under the French system but I think maybe there was a bit of cheating involved. The "lobby," for example, is really a narrow hallway when you first enter the building. Including the steps, there is barely enough room for more than 2-3 people without blocking foot traffic entering and exiting the building. Yes, there is a lounge of sorts, a sparsely furnished room on another floor, but it's not near the reception desk and therefore of little use while checking in or out.

The building's one guest elevator is tiny, and can accommodate 2 thin people, or one obese person, and perhaps a bag or two if you stack them on top of each other. They serve breakfast in the sub-basement at an extra charge, but with plenty of other options in the neighborhood, there's really no need. The staff is friendly, can speak English (for you English speakers), and can help you arrange transport to the airport when you depart. There were no other amenities to speak of so don't expect room service, a gym, business center, or any other bells and whistles.

As for our room, we had the smallest on the floor (judging by the floorplan on the door) and if it met the minimum size requirements, it was only by including the space in the tiny bathroom (standing shower only, no tub, a slow draining sink, and a poorly functioning toilet). The room was clean, but with an aging interior, and overlooked a small air shaft with dead plants and pigeon nests. A full-sized bed, but definitely not queen-sized. There was a hot pot in the room with a selection of teas/coffees, a refrigerator, and a small safe with a key lock (but we couldn't find the key - maybe you need to ask the front desk for this?). Three electrical outlets, or 4 if you unplug the TV, which played a variety of French channels but nothing for non-French speakers. There was no telephone in the room, so no way of calling the front desk except to go downstairs. The internet was free and ranged in speed from slow to non-existent. Air conditioner was working fine.

Really what you are paying for in this hotel is the location, and in that respect it is very good, with many popular tourist attractions

Room tip: ask for the rooms with air-conditioners in summer.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FrankieTrinity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We have been staying at this hotel for twenty years. It is excellently located and good value. So long as you are content with a three star, this is an excellent choice. They also now have air con which was a big bonus this summer as so hot.

Room tip: A room with an inner courtyard view is less noisy. Rooms overlooking Rue de Rivoli are fine also and have a nice view - but a bit noisy.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCE LOUVRE H, Responsable réception at France Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to leave your review on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate all feedback and we are glad to read that you love to stay in our establishment.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you for years and years again!
See you next time! :)
Warm regards,
Marine, Room division manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

The louvre museum in Paris is definitely a must see not only because it houses the Mona Lisa but it has such a wonderful feel as you stroll through the different hallways a wide variety of beauty and something for everyone

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Vilka m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018

The location of this hotel is great; near all of the cool things and nice eateries in Le Marais, within easy walk/Metro of the sights, the river etc.

The room was pretty much exactly as per the photo and it was clean and comfortable. There was a small balcony with a good view along rue de Rivoli and once you closed the glass doors, the street noise was really shut out. The bathroom had been recently refurbished.

On the downside, there was some dark mould spots in the corner of the ceiling and, for the life of me, i could not find the sign for the name of the hotel from the street! It needs to be more clearly signposted from outside. Also, I would skip the in-house breakfast - it's 2 floors down from the small lobby, in the basement, so you feel utterly disconnected from the loveliness of outdoors, and it's only 'OK', food wise. You can easily walk 5mins to a great street cafe.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Netski66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCE LOUVRE H, Responsable réception at France Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Guest,
I thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on TripAdvisor.
Sharing your feelings about our hotel is very important to help us to improve our services and amenities.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our very central location, near by most of sighseeings.
I take a good note of your notes, regarding the mould on the top of the left side of your room, we know it and we apology for the inconvenient. Please to be sure that we are planning to renovate it in the best time. I took good note also regarding the hotel name sign and I will discuss this point with the general hotel manager with pleasure.
Our breakfast is in the secnd basement, I understand that you could prefer a breakfast in the street but keep in mind that this is typical from Paris! ;)
I really hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back for your next time in Paris.
Warm regards,
Marine, Room division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Great location, friendly reception staff, small and friendly hotel, no frills but rooms clean. bathroom a bit dated but functional comfortable beds. No need to book breakfast as next to some lovley cafes that offer continental breakfasts,narrow staircase to rooms air con in bedrooms

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FRANCE LOUVRE H, Responsable réception at France Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Judith,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking some of your time at your return to leave this nice review.
We are very glad to read that our hotel met your expectations and that our staff seemed nice and helpful to you.
We try to help our guest having a wonderful time in Paris and we appreciate to read that we win our challenge with you.
We hope you well get back home and that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back.
Warm regards,
Marine, Room division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews