We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
25
87
37
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
87
37
16
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Charm is fine if the hotel kept the standards consistent. I had personable greeting and chat then no-one was around. The rooms clean but dark and creaking. The bathroom was dreaded because it was not modern or useless.
With the vain hope that a 2nd or 3rd visit would make it better, I returned. Twas all the same; dark, forbidding, creaking ancient- smelling corridors. Thankfully I was and am not disabled.
Wifi poor to bad. Parking super!

Room Tip: Stay here if you must. They must give it an uplift. Don't sleep roadside.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Scene2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

Our stay here last night could have been written by the previous reviewer, as nothing appears to have changed! The outside of the building desperately needs a lick of paint, and the orange corridor walls and purple bathrooms could do with moving out of the 1970s. The dining room however takes you back to the 1930s with it's dark wood floor, ceiling, walls, tables, chairs, display cabinets.....if it wasn't for the silver cutlery then we'd have struggled to see. Having said that, the room was clean and comfortable, if a little dated (great dark wood furniture again...) and there was free parking and wifi. Breakfast was served at the table, basically fruit juice, coffee and croissants/ breads with a couple of jams. Fairly basic but fresh and enjoyable, although I missed the ubiquitous ham, cheese and hard boiled eggs. The guy running the place, and the only other chap we saw during the entire stay, were friendly and helpful. Dinner is reviewed separately as that was another interesting experience! So it was different, quite acceptable, but nothing spectacular. Unless you like dark wood, orange and purple....

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy-S60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

For some reason, we had made a note a couple of years ago to use Saulieu for an overnight stay at some future time. So we did. To be honest, I'm not sure why. Apart from its nominal historical interest as a stop-off on the Paris-Lyon route, there's not much to see or do. We failed to find a single place to eat out.

Anyway, La Poste was not our first choice but turned out not so bad. The room was large, old furniture (large wooden beds) but basically clean and comfortable. Everything was in working order. It could have done with a spot of decoration perhaps, but it seemed as though the corridors had recently been done (interesting, bright colours & modern art on the walls; ostensibly a clash with the history of the building, but it worked for me) so perhaps they're planning it.
As an aside, it has its own car park, locked at night.

Restaurant is very stylish (in what seemed to me to be essentially pre-war decor theme, and again quite old tables & chairs), but not cheap. Our evening meal seemed OK to me (but I'm no gourmet).

Breakfast is also served in the restaurant which feels odd, because the restaurant is definitely desgined for the evening. It's all served at the table, not a buffet. Again, it was OK, but nothing to write home about.

At the time, I had the impression this place had mixed reviews, hence it not being our first choice. But its OK, for a stopover at least. I don't think it represents outstanding value for money, but it was..... OK. Just that. Perfectly acceptable, nothing to wax lyrical about, nothing to critcise too harshly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews