We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff.”
Review of Hotel de Geneve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Geneve
Ranked #1,144 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Aussie traveller
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Helpful staff.”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

Hotel de Geneve provided a great welcome to Paris. After a very early arrival in the city I was able to get into my room in the early morning, as I'd requested by email. Room was very comfortable with a nice outlook. The girl on reception was lovely - extremely helpful and very friendly. Breakfast was extra and certainly wasn't worth the cost. Would stay there again and highly recimmend it.

Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank mcgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    108
    84
    22
    7
See reviews for
30
95
28
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2011

Never again!!
It was the worst hotel I have ever visited, there was black mold in the shower, the pillow was stained with who knows what, the toilette paper was no better than news paper, you can hear EVERYTHING that's going on in the other room, the carpet had hairs on it, but you can say that you can forgive all of that if you are just going to visit the city and the staff is nice, but they ware NOT nice, at check in the girl that was there in the morning her name was something like Latisia could not even be bother to tell us how to get to the Eiffel Tower or to the Louvre museum, she just gave us a map and very rudely said 'you'll find it in there' and she could not even recommend a restaurant!!! The only nice person was the night receptionnist.
The owner should think about puting somme of the money the guest paid in to the upkeep of the hotel!!
I should have paid more attention to the commentaries that other travelers have written....

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille-tilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2010

After reading all the reviews we decided to stay in Hotel de Geneve. This hotel is very convenient for many different reasons. First of all its located in the OPera region with the Opera de Garnier being a few blocks away. Also the train station St.Lazare is only a few minutes away where you can take trains or metro to anywhere you want. Overall we loved the metro system in Paris, its very easy. All you need is a map.
The hotel staff was very friendly, especially the young lady there who is originally from some Latin country. Everything you need including restaurants, etc is nearby. The neighbourhood is pretty safe. While you are in Paris I would definitely recommend seeing Vaux le Viconte and FOuntainbleu.( amazing palaces where many movies were filmed). We took a private one day tour to these two palaces from the parisvision.com Also visit Monet's house and gardens. We did this on our own. You have to go to St.Lazare station and take a train to Giverny.
Overall stay in this hotel, its pretty convenient although the rooms are a bit small. But I guess thats a common thing in Europe.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank exotic_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel was very hit and miss. There are 2 types of hotel staff, those who were helpful, and those who saw you as a constant bother. Several on staff were quick to help, solve problems, greet you with a smile and pleasant "Bonjour!," and answer any questions you might have. Then there were the others, predominately the men, who always seemed annoyed to have to get your room key, or take it from you, when they were on their mobiles or watching TV.

The breakfast was typical continental, nothing exciting. Served from 7:00 to 10:00am. If you come down at 9:45, expect to find most of it put away, and no dishes left to eat it on.

The lift is impossibly small. 2 Adults do not fit. 1 Adult and 1 suitcase is very tight.

The rooms on the back side of the hotel face another hotel's hallways. As it was July and over 90 degrees Farenheit, expect to be observed by the passers-by in the hotel across the way, as you will have to have your windows open, in hopes of some breeze.

For the price, and convenience to Saint-Lazare, you cannot beat it. Had I not pre-paid and gotten a fantastic rate, I would have left early.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DisneyGuy20110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.0 km away
ATN
ATN
#733 of 1,800 in Paris
326 reviews
0.0 km away
Opera Deauville Hotel
Opera Deauville Hotel
#1,154 of 1,800 in Paris
340 reviews
0.0 km away
Villathena
Villathena
#399 of 1,800 in Paris
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Exe Paris Centre
Hotel Exe Paris Centre
#1,042 of 1,800 in Paris
420 reviews
0.1 km away
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
Austin's Saint Lazare Hotel
#942 of 1,800 in Paris
236 reviews
0.2 km away
Le Grand Hotel de Normandie
Le Grand Hotel de Normandie
#830 of 1,800 in Paris
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Geneve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Geneve

Property: Hotel de Geneve
Address: 36 rue de Londres | 36 Rue de Londres, 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,144 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Geneve 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Saint Lazare train station area, nearby Opera Garnier, great department stores, Madeleine church and Montmartre district, the 3 star hotel de Geneve welcomes you in an agreeable setting and places you right in the heart of the tourist and business Paris.* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel de Geneve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paris Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing