We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but over priced”
Review of Mercure Ajaccio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Ajaccio
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Ajaccio
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Clean, comfortable but small room with a decent sea view. At €133 per night I was expecting a better room with more than a small bottle of water to welcome us!
Situated on the main road into the city, on the 5th floor, we didn't notice the noise from the busy road below.
Breakfast was very nice but over priced at €14 per person, parking too was expensive at €12 per night. There were plenty of towels in the room but they were small and had seen better days.
So in total, 2 nights B&B with parking is over €300 and the hotel isn't even in a great part of town, it's a 20-30 minute walk along the busy road to the good restaurants.
On the plus side, the reception is very nice and the staff are super friendly and really helpful. It's easy to find when driving into Ajaccio, there is an underground car park.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeanpatrick2016, Responsable commercial at Mercure Ajaccio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thank you very much for having taken the time to let us know your impression about your stay at our hotel.

Our main goal is to offer , through our dedicated and passionate team, a warm and friendly feeling, and we are happy that we succeded.

Our location is a good compromise between an easy access and a walking distance to the center, avoiding crowded trafic driving into the city.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 539 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Very nice hotel in downtown Ajaccio close to the train station.
The hotel is simple but with a modern look. Minimalistic.
Very clean.
Comfortable bed.
Location was not as I expected but it was so nice to sleep at this hotel that I have to give them five stars.
Limited Parking available. Very tight. 12 Euros per night.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank golflover26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

Stayed for one week on holiday. The Hotel was up to the Mercure standard with staff that speak English (very helpful), clean and updated rooms. Good standard and well placed. The Terrace gives a view of the whole bay and is a few minutes from the city centre. Coffee maker in the room, free drinks from the fridge. The rooms are smaller than the UK equivalent but you are over looking the Med and only a few minutes walk from the centre. Shower no bath but that is normal in the Med. No surprises which is why I like staying at a chain.

No restaurant but this is a good thing as it would never be able to compete with all the local eateries. Five minutes walk from the hotel gives you loads of options. Even for breakfast I would skip the hotel and go next door or 5 minutes into town. Sit on the waterside and have coffee and bread.

Tip for UK visitors. Everyone drinks coffee in very small cups. If you want Tea in your room go buy a mug from the local super market. Go out the front door, turn left walk for 10 minutes to LeClerec. Also no one seems to have heard of Tonic so no G&T's at sundown but wonderful local beers so who cares...

Room Tip: I would suggest that on arrival go straight up to the 6th floor and try out the Terrace. It has a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Swiftest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Big-chain name and comfort, the hotel is located just outside the touristic area - overlooking the port and train facilities. We were concerned about potential noise issues at first, but the staff assigned us a room looking out back and it was indeed extremely quiet.

One minor problem we had, the bed, bathroom door and floor creaked to no end when moving around. We also found the room, while extremely clean, modern and comfortable, to be very cramped - a little disappointing for a 4-star hotel.

Overall, it's a good spot, but it definitely feels more like a 3-star establishment than 4 stars.

Room Tip: If you're concerned about noise (the hotel is on a very busy road), ask for a room looking out b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexMtlCDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

No restaurant, take away menus in your room. We stayed here for 5 nights and had one bottle of water free. When asked for another bottle we were told it was a welcome drink only and we would have pay for more. Breakfast at 14 euros per person was a joke. Go to the bakery next door for 5 euros. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank nikbannister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ajaccio hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Best Western Plus Ajaccio Amiraute
1.4 km away
Hotel Fesch
Hotel Fesch
#3 of 28 in Ajaccio
523 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Napoleon
Hotel Napoleon
#2 of 28 in Ajaccio
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Hotel Les Mouettes
Hotel Les Mouettes
#1 of 28 in Ajaccio
593 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Palazzu U Domu
Hotel Palazzu U Domu
#14 of 28 in Ajaccio
295 reviews
1.9 km away
Ibis Budget Ajaccio
Ibis Budget Ajaccio
#7 of 28 in Ajaccio
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Ajaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Ajaccio

Address: 115 cours Napoleon, 20090 Ajaccio, Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien, Corsica, France
Region: France > Corsica > Corse-du-Sud > Communaute d'Agglomeration du Pays Ajaccien > Ajaccio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ajaccio
#5 Family Hotel in Ajaccio
#7 Business Hotel in Ajaccio
Price Range: €70 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Ajaccio 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the centre of the town with direct access to both the station and the airport, the Mercure Ajaccio offers very comfortable rooms with all amenities, with a view over the pleasure port. To start the day off well, enjoy a delicious breakfast on the panoramic terrace overlooking the gulf of Ajaccio. Benefiting from a special position, right by the beaches and the Palace of Congresses, this hotel is the right address for business and leisure trips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Ajaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Ajaccio Hotel Ajaccio
Mercure Ajaccio Corsica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing