We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great jams for breakfast.”
Review of Hotel Diderot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diderot
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Chinon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Stayed 2 nights in Chinon and found the place well to our liking. The breakfast jams come in great variety of mixtures. Stayed in an older part, and the view was OK. Lots of dark oak walls and the stairs had a rope railing going up.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newer rooms if you have accessibility issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joepaulsenngoro2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Good evening JOE,
I think you were traveling with the Rick Steve party and it is always a pleasure to welcome these groups. Glad you liked our place. Some Rick Steve clients come back to visit on their own : maybe we will have the pleasure to see you again ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2017

Wonderful romantic hotel, great breakfast, charming little bar, relaxing patio area. The staff, especially beautiful Francoise, was fantastic. I had lost my wallet in Chinon and the staff went out of their way to help us sort that out. Thanks for everything, Robert and Marianne.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertzahorik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Robert and Marianne,
thank you for this very nice comment, especially on behalf of " beautiful Françoise " ! Hope to see you again in Chinon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Reading the reviews I can see this is a hotel many travelers have fallen in love with. But honestly, I don't understand why. We stayed for three nights, and while not having any real complaints, there was nothing about this establishment that impressed us very much. Some of the staff were very friendly, others not so much. Often we passed the front desk without receiving even a nod from the person seated there. For a small hotel, I found the atmosphere surprisingly impersonal.

Our room (#5) was very clean, and the fabric-covered walls and color co-ordinated draperies were obviously well thought-out. But still, our impression of the room was that it was rather tired - as was all of the hotel. We did appreciate that our windows opened for fresh air. But be aware that rooms on the front of the hotel are subject to noise from the gravel courtyard below. Car doors begin slamming very early in the morning...

The breakfast offerings seemed skimpy to us for the price charged, and the 'bakery fresh' items in our bread basket the first morning were disappointingly dry. That's really inexcusable in France. The following two mornings we breakfasted outside the hotel and dined better for less money.

Friends of ours who have lived in Chinon for years told us the Diderot is the best hotel in town. If true, that's rather sad, because Chinon is charming and deserves a hotel that offers visitors more.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tattnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

We are pleased you appreciated the cleanliness, the exposition and the care taken in the decoration of your room, but we understand why you were not otherwise impressed by your stay when we look at your contributions on TripAdvisor : we cannot honestly compete with the luxury of your usual haunts, ranging from five-star hotels to palaces like the Meurice. Chinon may deserve a 5 star hotel, but that does not disqualify the ones that are doing an excellent job in their category. So seem to think the 478 clients that posted reviews of their stay at the Diderot on TripAdvisor, praising our homey, personal atmosphere, our friendly staff and our local, fresh and artisanal products at breakfast (by the way, we do not serve diner at the Diderot, so the comparison with other outlets is moot). And again, as you always stay at exclusive locations and palace hotels, we wonder if you were right to choose a small family hotel for your visit to Chinon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

First of all, if staying in the summer, remember there is no air conditioning. The rooms are provided with fans. The location is quiet but very convenient to visiting the downtown area on foot. The morning breakfast includes excellent home made jams. The small patio area next to the bar exit is a great place to have a glass of Chinon wine and just relax after a busy day of sightseeing..

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Good morning,
and a geat " thank you " from " the engaging couple" ! We hope to see you again in Chinon, for another stay or just a glass of Chinon wine on the terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

A very pleasant and charming property. We all felt that it was a little formal and perhaps living on reputation. Bathroom was cramped and needs a bit of TLC. Breakfast very good, especially the jams. Overall, ok.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Gérant at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Good morning JON,
we are glad you enjoyed our property, our breakfast and our jams.

I admit we had to do a little research to find what TLC was : it's certainly not Total Lung Capacity and it's probably not Therapeutic Lifestyle Changes. Total Logistic Control? Thin Layer Chromatography?

It must be Tender Loving Care! But this is just what we do! Only we cannot redo all the rooms every year : some have just been redone and some are slated for next year... I can assure you that we do not try to live on our reputation. Come back next year and you will see!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chinon
1 km away
Hotel Agnes Sorel
Hotel Agnes Sorel
#3 of 15 in Chinon
161 reviews
7.5 km away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
517 reviews
27.5 km away
Le Haut des Lys
Le Haut des Lys
#1 of 3 in Villandry
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Le Plantagenet
Hotel Le Plantagenet
#8 of 15 in Chinon
298 reviews
38 km away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
1.2 km away
Ibis Styles Chinon
Ibis Styles Chinon
#6 of 15 in Chinon
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Diderot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diderot

Address: 4 rue de Buffon, 37500, Chinon, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Chinon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chinon
Price Range: €57 - €75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Diderot 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the heart of old Chinon, nestled in the quiet and historic neighborhood of the Saint Mexme collegiate church, Hotel Diderot welcomes you into a 15th century limestone mansion, restructured in the 17th and 19th centuries. Hotel Diderot is famous for its marvelous breakfasts, offering a dizzying selection of homemade jams, delicious French breads, brioche and croissants, locally produced fresh goat cheese, honey and fruit juice. Close to the fireplace in autumn, or on the shaded terrace as soon as the warm weather arrives, the first meal of the day must be as unforgettable as the night that preceded it. Gluten-free breakfast available on request. Here you will find peace and tranquility ; you will experience the warm hospitality of a " tourangelle " residence, in the land of Renaissance writer Francois Rabelais, amidst the splendid vineyards of the Val de Loire, the landscape dotted with magnificent castles and unique gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Diderot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diderot Hotel Chinon
Hotel Diderot Chinon, France - Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing