We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central location right next to Saint Lazare station”
Review of Hotel de Geneve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Geneve
Ranked #1,144 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 26 February 2012

A good base for a solo traveller using hotel as a base for travel by train to Normandy from Saint Lazare station. Stayed for two nights, a Monday and a Thursday. The first room was not that great (the website does not depict the reality) but the second was better. Great power shower and clean. Trouble getting to sleep both nights as it was so hot despite turning the radiator off. It was also quite noisy, you could hear flushes and people talking on reception well into the night. Apart from that, reception was handy and it was only a place to sleep so all in all an OK stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 83 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

Unfortunately, we took a room here on the last day of a 3 day trip in desperation, due to a bad experience in another hotel which we had to leave if we wanted a refund.

This hotel turned out to be even worse than the previous one as on the surface it was ok for a budget, very no frills hotel, but the carpet in the room had food stains on, as I said we were desperate and only had a few hours left to visit the rest of Paris, and when we returned from the Tour Eiffel late at night the room was very humid and there were disgusting quite large silverfish insects crawling on the carpet!

I hate insects, particularly these ones, and slept extremely badly and found another silverfish the next day in the bathroom, and was scared to even walk on the carpet, it's the worst holiday I've ever had and I felt really compelled to write reviews on here for both hotels, to try and prevent anyone having the same experience.

I have visited Paris several times as most of my family are from one of the suburbs there so I've never stayed in a hotel there before and this hotel, along with the previous one ruined what was supposed to be a romantic trip :-( Please don't bother with this hotel!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Anonymousadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Visited Paris to see last stage of Tour de France. Hotel was good value for the money we payed. Rooms small but adequate, very clean and made up daily. The staff were attentive and helpful. The hotel is in a good position for visiting the sights.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roytonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I Stayed at Hotel de Geneve for 2 nights and I was pleasantly surprised at how close it was to everything. We could go out all day sight seeing and not have to bother with the metro unless we were really tired.

The rooms were ok, very clean and met my expectations of a hotel room in Paris. The guy at the front door was really helpful even if I didn't speak much french he still tried his best to explain the buses to take etc.

Saint Lazare and the surrounding areas can be a bit scary if you aren't used to it but nothing out of the ordinary. I'd recommend younger, less experienced travelers to walk around late at night only if you are with someone you know and trust ...the usual.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dwaynebrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This Hotel is located close to the Saint Lazare Train Station in Paris. For Paris, it is a very good value. The only "glitch" is that the shower is tiny. (not that you should expect over-sized anything in Paris).
Staff is very Helpful, the location is good, The rooms are clean, surprising quite (you can ask for a quite room),the prices are very good.
The top floor (6th) is the quitest, although dealing with lots of baggage in the typical small elevator can be taughting after a busy day. The lower floors are easier to access, however sometimes other guests can be rather loud when going through.
The TVs only get French TV, but then again, we didnt go there to watch TV (although catching the news while getting ready to go in the morning could have been a "nice to have"..
I wouldnt recommend the hotel breakfast, but with so many options nearby it is not a problem.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
ATN
#712 of 1,804 in Paris
346 reviews
Opera Deauville Hotel
#1,246 of 1,804 in Paris
353 reviews
Villathena
#431 of 1,804 in Paris
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atlantic Hotel
#240 of 1,804 in Paris
611 reviews
Hotel Elysees Opera
#1,127 of 1,804 in Paris
310 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Prince Albert Opera
Prince Albert Opera
#1,379 of 1,804 in Paris
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Geneve

Address: 36 rue de Londres | 36 Rue de Londres, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,144 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: €68 - €195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Saint Lazare train station area, nearby Opera Garnier, great department stores, Madeleine church and Montmartre district, the 3 star hotel de Geneve welcomes you in an agreeable setting and places you right in the heart of the tourist and business Paris.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paris Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing