We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (457)
Filter reviews
457 results
Traveller rating
146
188
66
40
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
188
66
40
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf board optionsea viewyogurtlovely hotelswimming poolsanguinairesterracecorsicaparking
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 457 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2014

A hotel about 4 miles along the coast road from Akjaccio city centre. Slightly Butlinesque, in a very nice way. but my wife and I would stay there every time. Very pleasant front of staff, extremely clean and spacious rooms with a sea terrace, great bar and restaurant overlooking the sea. Fantastic views , good pricing , a lovely pool. own beach just uinderneath. A lovers paradise.........

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank norfolkexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stella di Mare was everything that we had hoped for at the end of our stay in Corsica. We had half board for 3 nights. We also booked one of the best rooms with a long terrace, where we could sit on the sun loungers and watch the boats (and dolphins) go by. The beach was right in front of us. For a few euros more we considered this an excellent choice

Our room was very pleasant, although the bathroom could do with some upgrading, however the bed etc was fine and firm.Typical French bed, 140 cm. If you need more room here's a top tip...use a chair, place it to the side of the bed and put a pillow on it to rest your arm when asleep. It gives the impression of a larger bed !!

The hotel itself is approx 5 miles from Ajaccio, but as we didn't want to leave the hotel for three days (we toured the town before arriving at the hotel) this was not a problem to us.A car is useful with easy parking on the edge of the town for 2 euros for 4 hours. I asked for change in the car park from a young French man. He gave me two euros, but would not take any money from me. How nice a welcome is that?

Staff were excellent and although many profess not to speak English, they were willing to try. One of the reception managers has lived in New York and his English was perfect. Also many of the guests (although not English) were keen to have a chat in English. But my advise is to always try to speak in French, it is much appreciated. Although my French is not perfect, I can hold a conversation and that goes a long way.

Don't worry about making mistakes- I once told a waiter that I "wanted to eat my wife" rather than saying " i want to eat the same food as my wife" !!

The pool was 15 metres and quite adequate for doing a few laps, or just for lounging around if the sea was too rough. The bar area was shaded and a great place to meet other guests of all nationalities.

The food was good, our half board option was fine for three days. A beer costs 3 euros at the bar. The house wine is 18 euros with more expensive options available. Good quality lunchtime food was 15-20 euros. So not too expensive by Corsica standards.

For what we wanted Stella di Mare was perfect, all aspects of our stay were excellent.

Room Tip: A room with a large terrace is well worth it. Many of the cheaper rooms do not have a view on the sea.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank alandwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel Stella di Mare was our first place to stay (June 4 2014) during a one week trip and first time visit to Corsica. We selected this place for several reasons: reviews, an 8.0 score, location and distance from the airport, good start for the round trip of the (almost) entire island. We stayed in a 'superior' room located in front of several other 'blocs' with individual rooms, facing sea with a nice view of the Isles Sanguinaires. Our room was clean, rather small, so was the bathroom as well but it did not bother us. The nice and clean pool was an alternative of the sea and small beach and we used it for a couple of hours to relax. There were not many people in the hotel and early June is a quiet time. Although the hotel's policy is to register only at 4 p.m. we were allowed in the room much earlier as we arrived already at 8 a.m. in the airport. We used the rest of the day to visit Ajaccio. We could drop our car easily in a parking and in the hotel itself there is enough place to park the car.
The staff (we only met 2 different people at the reception) was friendly and so no complaints at all. We only used breakfast (a good one) on a sunny terrace with a great sea view.
Conclusion: this was a good start of our first trip to Corsica and not to forget: sometimes the reality is better than what it looks on the internet and this happened more than once on this tour.

Room Tip: Choose a room nearest to the sea front.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is a modest sized 3 star hotel right on the beach. Whilst probably built in the 1970's its location is fantastic and being just outside Ajaccio is convenient without the hassle. We stayed in a sea-view room with the beach below us and the beautiful sea just yards away. Fantastic to wake up to.
Corsica is not a cheap place to stay or eat out, but we found the hotel restaurant to be better value than outside, with better choice and higher quality meals. We only had evening meals here so cannot comment on breakfast or daytime food.
The beach was clean and the sea relatively warm. The hotel pool was a great alternative (if you don't like the sand) and was extremely clean and never busy. A great place to relax.
The hotel staff were very friendly and it was great to try our French, rather than everyone speaking perfect English, which they don't. But this is a bonus, in our opinion.
This was our first time in Corsica and loved it. We would recommend this hotel and the only reason we would not return in the short term is that we would try a different resort on the island, but we are sure we will be back at some time in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view. You will not regret it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SellickM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel at the end of April and were quite happy about the experience. The rooms are clean and spacious and the staff is friendly and efficient. The hotel is practically on the beach and even when the water is still to cold (as was the case for us), it is great to sit on the terrace with a cup of coffee watching the sea. On the downside I could point the distance to the centre (7km) of Ajaccio which is partially compensated by the bus stop directly in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svetlana1979_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews