We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but water everywhere”
Review of Hotel Lutetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Lutetia
Ranked #1,151 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 10 September 2012

It was a lovely stay with the exception of the shower. I think ccw's review before me stated the problem well. Water goes absolutely everywhere. The plastic partition that is supposed to keep water from spraying on the floor is old and nonfunctional, so I used up the nice fluffy white towels soaking up the floor so I did not slip and fall. When I complained, there was just a shrug. Other than this inconvenience the hotel is spacious and grand and the breakfasts are amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trvldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMKouyoumji, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear trvldoc, thank you for taking some time to write about your experience at the Lutetia. We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed the hotel. We are very sorry you had a problem with the bathroom, we will make sure this does not happen again in the future. We hope having the pleasure of welcoming you once more at the Lutetia very soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (885)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 215 of 885 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed at the Lutetia on our honeymoon and recently returned to celebrate our anniversary. We advised on our reservation form that we were celebrating an anniversary and wine and chocolates were sent to our room after check in. A nice touch!

We had a room on the 5th floor with an outstanding view of the Eiffel Tower. The staff was very attentive and courteous. Special thanks to the front desk staff.

Room cleanliness was good. Room was a bit dated, but the great view made up for that. Breakfast was great. Huge selection, English, French, American. We also like walking across the street to the cafe on Blvd. Sevres for petit dejeuner.

We look forward to returning to celebrate our next big anniversary.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jsrmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMKouyoumji, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear jsrmck, thank you for your review. We are thrilled to read your stay at the Lutetia was pleasant and that you were happy to spend your Wedding anniversary with us. We will send your good words to the staff, especially the kitchens and front office staff. We would be delighted to have you once again at the Lutetia. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

I just stayed in the Lutetia and the reason I chose it was some reviews mentioning how great the renovated rooms were, and the strides the hotel is making in recapturing its golden era. Alas, when I entered, first thing I realized was that the lobby looked outdated and gloomy. Incoming/outgoing guests were struggling to get their luggage through the revolving door. Of course my room was not ready when I tried to check in at 2pm, I was tartly reminded that check-in was at 3pm.

I was supposed to be in a "renovated" luxury room, and unfortunately, my definition of "renovation" differs from the hotel. The paint is already peeling in some areas, and the lights did not quite work and had to call front desk. The shower door did not close properly which led to leaks.

On the positive side, the room was quite spacious and the hotel amenities were nice. Breakfast, included in my deal was quite nice and served in a nice area with multiple stations featuring pastries, warm varieties and assortments. The location of the hotel cannot be beat in the heart of St. Germaines.

Room Tip: You must stay in "renovated" rooms. My understanding is the non-renovated are not up to p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timetrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMKouyoumji, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear timetrvl, thank you for leaving a review about your stay at the Lutetia. We our sorry we did not meet your expectations on every point during your stay. We strive to renovates regularly as many rooms as we can, we are very sorry yours was not up to your standards. On the other hand, we are delighted to read you were pleased with the breakfast, which is usually very appreciated by our clients for its variety of products and their quality. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again at the Lutetia, and show you what our hotel can offer best. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

This place stretched my budget, but was highly recommended to me. I'm glad I took the recommendation--I thought it was worth it. The room was surprisingly spacious, especially by Paris standards. We were comfortable with three people and three beds in one room(staff had included an extra(third) bed per our request). We had a channel in English on the TV--unexpected and pleasant surprise. Our reservation included the breakfast buffet--I thought the selection of delectable baked goods was fabulous. Greatly enjoyed browsing at the nearby Bon Marche and its gourmet food section. Our room was on floor 2 and was quiet. Not high enough to have a view of the Eiffel Tower, I regret to say. Saint Germain neighborhood is great; we enjoyed walking to the Louvre, Notre Dame, Luxembourg Gardens--maybe about a 30 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the Eiffel Tower, you will have to be higher than floor 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reno1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMKouyoumji, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear reno1024, thank you so much for your review ! We are so please you enjoyed your stay at the Lutetia and that your two friends did too ! It is always a pleasure for us to read that our guests enjoyed our hotel, it's rooms and services. You are also right in saying the location is great and it would be an immense pleasure for us to have you back at the Lutetia, at the heart of the Left Bank, very soon ! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Saint Germain ist the best spot where to be to breath the real Paris atmosphere: this hotel is just perfect to do so and if you are so lucky to get a room on the 5th floor starrring in the morning and late in the night at the Tour Eiffel, well you are about to experience the most amazing days in your life!! You can just walk to caffe de flore, you can walk to Montparnasse, you can walk to one of the greatest restaurant in Paris for oysters (le bar a huitres) and all around the hotel is full of cafe and traditional French bistrò. Metro station just in front of the hotel. It is also full of gorgeous shops and in the hotel there are a couple of windows showing cool unknown designers pieces (in particular jewels) which will help you to have a permanent memory of Paris! Besides the perfect location and nice shopping opportunities, the Lutetia is also well known for the very good brunch and concerts which often take place there. If u like jazz, blues it's worth having a look at the events plan before booking. Still on food: the breakfast is very good too: wide array of choice, everything fresh and very kind staff. Some additional quick comments: fast check in and powerful concierge service. What the Lutetia could improve is maintenance of the bathrooms and the amenities. Mini bar price are somehow a bit high so maybe it 's better to get water from places around. Other than that, just let yourself conquer from the incredible Paris appeal!

Room Tip: Fifth floor Street side: waking up with the view on the Eiffel Tower is just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Queen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JMKouyoumji, Front Office Manager at Hotel Lutetia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2012

Dear Queen s, we would like to thank you for taking some time to leave a review about your stay at the Lutetia. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and that your experience at the hotel was pleasant. We will send your good words to the Concierges and the Front Office staff. We also are sorry about the problems your experienced in the bathroom, we hope it was not too much of a problem and assure you we will focus our efforts on these parts during the next renovations. We would be delighted to have you once again amongst our guests very soon at the Lutetia . Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Le Placide
Le Placide
#548 of 1,804 in Paris
294 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#142 of 1,804 in Paris
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel de Sevres
Hotel de Sevres
#495 of 1,804 in Paris
387 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Petit Chomel
Le Petit Chomel
#127 of 1,804 in Paris
357 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Saint Germain
Hotel Saint Germain
#204 of 1,804 in Paris
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lutetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lutetia

Address: 45 Boulevard Raspail | Hotel Closed for 3 year renovation that started April 2014, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#89 Spa Hotel in Paris
#477 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#599 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range: €561 - €564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lutetia 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lutetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lutecia Paris
Lutetia Hotel
Paris Lutetia
Paris Hotel Lutetia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing