We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“relaxing in medieval environment with modern...”
other travellers have booked this property
Another view of Chateau de La Vauguyon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Another view of Chateau de La Vauguyon
Chateau de La Vauguyon in the Loire Valley Bedroom at the first floor with king size bed 180X200
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Another view of Chateau de La Vauguyon
Chateau de La Vauguyon in the Loire Valley
Bedroom at the first floor with king size bed 180X200
Salon and fire place
The gite from the private yard and behind the dovecot which is another gite for 2/4 guests
View of the chateau de Chinon from the chateau de La Vauguyon
Kitchen and salon
Bedroom on the ground floor with double bed 160X200
Another view of the dining room
Bathroom with balneo and the shower in the tower
Fallow deer in the property
Other fallow deer
Inside of a dovecot or pigeon house
One of many chateau in this area to visite: Saumur, Chinon, Usse: sleeping beauty Villandry
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chinon, Indre-et-Loire, Centre-Val de Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ggigase
Kerkrade, The Netherlands
1 review
“relaxing in medieval environment with modern equipment”
Reviewed 17 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Our stay at the round tower of the castle of Vauguyon was majestic.
In a quiet, medieval environment with great view we enjoyed having a modern equipment. With our dog we could hike in the near beautiful nature.
By car we visited the castles of the Loire. From our bedroom window and our garden we almost could touch dozens of deer. Fabulous.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2018
It was a real pleasure to receive you in the dovecot . I am very happy than you have spent a nice time at Chinon and the surrounding area . It will be again a pleasure for me to welcome you another time . I am sorry to answer you so late but I was very busy as you know how is the property . Many thanks .CD
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Aug 2018
I am delighted that the rental has satisfied you and if you had the opportunity to return to Chinon and the castle of La Vauguyon, I will be very happy to welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
england13...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 8 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We (wife and 7 yo) stayed in the dovecoat for a week and had an exceptional time. The chateau was lovely - very quiet and relaxing. It was a great base to explore all the nearby chateau and wineries. The host was engaging and very informative. Would love to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2018
I am happy that your stay was as nice as you tell it and it will be a really pleasure for me to receive you another time . Many thanks .
Célian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivkahMel...
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Sweet Life in the Loire”
Reviewed 13 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Chinon is an exceptional place, with its restored chateau and its museum. Chateau de la Vauguyon is a couple of kilometres from it, so it is not in the centre of the small town. That's a great boon because it is possible to park. We usually walked into Chinon (allow half an hour), but it is possible to drive and park alongside the river. I wouldn't advise driving in the centre. The chateau itself has two gites. We had the smaller, with two bedrooms upstairs, and a living room, kitchen and bathroom downstairs. The bedrooms are spacious, and there is only one drawback, which is that only the second bedroom has hanging space for clothes and a wonderful host who is able to direct guests to the places that will best please them. It's a great place to stay while exploring the area, and there is something very special is staying in a building with such a history.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2017
Many thanks for your review it is fine for next visitors who want to come to Chinon and also at my chateau . I hope that your stay had been very nice in Nantes and then in Paris ; did you have news about you camera ? Now in France the weather is cool/cold but winter is coming not like you which it is summer . Thank you to stay at my chateau and I wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year CD
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WeBe0201
Aschaffenburg, Germany
1 review
“Wonderful holiday location with atmosphere”
Reviewed 17 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We had a very atmospheric stay at Chateau de la Vauguyon. The rooms are very spacious and nicely furnished, and the terrace offers a stunning view over Chinon and its fortress. The castle and its surroundings are very quiet, perfect for a relaxing vacation The landlord was always very helpful and provides many useful and practical hints (vineries, excursions, shopping, etc.).

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2017
Hello how are you, your return has gone well not too tired? I thank you for your review and I was very honored that you chose the castle of La Vauguyon at Chinon. The boxwoods are much better and I keep very carefully all your advice for next year so that it will be not the apocalypse like this year. Kind Regards .Célian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing