We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (686)
Filter reviews
686 results
Traveller rating
220
346
92
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
220
346
92
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night privilege room minute drive breakfast buffet was very good comfy room restaurant food was excellent stopover hotel hotel is modern china cups swimming pool nespresso coffee machine an excellent hotel long drive south of france hotel restaurant sofa bed separate toilet
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 686 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The privilege room is better than the standard rooms in two main respects. It is slightly larger (with a sofa(bed) and table) so it is comfortable for two people to eat at, and the bed linen is really good. Lovely cotton sheets and memory foam pillows. The bed is supportive and comfortable too. Breakfast was pretty standard - continental meats, cheeses, bread, cereals, yoghurts, a small selection of cooked sausage, egg etc. Room service food was not bad either, but was not of the same quality as the restaurant food. Unfortunately only a buffet was on offer because lots of families were staying and "it was easier". Not for us it wasn't! Very disappointed. The room should also have had bathrobes and slippers, but didn't.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCordier-Directeur, Directeur général at Mercure Tours Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Madam, Sir, We thank you for having taken the time to write this comment about your stay in our hotel. The Privilege room is as described, with a “high comfort bed” but indeed, you should have had bathrobes and slippers. We want to apologize if you didn’t. It is a mistake from our staff. For the restaurant, there should have been a misunderstanding, because during the week-end, we offer the choice, between the buffet, and the usual restaurant menu. We apologize again if we didn’t explain it too you. We will do our best to make your next stay better. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had picked this hotel as it gave us the ideal spot to break the journey from the South West of France up to the Normandy Coast. Main thing we were looking for was a family room for four and secure parking as we had a lot of camping gear to be left in the car overnight. Really pleased with what we found at the Hotel. The Reception staff were friendly and helpful and spoke good English to deal with my poor French. We didn't eat in the hotel that night as weren't sure if our fussy kids would like what was available however there are a number of fast food outlets and other restaurants about 3 minutes drive away and well sign posted from the main road. Our room was fine for two adults and two kids, the sofa folds out to form a double bed and when asked in the morning if it had been comfortable our nine year old said it was "awesome!". Our only complaint would have been that the pillows on the main bed lacked support and I'm sure that the staff would have dealt with this if we'd bothered to raise the issue as they seemed very friendly and helpful. Space was adequate and the room benefited from having separate en-suite toilet and bathroom, both of which were modern and attractively decorated. Bathroom had large walk in shower, rather than a bath, with different shower head options and a nice selection of complimentary shower gels etc. We had included breakfast as part of the booking and the buffet breakfast served in the dining area provided a good basic range of hot and cold options. Unfortunately to our children's disappointment we didn't get a chance to use the pool area which looked neat tidy and clean. Overall the Mercure Tours Nord did exactly what we wanted and I'd happily stay there again. If you are looking to break up the trip from South to North of France I'd certainly recommend this Hotel to you, particularly if you can get a good deal on the rate.

Room Tip: The Hotel has a passenger lift so you don't have to worry about lugging your suitcases upstairs if on the upper floors!!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCordier-Directeur, Directeur général at Mercure Tours Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Sir, Madam, you perfectly sum up our “hotel spirit”. We are really pleased to read that the establishment was exactly what you were looking for, and moreover, that it didn’t disappoint you. It’s difficult for us to add anything to your comment. As mentioned, we could have done something for the pillows (give you more, for example). And indeed, at the reservation, you can have different kind of rates, including breakfast etc. For your next stay, we hope you’ll “try” our restaurant, which proposes “children menu” as you can find in the fast foods. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here as part of a tour and it was the best Mercure we stayed in.
Our room, 124, was very spacious and was on the ground floor with a nice view over the garden and a window that can be opened. Apart from the king bed, there were bedside shelves and bedside lights, a three-person sofa, a square coffee table, a round sitting-at table, one chair, a three-drawer cabinet, a suitcase shelf and a cupboard. Wonder of wonders there was an electric kettle (but disposable mugs) and a fridge with two complimentary bottles of water. The bathroom had the thickest towels we have had in France, a hair dryer, shampoo, soap and shower gel. The toilet is separate to the bathroom. The room was very comfortable.
The only slight downside was that the buffet breakfast didn't have quite the range that the others had. Maybe I am biased as I like muesli for breakfast and there wasn't any, but there were other types of cereal.
We would certainly stay there again. Oh, and there was free wifi (pronounced "wee fee" in French).

Room Tip: Room 124 is on the ground floor, overlooks the garden, has a window that opens and is very spacious,
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marjorie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCordier-Directeur, Directeur général at Mercure Tours Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Sir, Madam, We thank you for this excellent comment. Your satisfaction is our priority. Our rooms have been renovated so that they offer a high level of comfort, and anticipate the guests’ requests, including in the bathroom! Sorry for the muesli, and be sure we’ll try to improve our buffet breakfast for your next stay! Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed in the Ibis hotel next door, part of the same hotel group and ate in the Mercure as there was no evening restaurant in the Ibis. The Mercure is more upmarket than the Ibis and the restaurant evening meal was very good although pricey. Great selection on the menu for food and wine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyMar45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCordier-Directeur, Directeur général at Mercure Tours Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Sir. Thank you for this pleasant comment. Indeed, our restaurant is opened even for people who are not staying in the hotel. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Everything about this Hotel was excellent
can only say Thank you to all staff for a good stay and excellent food, Parking was safe and when you asked questions they were politely answered without having to
try your French out.

Room Tip: If your looking for quality and service this is the Hotel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BRIAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PCordier-Directeur, Directeur général at Mercure Tours Nord, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Sir, Madam, We thank you for this great comment. Be sure we’ll try to keep this high level of quality so as we’ll make your next stay as good as this one. Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews