We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problems with the restaurant's staff”
Review of Hotel de Vendome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Vendome
Ranked #475 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Problems with the restaurant's staff”
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Not being guests at the hotel, my friend and I had a less than pleasant service on the part of a lone waiter that held the fort at the hotel's first floor restaurant on 1st January 2012. First off, we waited for about 10 minutes for him to appear; then he made us wait for another 5 minutes before offering us a table (most of the tables in the hall were vacant). He did not speak any English; fortunately, my companion spoke French. The waiter was brusque and nonchalant from the start:virtually every order had to be made twice as they were never executed on first attemt. Then, things got even worse as he imagined that we were staring and laughing at him (indeed, we looked in his direction occasionally trying to draw his attention -- mostly in vain). After i complained, informally, to some one who appeared by the end of our ordeal and looked his senior, the waiter came up to my companion (as he could speak to him in French) and, after a short exchange, threatened to beat us up after 11 o'clock, "at the back of the hotel" where he demanded we should show up. I have been to all sorts of places but have never experienced anything like this -- and in a 5-star establishment at that!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    99
    33
    16
    8
See reviews for
77
222
22
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

My husband and I just returned from a trip to Paris for Christmas and our anniversary. My husband had been to Paris before and gave me a list of hotels to choose from. We ultimately decided on this hotel. As Texans, we loved that the hotel was the Texas Embassy when we were a country and we loved the location.

When we arrived we were given excellent service. We are pretty low maintence guests so there was not much that we asked of the staff but they were always kind and wonderfully helpful when we did need something.

We had a junior sweet on the first floor, and it was amazing. The bed was harder than most but we couldn't stop talking about how comfortable it was and how well we slept. We walked nearly everywhere from the Place Vendome and it was beautifully lit up for Christmas time. We each had our own bathroom (one in the sitting room and one by our bedroom) there was a room for bathing and getting ready and a closet room for our bags and clothes. The furnature was beautiful and the automated lights, sound and curtain system made it feel modern even though we were surrounded by a beautiful older feel.

Unless we hopped over to the Ritz, I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Paris. It was like a dream.

Room Tip: We had a junior suite and it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Location? Beyond Perfect! Staff? Wonderful! Room? Beautiful, and they up-graded me to a suite without my asking!!! On a scale of 1 to 10? 11. I will never stay anywhere else, when in Paris.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samlupowitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Let me explain why.. The kingside bed allows us to sleep perfectly after a great day shopping. Getting ready with the music you love playing on the sound system in your room, certainly gets us in the party mood but apart from soundproofing, perfect sized room with two toilets & a separate bathroom & walk in wardrobe, the service is outstanding. We have never stay anywhere with such attention to detail.. The people that work here loved this hotel & their jobs. We have had a small team of people taking care of our every need.. After booking us into the VIP Rooms, the hotel provided us with a dedicated assistant to ensure we had a great night, then sent a second person from the hotel to check with my husband that we were having a lovely evening.. Stunning room, space, perfect quiet in the absolute best location. We love this hotel, they help make our trips to Paris perfect. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMc070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here during my birthday trip last year, and we had a lovely time. The hotel is small and gorgeous, with a fabulous location by Place Vendome. We were able to walk just about everywhere in Paris (although I definitely recommend wearing comfy shoes!).

We stayed in a deluxe room, and it was very large for Paris standards. We had a separate sitting area, very large windows, and a big, marble bathroom. The bed was very comfortable, and the decor was beautiful.

There was a very nice bar located in the hotel, but The Ritz is right next door, and the Hemingway Bar is the best bar in the world. Aside from all Hotel de Vendome's wonderful qualities, its proximity to Colin Field's amazing cocktails is more than worth the stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Le Burgundy
Hotel Le Burgundy
#152 of 1,800 in Paris
679 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Castille Paris
Castille Paris
#256 of 1,800 in Paris
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Mansart - Esprit de France
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#218 of 1,800 in Paris
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vendome

Property: Hotel de Vendome
Address: 1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#293 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#323 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Vendome 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1723 by Pierre Perrin, the Sun King's secretary, this elegant building was in turn a private residence and a seat of government, then in 1842 the embassy of the young Republic of Texas whose independence France was the first to recognise. The square is named from the fact that n°1 was the site of the former Vendome family residence. Three centuries of art, culture and elegance make it a unique address in Paris. Today the place Vendome is the temple of Parisian jewellery, and gives onto Paris's most brilliant quartier, with its haute couture, antique dealers, art galleries, the Opera and the Louvre museum. The Hotel de Vendome is thus a unique jewel, on a par with all the precious stones in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vendome Hotel
De Vendome Paris
Hotel Vendome Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing