We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not get what I paid for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres
Ranked #711 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2017

I looked for a room with 2 different sleeping areas (couch separate from the bed). I paid in advance and pictures indicated a separate room. No couch just a fold out bed. Very cramped space. Excellent location. Also air condition offered but not turned on right now. You could open windows but NO screen. Mosquitos in the room so we closed the windows and it was quite stuffy.

Room Tip: Not the best hotels for kids. I understand the rooms are small in Paris but I expect to pay for wha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gldmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaneteil, Propriétaire at Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2017

Dear Ms. Davis,

We regret to receive your complain about your recent stay at the hotel Au Manoir Saint-Germain from April 8 to April 14th and hear that your stay was not up to your expectations.

First of all, let me inform you that you did get what you paid for, a triple room. As you mentioned, the website on which you made your reservation is showing some pictures of triple rooms having a separate area but some pictures of triple rooms not having any separate area (One of the picture is showing the room that you had, #202)

At no time we could have confirmed to you that your room will have 2 separate sleeping areas as we did not receive any request from you once you made your reservation.

We are surprised with your complain as after discussing with our receptionist Wilfrid who proceed with your arrival at the hotel, he told us that you did not inform him that your room was not up to your satisfaction.

Regarding the air-conditioning, the system was not on yet during your stay due to the low temperature during the nights.

I am pleased to propose you to contact me directly for a future stay in Paris and hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the hotel Au Manoir Saint-Germain in the future.

Best regards,



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2017

Lovely little typical Paris hotel in an excellent location near Brasserie Lipp, Cafe Flore and Deux Magots and plenty of specialist bookshops. Right by metro and taxi rank. Nice young woman served a good breakfast and M Aziz had wonderful dinner suggestions, plus bagged us a free couple of glasses of champagne at Le Train Bleu. A very petite room but had everything ncluding a nice big window and a view over the various cafes. Only criticism is the bizarre plastic face cloths.

Room Tip: Higher up is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannybHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017

After a 14 hour flight we arrived at hotel early around 8.30am, we were warmly greeted by reception staff. We had made no arrangements for early arrival but we were checked in early for a small 20€ charge.
Our room 402 was beautiful decorated, immaculately clean and very spacious with a huge comfortable bed our bathroom had a modern bathtub and rain shower.
The view from room looked over St Germain boulevard of the infamous cafes Cafe de Flore, Les Deux Magots and as well as the Church of St. Germain.

Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres is located in the Beautiful St. Germain district which is only a short walk to Notre Dame, Elle tower and a short Metro ride from all the other attractions of Paris.

Nothing to dislike about this hotel, tics all the boxes

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank starscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. A warm welcome to start by the lovely gentleman at reception. They give you a handy guide of good places to eat in the area and how to get to the main attractions. This was very useful to us. Our room was lovely and clean, comfy bed. Room was cleaned and made up every day. Great amenities including a dressing gown and slippers. A newly renovated bathroom I believe, lovely bath and rainfall shower. We decided to treat ourselves one day and had breakfast in bed, very good also and arrived on the time we choose. One of the best hotels I've stayed in for hospitality and cleanliness. Also, very soundproof it appears, I slept well. I would stay here again on another visit to Paris. A quirky boutique hotel.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

We booked a superior room and were put in a deluxe room - the front desk said we were upgraded. After along night of flying we just did not want to argue. I did not look at the booking until we got home to confirm that it was a superior room we booked - but be it as it may just note the deluxe rooms don't give you much of view unless you like looking into a wall. The hotel is nice though - Parisian and close to many of the attractions that you would want.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whataboutthecustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephaneteil, Directeur général at Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

I have read your comment and I can guarrantee you that I feel very sad.
All the staff of the hotel is doing his best to please every of our guests and when we are able to upgrade them we do it with lot of pleasure.
The worst that can happen is when we do it to someone who feels that he has been betrayed.
We have indeed upgraded you as you booked a superior room and as the Deluxe room are our biggest rooms. If you are not trusting us, you can have a look on our website www.hotelaumanoir.com
The executive room is 25 meters square when a superior room is 17.
Perhaps it is our fault to think that the Deluxe rooms are supposed to be better than the superior. I am sorry to be a little rude but it is difficult for me to read your comment while we offer you an upgrade. For information we have 20 Dexure rooms in total and they are all different and some of them have a view on the courtyard and some on the street.
At least, I am glad to read that you think that the hotel is nice. We hope to welcome you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel La Perle
Hotel La Perle
#278 of 1,805 in Paris
793 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Madison Hotel by MH
Madison Hotel by MH
#138 of 1,805 in Paris
797 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Academie Hotel Saint Germain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Artus Hotel by MH
Artus Hotel by MH
#101 of 1,805 in Paris
992 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Seine
Hotel de Seine
#125 of 1,805 in Paris
576 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel des Saints-Peres - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres

Address: 153 boulevard Saint Germain | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#129 Family Hotel in Paris
#309 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#380 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#474 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: €151 - €300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the early 19th century, the Au Manoir Saint Germain des Prés Hotel has an elegant facade on the Boulevard Saint Germain and a history that is tied up with that of this literary quarter. The area has been the haunt of countless famous people – just cross the boulevard and you’ll come to the Café de Flore and the Deux Magots. The hotel last underwent major work in 2008, when the entire hotel was renovated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Au Manoir Saint Germain De Pres Hotel Paris
Best Western Hotel Paris
Best Western Paris
Paris Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing