We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“3 and a half stars” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Les Jardins du Marais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
Ranked #618 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 and a half stars”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Best thing was it was quiet at night - unusual in Paris, although this was February so no-one using courtyard tables. Pleasant reception - amused to be greeted as "welcome, Unknown (my name)" on the TV in the room. Bathroom v small, but had a bath (!); shower v high up. Mattress had that softness of one that needs replacing, and there was an unexpected electric hotplate and sink which was pointless without crockery, cutlery or pans. No full length mirror,and no mirror at all in the bedroom, which was inconvenient. Sixth floor, sharing lift with chambermaids, so it could take a while to get in and out, and it would be nice for guests if the toilets in the foyer were signposted!But it was convenient, quiet, clean, and easy to book in a package with Eurostar from London. I would stay there again, but I'm not sure it merits its 4 stars rating. NB: Breakfast in the cafe diagonally opposite was much cheaper!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a mirror! Courtyard side probably quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma094London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    583
    261
    144
    84
See reviews for
241
602
56
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

advantages to hotel are its situation

it is a little annonymous due to layout of reception and perhaps lacks warmth but you cant have everything;baets staying further out ;very convenient for attractions of paris and interesting walking thro marais
ideally situated between bastille and republique;a stones throw from metro
good restaurants nearby

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank therealdeadbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed 4 nights over a weekend. It was by far one of the best hotel rooms we have stayed in at this price point in Europe. However, something to note- the hotel is about 5-6 buildings surrounding the square in the picture. I don't know what the rooms look like in the other buildings or what they have in the way of sound protection but we were in the back and it was very quiet. We upgraded to a superior room which was spacious and clean and included a mini fridge, burner, and sink (never seen that in a European room before). The bedding was good but I could feel the springs in the bed a bit. The breakfast was terrible though -- seriously terrible -- so don't bother unless it's included in the cost of your room (it wasn't for us). I don't know about the restuarant. The area is very friendly and we highly recommend the little cafe on the corner called Les Petites Canailles for breakfast--plenty of great 'local' restaurants within a 20 min walk for dinner. The hotel is about 5 mins from the metro. All and all, I highly recommend this hotel and I will stay here if I make it to Paris again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel is well placed to explore the Marais, if slightly on the edge. It is spacious and anonymous, with rooms in different buildings round a courtyard that must be nice for a bit of air and an aperitif on a balmy evening. Reception were helpful and friendly, booking restaurants for us, when we (English family of 4!!) had been refused! We had a family room which could have been bigger but for the price was fine, with a decent bathroom, tiny kitchen area with fridge and microwave plus a tiny balcony. I fear the walls may be a little thin as unfortunately we were disturbed throughout our three night stay by two loud guys in the next room, keeping very strange hours. This is a clubbing district. Maybe that's why folks are coming in at five in the morning and chatting, laughing and generally carrying on as though it were 10am??! But had they kept regular hours it probably wouldn't have been a problem.
There is a restaurant that we didn't try, nor did we have breakfast as we wanted to head off into the cafes in the area for more atmosphere. Of course do not forget that the bakers in Paris are full of baked goods to die for but you can't sit down and enjoy them with a coffee unless you take them home? So breakfast at the hotel might be a better idea, if a bit pricey.
From here you can easily walk to all major marais attractions, Place de Vosges etc, but it is a bit of a sclepp or € 16/17 to the Louvre, St.Germain, or Boulevard Hausmann etc. it is well served by public transport though if you are up for it. There are loads of local restaurants within a 5/10 or 15 minute walk. Lots of choice, but we found them all quite pricey. Paris is not cheap!
Interesting local shopping. Small independant shops.
About 15 minutes (€20) in a cab from Gard du Nord.

Room Tip: I'm guessing the higher up you go, the quieter? But not sure. We were on the third floor of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel, which is situated on the edge of the Marais, benefits from having larger than usual amount of space in the rooms and in the common areas, than most tourist hotels in the area. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and updated, with full services included, such as kettle, tea coffee, a hot place , fridge and a dishwasher were also in the room. There is also a pleasant enclosed courtyard which has tables and chairs and plantings, which would be lovely in the summer. The decor of the hotel is very 90s "bling", plastic chairs in the common areas, white and quite stark. The corridors between the rooms feel very much like being in a night club. The bar area which is accessed through the reception, isn't that pleasant. It could do with being updated with more comfortable furniture and being separated from the reception. Drinks at the bar are also quite expensive. The hotel sells a package which includes breakfast. This is served in a spacious dining room at the back of the hotel and is very good. The staff are friendly and efficient, and there is a wide selection of hot and cold buffet items and fresh fruits and juices, which would suit any taste. The hotel clients were international, mostly tourists when we were there at the weekend. There is no room service. Overall, conveniently located and a good choice for an event like a wedding or conference, for weekend or short stay in Paris.

Room Tip: There are a number of different buildings round a courtyard named like Ravel and Eiffel, we went int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Villa Beaumarchais
Villa Beaumarchais
#489 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Bastille de Launay Hotel
Bastille de Launay Hotel
#448 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Le Marais
1K Paris
1K Paris
#521 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Original Paris
Hotel Original Paris
#115 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Citadines Bastille Marais Paris
Bercy / Nation
BEST WESTERN  Le Patio Saint Antoine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Jardins du Marais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Jardins du Marais

Property: Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
Address: 74 rue Amelot, 75011 Paris, France (Formerly Home Plazza Bastille)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#336 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#471 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Les Jardins du Marais 4*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Le Marais, historical and trendy district, near Place des Vosges and Bastille Opera, Les Jardins du Marais present 263 elegant rooms and suites and a beautiful private garden terrace. A real oasis of charm and tranquility in the heart of Paris. A free dedicated smartphone is available in each room, allowing to enjoy unlimited local and international calls, mobile internet, and an indispensable city guide of Paris. The restaurant and its beautiful terrace offer a French inspired contemporary cuisine. With its 10800 sqft of conference facilities, the hotel, with its five modular room located around the private gardens and a glass canopy, can accomodate up to 450 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Les Jardins du Marais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins Du Marais Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing