We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (680)
Filter reviews
680 results
Traveller rating
218
344
90
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
344
90
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightprivilege roomminute drivebreakfast buffet was very goodcomfy roomrestaurant food was excellentstopover hotelhotel is modernchina cupsswimming poolnespresso coffee machinean excellent hotellong drivehotel restaurantsouth of francesofa bedseparate toilet
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 680 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

The staff was helpful and the room was great - we had a good one-night sleep after a long day of driving. The room was quiet despite the closeness of the hotel to the airport. The room was also well lit and well supplied with electrical outlets, The bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoLongJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCordier-Directeur, Directeur général at Mercure Tours Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Pleasantly supplied at the standard of the hotel. In an industrial estate just off the motorway system heading south. Great for an overnight stop and the food in the restaurant was good and the staff very accommodating. The a la cartel was on the expensive side but the menu very good value. Quality of the food was good and the room comfortable. If I end up passing this way again, would definitely overnight.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank grimj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCordier-Directeur, Directeur général at Mercure Tours Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Sir,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Tours Nord.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We requested two tea bags to make tea in our room. The Hotel only supplied fruit tea bags. We were charged 7.40 euros. We complained on checkout, but were told if we didn`t like it we should write to Accor Hotels I have written and complained but we have not received a reply.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Mikepicklelodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCordier-Directeur, Responsable réception at Mercure Tours Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Madame, Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hôtel Mercure Tours Nord. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

We offer different tea or coffee in rooms like infusion with regliss and fruits berries and tea : "Thé du Hammam" with fruits berries and "Thé des Lords" : Earl grey.
In fact we don't have the choice to offer other tea like "English breakfast".

I proposed you to write to Accor and we are sorry that's nobody from Accor replied you.

Best regards

Sandra COURCELLE
Front desk manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Conveniently located close to the motorway. Good clean rooms, comfortable bed and quite. Breakfast was a little disappointing have had more choice in other Mercure hotels. Hotel does offer a quick checkout service where you can just drop the key at reception on leaving.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AndyReflect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCordier-Directeur, Directeur général at Mercure Tours Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
About breakfast, we propose all products in reference by Accor and regional products.
Maybe that's about this regional products who change?

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We moved out of our previous hotel and booked into the Mercure and we are so pleased we did. From the time we entered the hotel to the time of departure the staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. I hadn't been feeling very well for a few days and had difficulty in finding plain, simple food. However, in this hotel the chef and the young lady in the restaurant went out of their way to present a beautiful simple dinner for me which went down a treat. I can't thank them enough for being so kind, especially when very busy. The room was lovely and clean and spacious and there is plenty of parking. The hotel is positioned in a very quiet area so a great nights sleep with absolutely no complaints whatsoever. Thank you again Mercure, it's definitely a place we would be happy to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCordier-Directeur, Directeur général at Mercure Tours Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Tours Nord.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews