We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and great staff”
Review of Hotel Diderot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diderot
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2017

I stayed in Hotel Diderot earlier this week on a work trip. The hotel is really well furnished and authentically French. Breakfast was very good as well with a great spread of home made jams and marmalade's, fruit, yogurt and fruit juice and hot drinks. I found the staff very knowledgeable about the local region and were fluent in English which made up for my awful French. What tops it off is the local town and surrounding area, absolutely stunning. I would highly reccomend.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chuggsy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you CHUGGSY for taking the time to post about your stay.

We are really glad we had a part in making your trip enjoyable (and memorable).

You can come back any time! There is so much to see, and Chinon is a perfect base to explore this part of the Loire Valley (but we already told you, didn't we ?).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

The rooms are like a B&B, nicely decorated and homey. There's no air conditioning but they have nice fans in each room. They offer a breakfast which consists of one glass of juice, coffee or tea, breads, jams and goat cheese. The goat cheese is very good, but I didn't think it was worth the cost. It is convenient though to just eat there. Chinon is a beautiful town with a fortress ruin you can hike up to. There's a fee to enter. It's also fun to just walk around the town.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Good morning CAROL,
thank you for your nice review.

I would just like to expand a bit on breakfast : there is a little more than "one glass of juice, coffee or tea, breads, jams and goat cheese". As for drinks, you can also have real cocoa, and there are croissants, brioches and toasts, dried fruits, yogurts, homemade fresh fruit salad, honey and walnuts (to go with the cheese).

Of course, you are not limited to one glass of juice (or one cup of coffeee) : there are always two people waiting the tables and you can get as many refills as you want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Our stay was a stop over on the way north to Calais but we arrived in good time to allow ourselves a good stroll around the charming little town of Chinon. The hotel is within a few minutes walk of the town centre and close to shops and a number of bars and restaurants. The welcome was warm and helpful. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The use of old style furniture gave it a homely touch and I suspect that each room will be different. There is a pleasant little terrace where drinks can be taken. The hotel was quiet and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. Breakfast was made up of very fresh bread and pastries, excellent coffee, and a huge range of home made jams and marmalades. Overall good value for money and I would be happy to use it as a base for a longer visit to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Park_Hall_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thanks BARRY for this nice and exhaustive review.

What can we say? You are right : Chinon IS the best base to tour the Loire Valley, whether you enjoy medieval fortresses or Renaissance castles, small churches or basilicas, gastronomy, wine, history, art or open spaces...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed at the Diderot for two nights. They didn't give us the accommodation we had asked for but were able to change it. The room had a bright and modern design but was small. If you like 250 varieties of jam, then breakfasts may have appealed. If you don't like jam at all, then you were left with a lot of different breads. The management projected efficiency rather than warmth. A pot of afternoon tea for 2 cost 7 Euros. Parking in the hotel forecourt cost 8 Euros per night. One got the feeling that the bottom line played too big a part in the philosophy of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, avoid the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Mr. Danzinger,

You appear to be an avid contributor to Trip Advisor so we thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Hôtel Diderot. Despite you enthusiasm for "reporting" your experience, we have chosen to respond with a bit more accurate details on each of your points.

First, you failed to mention that you booked your trip to Chinon with a cycling tour operator... which means that the tour operator selected and booked your room based on your request of category; therefore the tour operator was responsible for the choice of your room and not the hotel. An upgrade would have required a supplement which apparently you chose not to pay. Despite this, we did upgrade you at the tour operator's request - for which we chose not to charge you.

Second, the breakfast at the Hôtel Diderot is not limited to bread and jam. We are happy that you were impressed by the large selection of homemade jams, but we also serve fresh local goat cheese with walnuts and honey, both locally produced as well, fresh fruit salad prepared on the premises every day, a selection of yogurts and dried fruits, artisan apple juice, as well as, of course, fresh baguettes, croissants, brioche, both fresh and toasted, and dark or grain bread.

Third, we are rather confused as to your concern for the price of parking (closed and secured each night) seeing as you did not come to the hotel with a car.

Our bar prices, including tea, are in line with any bar in town, but we would like to point out that you did not get a pot of tea for 2 at €7 but rather each of you ordered and received a pot of tea at €3.50 each. And you seemed, as we had to catch you at the gate as you rode off to remind you to settle your bar bill, more surprised at having to pay for the tea at all rather than the cost. We are not as much concerned with the bottom line as much as we are at simply - and gracefully - getting paid for the goods and services provided.

We do pride ourselves on our efficiency - as well as the warmth and courtesy of our staff - and hope to welcome you back to the Hôtel Diderot in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Stayed 2 nights in Chinon and found the place well to our liking. The breakfast jams come in great variety of mixtures. Stayed in an older part, and the view was OK. Lots of dark oak walls and the stairs had a rope railing going up.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms if you have accessibility issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joepaulsenngoro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Good evening JOE,
I think you were traveling with the Rick Steve party and it is always a pleasure to welcome these groups. Glad you liked our place. Some Rick Steve clients come back to visit on their own : maybe we will have the pleasure to see you again ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
7.5 km away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
519 reviews
1.2 km away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#4 of 15 in Chinon
468 reviews
27.5 km away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
161 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#8 of 15 in Chinon
298 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Hotel De France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diderot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diderot

Address: 4 rue de Buffon, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range: €57 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diderot 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of old Chinon, nestled in the quiet and historic neighborhood of the Saint Mexme collegiate church, Hotel Diderot welcomes you into a 15th century limestone mansion, restructured in the 17th and 19th centuries. Hotel Diderot is famous for its marvelous breakfasts, offering a dizzying selection of homemade jams, delicious French breads, brioche and croissants, locally produced fresh goat cheese, honey and fruit juice. Close to the fireplace in autumn, or on the shaded terrace as soon as the warm weather arrives, the first meal of the day must be as unforgettable as the night that preceded it. Gluten-free breakfast available on request. Here you will find peace and tranquility ; you will experience the warm hospitality of a " tourangelle " residence, in the land of Renaissance writer Francois Rabelais, amidst the splendid vineyards of the Val de Loire, the landscape dotted with magnificent castles and unique gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Diderot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diderot Hotel Chinon
Hotel Diderot Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing