We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central location right next to Saint Lazare station” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Geneve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de Geneve
Ranked #1,125 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good central location right next to Saint Lazare station”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

A good base for a solo traveller using hotel as a base for travel by train to Normandy from Saint Lazare station. Stayed for two nights, a Monday and a Thursday. The first room was not that great (the website does not depict the reality) but the second was better. Great power shower and clean. Trouble getting to sleep both nights as it was so hot despite turning the radiator off. It was also quite noisy, you could hear flushes and people talking on reception well into the night. Apart from that, reception was handy and it was only a place to sleep so all in all an OK stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    102
    81
    21
    6
See reviews for
30
91
26
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Unfortunately, we took a room here on the last day of a 3 day trip in desperation, due to a bad experience in another hotel which we had to leave if we wanted a refund.

This hotel turned out to be even worse than the previous one as on the surface it was ok for a budget, very no frills hotel, but the carpet in the room had food stains on, as I said we were desperate and only had a few hours left to visit the rest of Paris, and when we returned from the Tour Eiffel late at night the room was very humid and there were disgusting quite large silverfish insects crawling on the carpet!

I hate insects, particularly these ones, and slept extremely badly and found another silverfish the next day in the bathroom, and was scared to even walk on the carpet, it's the worst holiday I've ever had and I felt really compelled to write reviews on here for both hotels, to try and prevent anyone having the same experience.

I have visited Paris several times as most of my family are from one of the suburbs there so I've never stayed in a hotel there before and this hotel, along with the previous one ruined what was supposed to be a romantic trip :-( Please don't bother with this hotel!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anonymousadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Manchester, England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Visited Paris to see last stage of Tour de France. Hotel was good value for the money we payed. Rooms small but adequate, very clean and made up daily. The staff were attentive and helpful. The hotel is in a good position for visiting the sights.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roytonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

I Stayed at Hotel de Geneve for 2 nights and I was pleasantly surprised at how close it was to everything. We could go out all day sight seeing and not have to bother with the metro unless we were really tired.

The rooms were ok, very clean and met my expectations of a hotel room in Paris. The guy at the front door was really helpful even if I didn't speak much french he still tried his best to explain the buses to take etc.

Saint Lazare and the surrounding areas can be a bit scary if you aren't used to it but nothing out of the ordinary. I'd recommend younger, less experienced travelers to walk around late at night only if you are with someone you know and trust ...the usual.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwaynebrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langen
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

This Hotel is located close to the Saint Lazare Train Station in Paris. For Paris, it is a very good value. The only "glitch" is that the shower is tiny. (not that you should expect over-sized anything in Paris).
Staff is very Helpful, the location is good, The rooms are clean, surprising quite (you can ask for a quite room),the prices are very good.
The top floor (6th) is the quitest, although dealing with lots of baggage in the typical small elevator can be taughting after a busy day. The lower floors are easier to access, however sometimes other guests can be rather loud when going through.
The TVs only get French TV, but then again, we didnt go there to watch TV (although catching the news while getting ready to go in the morning could have been a "nice to have"..
I wouldnt recommend the hotel breakfast, but with so many options nearby it is not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 km away
Opera Deauville Hotel
Opera Deauville Hotel
#1,131 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.0 km away
ATN
ATN
#742 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.0 km away
Villathena
Villathena
#442 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
#936 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Exe Paris Centre
Hotel Exe Paris Centre
#982 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel de Dieppe
Hotel de Dieppe
#1,596 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Geneve

Property: Hotel de Geneve
Address: 36 rue de Londres | 36 Rue de Londres, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,125 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Saint Lazare train station area, nearby Opera Garnier, great department stores, Madeleine church and Montmartre district, the 3 star hotel de Geneve welcomes you in an agreeable setting and places you right in the heart of the tourist and business Paris.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paris Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing