We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retro styled, yet typical Burgundy Hotel-Restaurant”
Review of Hotel de la Poste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de la Poste
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saulieu
Reviewed 5 August 2017

Free parking space inside the hotel is already a nice to have. Next comes the rooms which are spacy with large bathrooms. Might want to close the windows at night as you are located next to the old "Nationale 6" where trucks do drive around at night.

The restaurant is the true gem of this place imo (photo included). A totally vintage like room with attention to detail. However what you eat is Burgundy and all wines are selected from the Burgundy region for everyones budget. The friendly service will help you if you ask politely.

Prices are more than correct for what you get.

Room Tip: Close the windows at night to have a better rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nectaria_Coutayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2017 via mobile

We really like this hotel, it is good value, interesting and friendly. This was our third visit and we shall go again. Our restaurant meal whilst reasonably priced was somewhat disappointing. Both of our meat dishes (lamb and beef steak) suffered by the meat not being tender (nothing to do with the length of time being cooked). We left most of it and were surprised that this wasn't noticed by the waiter, we could have sent it back I guess but this was the first disappointment and they are very nice. In retrospect we should have said something!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Dafydd56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

We had three nights here. It's really nice on some levels, i.e. very clean, nice pillows and bed, good amenities, but a bit poor on others - no curtain in the shower, very poor wi-fi, tired looking.

We had a room which overlooked the road and there are lorries running all night so it was a little noisy. There is a double glazing of sorts, but it doesn't cut out all the noise, and having a window open at night is impossible. This didn't bother us at all, and we slept well, but I can imagine it wouldn't please everyone.

The staff were really nice and friendly and we ate in the restaurant one evening. The food was really good and nicely presented, but a bit strange. I had a starter that consisted of two poached eggs in a mint soup - stone cold!!

Fine for a stay if you are on a budget and need to base yourself in the area.

Room Tip: Not near the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CarrieB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Charm is fine if the hotel kept the standards consistent. I had personable greeting and chat then no-one was around. The rooms clean but dark and creaking. The bathroom was dreaded because it was not modern or useless.
With the vain hope that a 2nd or 3rd visit would make it better, I returned. Twas all the same; dark, forbidding, creaking ancient- smelling corridors. Thankfully I was and am not disabled.
Wifi poor to bad. Parking super!

Room Tip: Stay here if you must. They must give it an uplift. Don't sleep roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scene2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Our stay here last night could have been written by the previous reviewer, as nothing appears to have changed! The outside of the building desperately needs a lick of paint, and the orange corridor walls and purple bathrooms could do with moving out of the 1970s. The dining room however takes you back to the 1930s with it's dark wood floor, ceiling, walls, tables, chairs, display cabinets.....if it wasn't for the silver cutlery then we'd have struggled to see. Having said that, the room was clean and comfortable, if a little dated (great dark wood furniture again...) and there was free parking and wifi. Breakfast was served at the table, basically fruit juice, coffee and croissants/ breads with a couple of jams. Fairly basic but fresh and enjoyable, although I missed the ubiquitous ham, cheese and hard boiled eggs. The guy running the place, and the only other chap we saw during the entire stay, were friendly and helpful. Dinner is reviewed separately as that was another interesting experience! So it was different, quite acceptable, but nothing spectacular. Unless you like dark wood, orange and purple....

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saulieu
0.1 km away
Le Relais Bernard Loiseau
0.1 km away
Hostellerie de la Tour d'Auxois
19.4 km away
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
Hotel Golf Chateau de Chailly
#1 of 1 in Chailly-sur-Armancon
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 km away
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
Hotel de la Cote d'Or
#2 of 4 in Semur-en-Auxois
139 reviews
19.6 km away
Ici M'aime
Ici M'aime
#1 of 1 in Rouvray
182 reviews
24.5 km away
Hostellerie d'Aussois
Hostellerie d'Aussois
#1 of 4 in Semur-en-Auxois
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Poste

Address: 1 rue Grillot, 21210 Saulieu, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Saulieu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Saulieu
Price Range: €66 - €68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Poste 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel de la Poste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing