We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (390)
Filter reviews
390 results
Traveller rating
195
161
29
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
195
161
29
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold buildingbeautiful townfrench hotelthierryloire
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 390 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2015

This is the oldest auberge in Blois, conveniently located near the Château. We stayed in the Madame de Sévigné room on the second floor, a spacious room capable of accommodating 3 or 4 adults or a family of 4, with a view of the river and a large bathroom with stall shower (no tub). An ample breakfast was offered in the first floor dining room. Street parking available in the street outside the auberge or nearby public "pay and display" lot.

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Drew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Not easy finding twin rooms in France (or in the UK sometimes). But this is lovely, the room "Madame de Sevigne" is very spacious with two lovely double beds just right for adult daughter and me. We stayed four nights. Room is on 1st floor so the window and its shutters open to a view of the Loire, above its levee banks. Quiet too and only 10 mins walk into busier part of Blois for the market & shops One or two restaurants nearby but more choice in centre. Of course you can eat at the restaurant within this Auberge and the food is very good but sadly was a bit too sophisticated for my daughter. However the breakfast suited us both with charcuterie, fromage, fruit, cereals, breads, wide choice for such a small place. Parking - none with the hotel but a fair few right outside. We found it best to return to the hotel around 5 pm when parking places would be easier to find. The room is beautifully furnished and panelled and with a bit of imagination you could believe you were in the time of the three muskeeteers, but with the modern convenience of an ensuite. We were there in July but could leave window open, shutters closed, without street noise for cool night air. And fan was provided too. And it's still good, on Jan 24th 2015 , it was recommended in the Telegraph by Anthony Peregrine, their french expert, as a three night stay to explore the chateaux of Amboise, Chambord, Chenonceau and Blois itself. And he suggested Bouree for Champignons Laude growing mushrooms in vast subterranean village. Sounds good on a hot day, instead we went to swim in the baignade naturelle at Mont Pres Chambord. Big outdoor pool, with water cleaned naturally by reedbeds. Lots of families picnicing on the grass under the trees around the edges. It is not a naturist site, thank goodness. Blois Tourist Office has details of how to find it. If you go this Auberge, give my best wishes to Thierry.

Room Tip: Madame Sevigne is the one.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank dreamer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2015

Met friends from America here for a long weekend to visit the Loire. I travelled via Orly airport and after fraught, delayed, train journeys, received a warm welcome from Thierry and enjoyed a fantastic evening meal that wiped out all my frustrations. The Auberge is in a really convenient spot for getting in and out of Blois, with a restaurant that has a well deserved reputation. The rooms are French, this is not a Novotel! I was in the attic in the Pigeonnerie with a view over the river, but it had everything I needed, including Wi-Fi, and the plumbing worked. Breakfast is more than worthwhile and sets you up for the day. Charming hospitality and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2014

My husband and I stayed in this auberge in November 2014. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit. We stayed in the largest room which is called Mme de Sévigné. It was a very spacious room with a very modern bathroom. We were very comfortable, especially when we learned how to close the shutters to shut out the light from the front of the hotel.

We stayed here because we wanted a true French country experience and we were surely not disappointed. This is the oldest auberge in Blois and it is absolutely charming. It is not a luxury hotel so don't expect that type of an experience.

The guys at the front desk were so friendly and helpful. The guy that checked us in surprised me by also poking his head out of the kitchen after dinner - he is the chef as well! If you stay here (or even if you don't stay here) you absolutely must eat dinner at this auberge. This was the best food we had in France and you can tell that the food preparation for dinner is their craft and lovingly prepared.

I am planning to return to the Loire Valley next September and I will be making reservations at this very auberge.

Thank you so much for your kind hospitality and just a delightful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madeline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2014

This is the perfect small hotel for a visit to the Loire Valley. Thierry was extremely hospitable and helpful, the location is excellent, parking is convenient, and the little restaurant is excellent. In checking the rates at other places in Blois, we found Cote Loire to be very competitive, but the excellent restaurant was a total surprise. We had rooms on the top floor with a great view of the river. This is not an enormous, major chain hotel, and it may not appeal to guests who want business centers, valet parking, and exercise facilities; however, it is spotlessly clean, quaint, comfortable, convenient, and charming.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room on the upper floors with a view of the Loire. There is no elevator, so there will be some stairs to climb. This place is in demand, so make reservations early.
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rosedhu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews