We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
958 results
Traveller rating
718
179
45
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
718
179
45
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade jamsgoat cheesebreadapple juiceloire valleyjean pierrestar hotelowners and stafflocal producea ground floor roombeautiful hotelsecure parkingglass of winesmall hotellovely gardenmain buildinggarden area
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 958 reviews
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Wonderful romantic hotel, great breakfast, charming little bar, relaxing patio area. The staff, especially beautiful Francoise, was fantastic. I had lost my wallet in Chinon and the staff went out of their way to help us sort that out. Thanks for everything, Robert and Marianne.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertzahorik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Dear Robert and Marianne,
thank you for this very nice comment, especially on behalf of " beautiful Françoise " ! Hope to see you again in Chinon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Reading the reviews I can see this is a hotel many travelers have fallen in love with. But honestly, I don't understand why. We stayed for three nights, and while not having any real complaints, there was nothing about this establishment that impressed us very much. Some of the staff were very friendly, others not so much. Often we passed the front desk without receiving even a nod from the person seated there. For a small hotel, I found the atmosphere surprisingly impersonal.

Our room (#5) was very clean, and the fabric-covered walls and color co-ordinated draperies were obviously well thought-out. But still, our impression of the room was that it was rather tired - as was all of the hotel. We did appreciate that our windows opened for fresh air. But be aware that rooms on the front of the hotel are subject to noise from the gravel courtyard below. Car doors begin slamming very early in the morning...

The breakfast offerings seemed skimpy to us for the price charged, and the 'bakery fresh' items in our bread basket the first morning were disappointingly dry. That's really inexcusable in France. The following two mornings we breakfasted outside the hotel and dined better for less money.

Friends of ours who have lived in Chinon for years told us the Diderot is the best hotel in town. If true, that's rather sad, because Chinon is charming and deserves a hotel that offers visitors more.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tattnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

We are pleased you appreciated the cleanliness, the exposition and the care taken in the decoration of your room, but we understand why you were not otherwise impressed by your stay when we look at your contributions on TripAdvisor : we cannot honestly compete with the luxury of your usual haunts, ranging from five-star hotels to palaces like the Meurice. Chinon may deserve a 5 star hotel, but that does not disqualify the ones that are doing an excellent job in their category. So seem to think the 478 clients that posted reviews of their stay at the Diderot on TripAdvisor, praising our homey, personal atmosphere, our friendly staff and our local, fresh and artisanal products at breakfast (by the way, we do not serve diner at the Diderot, so the comparison with other outlets is moot). And again, as you always stay at exclusive locations and palace hotels, we wonder if you were right to choose a small family hotel for your visit to Chinon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

First of all, if staying in the summer, remember there is no air conditioning. The rooms are provided with fans. The location is quiet but very convenient to visiting the downtown area on foot. The morning breakfast includes excellent home made jams. The small patio area next to the bar exit is a great place to have a glass of Chinon wine and just relax after a busy day of sightseeing..

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dalton_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Good morning,
and a geat " thank you " from " the engaging couple" ! We hope to see you again in Chinon, for another stay or just a glass of Chinon wine on the terrace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

A very pleasant and charming property. We all felt that it was a little formal and perhaps living on reputation. Bathroom was cramped and needs a bit of TLC. Breakfast very good, especially the jams. Overall, ok.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Gérant at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Good morning JON,
we are glad you enjoyed our property, our breakfast and our jams.

I admit we had to do a little research to find what TLC was : it's certainly not Total Lung Capacity and it's probably not Therapeutic Lifestyle Changes. Total Logistic Control? Thin Layer Chromatography?

It must be Tender Loving Care! But this is just what we do! Only we cannot redo all the rooms every year : some have just been redone and some are slated for next year... I can assure you that we do not try to live on our reputation. Come back next year and you will see!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

The hotel had been recommended to us by a friend who recently stayed there and we were certainly not disappointed. Perfectly located for our short stop in Chinon, it was a real treat to stay in such a beautiful setting. We had stayed in a number of 2 star hotels over the past week and the Hotel Diderot was by far the prettiest and the most relaxing. The room on the ground floor was ideal for our parents, both were beautifully decorated with views over the vegetation in the garden(the named slates for each tree or plant were a great idea). The owners were very welcoming, efficient and organised. Breakfast was perfect in the lovely dining-room with its rustic furniture and cupboard full of delicious home made jams. Personally, I would give the people, the food and the setting more than 2 stars and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Excellent access for wheelchair
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pascale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoteldiderot, Propriétaire at Hotel Diderot, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Dear PASCALE,
thank you for taking the time to report on your stay in such gracious terms.

Everyone here - staff and owners - appreciates this positive feedback. Hope to see you again on your next French trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews