We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not special”
Review of Hotel Diderot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diderot
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We stayed at the Diderot for two nights. They didn't give us the accommodation we had asked for but were able to change it. The room had a bright and modern design but was small. If you like 250 varieties of jam, then breakfasts may have appealed. If you don't like jam at all, then you were left with a lot of different breads. The management projected efficiency rather than warmth. A pot of afternoon tea for 2 cost 7 Euros. Parking in the hotel forecourt cost 8 Euros per night. One got the feeling that the bottom line played too big a part in the philosophy of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have heavy luggage, avoid the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Mr. Danzinger,

You appear to be an avid contributor to Trip Advisor so we thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Hôtel Diderot. Despite you enthusiasm for "reporting" your experience, we have chosen to respond with a bit more accurate details on each of your points.

First, you failed to mention that you booked your trip to Chinon with a cycling tour operator... which means that the tour operator selected and booked your room based on your request of category; therefore the tour operator was responsible for the choice of your room and not the hotel. An upgrade would have required a supplement which apparently you chose not to pay. Despite this, we did upgrade you at the tour operator's request - for which we chose not to charge you.

Second, the breakfast at the Hôtel Diderot is not limited to bread and jam. We are happy that you were impressed by the large selection of homemade jams, but we also serve fresh local goat cheese with walnuts and honey, both locally produced as well, fresh fruit salad prepared on the premises every day, a selection of yogurts and dried fruits, artisan apple juice, as well as, of course, fresh baguettes, croissants, brioche, both fresh and toasted, and dark or grain bread.

Third, we are rather confused as to your concern for the price of parking (closed and secured each night) seeing as you did not come to the hotel with a car.

Our bar prices, including tea, are in line with any bar in town, but we would like to point out that you did not get a pot of tea for 2 at €7 but rather each of you ordered and received a pot of tea at €3.50 each. And you seemed, as we had to catch you at the gate as you rode off to remind you to settle your bar bill, more surprised at having to pay for the tea at all rather than the cost. We are not as much concerned with the bottom line as much as we are at simply - and gracefully - getting paid for the goods and services provided.

We do pride ourselves on our efficiency - as well as the warmth and courtesy of our staff - and hope to welcome you back to the Hôtel Diderot in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2017

Stayed 2 nights in Chinon and found the place well to our liking. The breakfast jams come in great variety of mixtures. Stayed in an older part, and the view was OK. Lots of dark oak walls and the stairs had a rope railing going up.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms if you have accessibility issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joepaulsenngoro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Good evening JOE,
I think you were traveling with the Rick Steve party and it is always a pleasure to welcome these groups. Glad you liked our place. Some Rick Steve clients come back to visit on their own : maybe we will have the pleasure to see you again ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Wonderful romantic hotel, great breakfast, charming little bar, relaxing patio area. The staff, especially beautiful Francoise, was fantastic. I had lost my wallet in Chinon and the staff went out of their way to help us sort that out. Thanks for everything, Robert and Marianne.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertzahorik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Robert and Marianne,
thank you for this very nice comment, especially on behalf of " beautiful Françoise " ! Hope to see you again in Chinon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Reading the reviews I can see this is a hotel many travelers have fallen in love with. But honestly, I don't understand why. We stayed for three nights, and while not having any real complaints, there was nothing about this establishment that impressed us very much. Some of the staff were very friendly, others not so much. Often we passed the front desk without receiving even a nod from the person seated there. For a small hotel, I found the atmosphere surprisingly impersonal.

Our room (#5) was very clean, and the fabric-covered walls and color co-ordinated draperies were obviously well thought-out. But still, our impression of the room was that it was rather tired - as was all of the hotel. We did appreciate that our windows opened for fresh air. But be aware that rooms on the front of the hotel are subject to noise from the gravel courtyard below. Car doors begin slamming very early in the morning...

The breakfast offerings seemed skimpy to us for the price charged, and the 'bakery fresh' items in our bread basket the first morning were disappointingly dry. That's really inexcusable in France. The following two mornings we breakfasted outside the hotel and dined better for less money.

Friends of ours who have lived in Chinon for years told us the Diderot is the best hotel in town. If true, that's rather sad, because Chinon is charming and deserves a hotel that offers visitors more.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tattnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

We are pleased you appreciated the cleanliness, the exposition and the care taken in the decoration of your room, but we understand why you were not otherwise impressed by your stay when we look at your contributions on TripAdvisor : we cannot honestly compete with the luxury of your usual haunts, ranging from five-star hotels to palaces like the Meurice. Chinon may deserve a 5 star hotel, but that does not disqualify the ones that are doing an excellent job in their category. So seem to think the 478 clients that posted reviews of their stay at the Diderot on TripAdvisor, praising our homey, personal atmosphere, our friendly staff and our local, fresh and artisanal products at breakfast (by the way, we do not serve diner at the Diderot, so the comparison with other outlets is moot). And again, as you always stay at exclusive locations and palace hotels, we wonder if you were right to choose a small family hotel for your visit to Chinon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

First of all, if staying in the summer, remember there is no air conditioning. The rooms are provided with fans. The location is quiet but very convenient to visiting the downtown area on foot. The morning breakfast includes excellent home made jams. The small patio area next to the bar exit is a great place to have a glass of Chinon wine and just relax after a busy day of sightseeing..

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Good morning,
and a geat " thank you " from " the engaging couple" ! We hope to see you again in Chinon, for another stay or just a glass of Chinon wine on the terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
7.5 km away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
519 reviews
1.2 km away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#4 of 15 in Chinon
468 reviews
27.5 km away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
161 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#8 of 15 in Chinon
298 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Hotel De France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diderot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diderot

Address: 4 rue de Buffon, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range: €57 - €76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diderot 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of old Chinon, nestled in the quiet and historic neighborhood of the Saint Mexme collegiate church, Hotel Diderot welcomes you into a 15th century limestone mansion, restructured in the 17th and 19th centuries. Hotel Diderot is famous for its marvelous breakfasts, offering a dizzying selection of homemade jams, delicious French breads, brioche and croissants, locally produced fresh goat cheese, honey and fruit juice. Close to the fireplace in autumn, or on the shaded terrace as soon as the warm weather arrives, the first meal of the day must be as unforgettable as the night that preceded it. Gluten-free breakfast available on request. Here you will find peace and tranquility ; you will experience the warm hospitality of a " tourangelle " residence, in the land of Renaissance writer Francois Rabelais, amidst the splendid vineyards of the Val de Loire, the landscape dotted with magnificent castles and unique gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Diderot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diderot Hotel Chinon
Hotel Diderot Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing