We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging Art Deco hotel near St Germain”
Review of Hotel Lutetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lutetia
Ranked #1,152 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Location: perfect if you want to linger in St Germain, the heart of intellectual and literary Paris, bourgeois and preppy, many shops, le Bon Marhé shopping mall is just acrros and the new Hermes is just around the corner, ...

Rooms: charming but old, very old, happily bedding is good, one seems to sleep in our old Lucy aunt bedroom where the furniture is older than herself ...

Bar and brasserie : nice art deco furniture in much better condition than in the rooms, comfortable, cozy atmosphere, good service
We had dinner at the brasserie on New YEAR eve, relatively high prices but it was really delicious and hearty.

Staff: friendly and welcoming

Good news: the hotel will finally undertake renovations end of 2013!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skyagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear skyagent,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us. We are delighted to learn that the location was at your convenience.
We look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Lutetia.

Best regards,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 187 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

Amazing staff, great location across from the Bon Marché, historical building, excellent sea food brasserie, the charm of imperfection, nice rooms, tasty breakfast, free wifi,valet parking, live music bar and salons. I have not found a better place when we are in Paris.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Gilles L,

Thank you for this nice comment about your recent experience at the Hotel Lutetia. We hope to welcome you again soon for your next parisian stay.

We wish you all the best for this coming year!

Kind regards,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We worked with a travel agent to select this property. We loved its location in the St. Germain section of Paris. It was located right by Metro and bike rental stations and in the heart of wonderful shopping and dining. It was an easy walk to Notre Dame, the Latin Quarter and the Bon Marche. We booked a deluxe room, which is 270 square feet. I think we may have gotten upgraded at check-in because even though it was a deluxe room, it was incredibly spacious with French doors overlooking the main boulevard. Charming! The bathroom was huge for any hotel - European or American - with a towel warmer, double sinks, bathtub, glass-enclosed shower and a bidet. The bed was hard and the king is two twins pushed together, but that was my experience throughout Europe and this was no different. The room was what I'd call "shabby chic" in that it had reaky floors, wall-to-wall carpeting that probably was due to be replaced and that smell like your grandmother's house. The walls were paper-thin and we could hear everything in the room next door. It was also constantly hot, even when we turned the heat off. So we just opened the French doors and enjoyed the crisp air and view. Having said all of that, I don't think anything less of the hotel. It's a grand dame of a property and all of this makes the hotel what it is. The staff was very professional and service-oriented, although if you're looking for friendly, American-like staff, you're not going to get it here. We loved the breakfast buffet, which was included in our room package, and I'd recommend trying it at least once (and then you can skip lunch until the afternoon or just have an early dinner). It's not the Ritz-Carlton, but it's a very good hotel with a can't-beat-it location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YazBeanSaysMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Lutetia is very well located. It is a nice hotel, but it could use some refurbishment. Rooms are small (but that is average Paris). The brasserie could be much better. Price is reasonable for Paris standards. Itmis good, but could be better.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomaz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMKouyoumji, Front of House and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Tomaz L,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon at the Hotel Lutetia.

We wish you all the best for the coming year.

Best regards,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

I love this hotel. The location is superb, if you're a "Left Bank" person like me. You step out of your hotel and go any direction to the best small shops, pastry and chocolate shops, boutique clothing and galleries in all of Paris. The lobby here is always wonderful - filled with lots of local people so fun atmospher. The breakfast room is excellent. Although the rooms themselves aren't spiffy, it seems that the hotel may be closing in a year or so for renovations.... The staff was excellent in every respect. You really feel like you're in Paris and not in a chain hotel. Oh, their Brasserie serves excellent seafood. And I had a partial view of the Eiffel Tower from my room - I hopped over to the window every night on the hour, when the Tower sparkles for 5 minutes. Ah, Paris!

Room Tip: Higher floors may have a view of Eiffel Tower. Ask at checkin if there is a supplement. Sometimes th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cincytravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMKouyoumji, Front of house and Quality Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Cincytravelqueen,

Thank you for your kind posting on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the Hotel Lutetia and hope to welcome you once again in a near future.

We wish you all the best for the coming year,

Yours sincerely,

Jean-Marie Kouyoumji

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Le Placide
Le Placide
#565 of 1,804 in Paris
294 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#140 of 1,804 in Paris
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Sevres
Hotel de Sevres
#515 of 1,804 in Paris
387 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Petit Chomel
Le Petit Chomel
#129 of 1,804 in Paris
357 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#204 of 1,804 in Paris
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lutetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lutetia

Address: 45 Boulevard Raspail | Hotel Closed for 3 year renovation that started April 2014, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Spa Hotel in Paris
#477 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#599 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: €563 - €565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lutetia 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lutetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lutecia Paris
Lutetia Hotel
Paris Lutetia
Paris Hotel Lutetia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing