We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (964)
Filter reviews
964 results
Traveller rating
722
181
45
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
181
45
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade jams goat cheese bread apple juice loire valley jean pierre star hotel owners and staff beautiful hotel local produce secure parking the ground floor small hotel lovely garden main building garden area charming town
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 964 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

The rooms are like a B&B, nicely decorated and homey. There's no air conditioning but they have nice fans in each room. They offer a breakfast which consists of one glass of juice, coffee or tea, breads, jams and goat cheese. The goat cheese is very good, but I didn't think it was worth the cost. It is convenient though to just eat there. Chinon is a beautiful town with a fortress ruin you can hike up to. There's a fee to enter. It's also fun to just walk around the town.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Good morning CAROL,
thank you for your nice review.

I would just like to expand a bit on breakfast : there is a little more than "one glass of juice, coffee or tea, breads, jams and goat cheese". As for drinks, you can also have real cocoa, and there are croissants, brioches and toasts, dried fruits, yogurts, homemade fresh fruit salad, honey and walnuts (to go with the cheese).

Of course, you are not limited to one glass of juice (or one cup of coffeee) : there are always two people waiting the tables and you can get as many refills as you want.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Our stay was a stop over on the way north to Calais but we arrived in good time to allow ourselves a good stroll around the charming little town of Chinon. The hotel is within a few minutes walk of the town centre and close to shops and a number of bars and restaurants. The welcome was warm and helpful. Our room was spacious and well appointed. The use of old style furniture gave it a homely touch and I suspect that each room will be different. There is a pleasant little terrace where drinks can be taken. The hotel was quiet and we enjoyed a good night's sleep. Breakfast was made up of very fresh bread and pastries, excellent coffee, and a huge range of home made jams and marmalades. Overall good value for money and I would be happy to use it as a base for a longer visit to the area.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Park_Hall_Barry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Thanks BARRY for this nice and exhaustive review.

What can we say? You are right : Chinon IS the best base to tour the Loire Valley, whether you enjoy medieval fortresses or Renaissance castles, small churches or basilicas, gastronomy, wine, history, art or open spaces...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed at the Diderot for two nights. They didn't give us the accommodation we had asked for but were able to change it. The room had a bright and modern design but was small. If you like 250 varieties of jam, then breakfasts may have appealed. If you don't like jam at all, then you were left with a lot of different breads. The management projected efficiency rather than warmth. A pot of afternoon tea for 2 cost 7 Euros. Parking in the hotel forecourt cost 8 Euros per night. One got the feeling that the bottom line played too big a part in the philosophy of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, avoid the top floors.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Mr. Danzinger,

You appear to be an avid contributor to Trip Advisor so we thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Hôtel Diderot. Despite you enthusiasm for "reporting" your experience, we have chosen to respond with a bit more accurate details on each of your points.

First, you failed to mention that you booked your trip to Chinon with a cycling tour operator... which means that the tour operator selected and booked your room based on your request of category; therefore the tour operator was responsible for the choice of your room and not the hotel. An upgrade would have required a supplement which apparently you chose not to pay. Despite this, we did upgrade you at the tour operator's request - for which we chose not to charge you.

Second, the breakfast at the Hôtel Diderot is not limited to bread and jam. We are happy that you were impressed by the large selection of homemade jams, but we also serve fresh local goat cheese with walnuts and honey, both locally produced as well, fresh fruit salad prepared on the premises every day, a selection of yogurts and dried fruits, artisan apple juice, as well as, of course, fresh baguettes, croissants, brioche, both fresh and toasted, and dark or grain bread.

Third, we are rather confused as to your concern for the price of parking (closed and secured each night) seeing as you did not come to the hotel with a car.

Our bar prices, including tea, are in line with any bar in town, but we would like to point out that you did not get a pot of tea for 2 at €7 but rather each of you ordered and received a pot of tea at €3.50 each. And you seemed, as we had to catch you at the gate as you rode off to remind you to settle your bar bill, more surprised at having to pay for the tea at all rather than the cost. We are not as much concerned with the bottom line as much as we are at simply - and gracefully - getting paid for the goods and services provided.

We do pride ourselves on our efficiency - as well as the warmth and courtesy of our staff - and hope to welcome you back to the Hôtel Diderot in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Stayed 2 nights in Chinon and found the place well to our liking. The breakfast jams come in great variety of mixtures. Stayed in an older part, and the view was OK. Lots of dark oak walls and the stairs had a rope railing going up.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms if you have accessibility issues
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joepaulsenngoro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Good evening JOE,
I think you were traveling with the Rick Steve party and it is always a pleasure to welcome these groups. Glad you liked our place. Some Rick Steve clients come back to visit on their own : maybe we will have the pleasure to see you again ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Wonderful romantic hotel, great breakfast, charming little bar, relaxing patio area. The staff, especially beautiful Francoise, was fantastic. I had lost my wallet in Chinon and the staff went out of their way to help us sort that out. Thanks for everything, Robert and Marianne.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertzahorik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Robert and Marianne,
thank you for this very nice comment, especially on behalf of " beautiful Françoise " ! Hope to see you again in Chinon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews