We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Modern, Comfy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Ranked #170 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed at the Grand Hotel from 12/25 - 12/31 in room 504. For our first trip to Paris in 2009 we stayed in the Marais at the Hotel Caron de Beaumarchais which was great for the location but our hotel room was super small. In that hotel room our suitcase took up valuable floor space and we were constantly tripping over each other. For the most part hotel rooms are small in Paris, but for our 2nd trip we wanted a bed at least the size we normally sleep in.
At the Saint-Michel the room was also small but we got an actual Queen sized bed which was very important to us. Being from NYC the room size was do-able and we could fit one suitcase in the closet and another in a corner so it wasn't so cramped.

***PROS***
-Location. You're close to Luxemborg gardens and the Metro
-Large and Comfy Bed. We slept really well here.
-Closet Storage
-Flat Screen TV
-Small Balcony
-Nice friendly front desk service

***CONS***
-The tub was a bit high to step in to and the glass panel tricky to open and close.
*Tip - I was unaccustomed to the shower/faucet option, you have to pull on the hose to change it.
-We did have a problem with the key card for 3 days of our stay, it seemed to be after the maid serviced the room.
-Around 1-2pm they restock the fridges and if you're taking a siesta you'll hear slamming doors.

All and all nothing major to complain about and we had a great stay. I'd definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank romcat1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 518 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2012

While the staff was helpful and friendly, I purchased three ties from Hermes in the beginning of my trip. When I packed to leave, the ties were not to be found in the room. I immediately went to the desk to alert them. Given the time at night, they could not contact the cleaning staff, whichh was understandable. In the morning when I left the hotel, I reminded the desk and i gave them all of my contact information. i was told they were going to get to the bottom of it and email me to follow-up. After three days, I did not hear from the hotel. I called and they told me they knew nothing about the ties. They were expensive--$600. They did not leave the hotel room. They were in bright Hermes packaging. they could not have been accidently disposed. They were stolen by the cleaning staff. There is no other explanation. i would caution anyone from staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: I did not use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruecujas, directrice at Grand Hotel Saint-Michel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Dear Sir

Many thanks for your review. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay
Unfortunately, the floor team service did not found anything in the room , and we would like to present you with our apologies for this inconvenience .

We completely trust our staff, but be assured that we have taken this serious problem in consideration,
but whithout any proof we can not accuse anyone.

To avoid any kind of problem with thievery, you have a safe at disposal in your room, unfortunately you have made the choice to not use it.

We are really sorry for all the trouble this might have caused to you.

Best regards

The team management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

My boyfriend and I went to Paris for Christmas and decided to book a 4 star hotel to make sure we have a lovely stay. The hotel is lovely but do not mach 4star rating the have !
Nice hotel in a top location. If it wasn't for location and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Rooms are small but well decorated. Friendly staff but we had a mix up with a late check out ( they told us we don't need to check out until 2pm and we got a phone call at 12.3pm on the day rushing us to check out right away) we never got an apology for a mix up so that was a bit annoying. We got a bottle of wine delivered to the room and the waiter was wearing a black leather jacket. No room service on a Christmas day ( which you would expect from a 4 star hotel ) One morning there was no hot water, there is no hotel bar either, breakfast costs 20 Euros per person which is really expensive considering the same breakfast in a cafe costs on average 20 Euros for 2 people. Its a nice hotel but extremely overpriced and the service does not match 4 star rating/ quality. Beds are comfortable and the view from the room was lovely. All in all, when in Paris you only spend on average 10% of your day in your hotel room so next time I am definitely going for a budget option.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

My husband took me to Paris for a surprise birthday trip. He agonized for weeks over choosing a hotel/location to stay in the huge city of Paris. What a great choice he made.

The Grand Hotel Saint-Michel was perfect...absolutely perfect. The front desk staff were fabulous, so helpful, so friendly. Although we could speak French, we saw them talking with dozens of other guests in English...and always with a smile, a map...a written note to help. They helped us navigate the subway and busses as we went to some rather off-the-beaten path restaurants and on one day...a huge Parisian flea market!

The room was chic and elegant. All black, grey, white and trendy. Big comfy bed with pristine white linens and duvet. The bathroom was ultra modern with a stunning shower and sink. Overall the room was very small but hey, its Paris!! The street was quiet, no noise at all. The room was spotless...and this is a comment from a neat freak!

The location was superb. It is located a block from the Pantheon, two blocks from the Luxembourg gardens and a 5 min walk from the university of Paris and all the awesome cafes, bars and restaurantsthat go along with that cool vibe. A 10 to 15 minutes walk and you're standing on the bridge crossing over to the Notre Dame church.

The free Wifi allowed us to surf the net between afternoons of sightseeing and evening at cool restuarants and bars...Google maps was our friend!!

When we left to come home, we discovered at the airport that we forgot a few teratsures in our room (unique ones that we had bought at the flea market). We contacted the hotel and within no time at all...they mailed our beloved treasures to our home in Canada!!

By far one of (if not the best) hotel experience we've ever had.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank goodthingsinlife5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Very clean. Quiet street. Convenient location. Saint Michel Blvd just around the corner. 5 mins walk from Metro. Apprx 10 mins walk to the Latin Quarter and Saint-Germain-des-Prés. We actually did walk to Notre Dame and Louvre as well. Very comfortable beds. Nice breakfast buffet. Hallways and rooms are rather small, but quite acceptable for older European buildings. Excellent value for your money. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: if you require a double/queen bed, ensure your room has one upon arrival - rather than two single be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiseAndFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#84 of 1,803 in Paris
1,175 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
Hotel les Dames du Pantheon
#165 of 1,803 in Paris
587 reviews
Quartier Latin
Le Lapin Blanc
Le Lapin Blanc
#51 of 1,803 in Paris
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#283 of 1,803 in Paris
1,169 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Hotel Design Sorbonne
#276 of 1,803 in Paris
1,325 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#134 of 1,803 in Paris
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Saint-Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Saint-Michel

Address: 19 rue Cujas | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#107 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#125 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#141 Business Hotel in Paris
#147 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: €129 - €326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Saint-Michel 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Saint-Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing