We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Hotel Le Nautilus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Le Nautilus
Ranked #2 of 81 Hotels in Saint-Malo
Certificate of Excellence
Shetland Islands. UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Just returned from a 4 night stay at Hotel Le Nautilus, Very friendly owners made us very welcome and the mother was a gem. Hotel spotlessly clean and nicely decorated, Nice breakfast with their own freshly baked bread. Stored our bicycles f.o.c. in garage. Would go bac k tomorrow
Allan and Alexis,
Shetland

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allanalexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    497
    144
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
109
393
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Perky and efficient room. Friendly, welcoming, and helpful staff. Nice breakfast. Good location on a quiet street ... You won't have a view from your room but you're 100 meters from the ramparts and beach access. A great value!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We arived in St Malo on a windy wet Sunday. Our priority was secure parking as our car was packed full of personal belongings. Having viewed several other hotels, none of which was suitable or to our liking.

On arrival at Le Nautilus we were impressed by the bright decor and the nautical theme. W explained that we required a garage for the car. The owner told us that he had two motorcycles in the garage and no space for a car but we could store our posessions in the garage. Very helpful indeed.

We found the room to be comfortable, decorated to a high standard and fresh, no odours. We had a few drinks in the bar and were engaged in conversation by the owners. Breakfast the following morning was served promptly.

W would have no hesitation in visiting Le Nautilus in future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Although this is only a 2 star hotel it has everything you need. It's spotlessly clean, very comfortable & in one of the best locations in St Malo i.e. within the walls but away from the early morning traffic noise, which we have experienced in other hotels in St Malo. The Proprietors could not be more helpful, supplying us with maps & recommendations for restaurants etc. (both of the restaurants they recommended were superb). The breakfast was great (not cheap at 6.90 Euros, but comparable in price with other options in the centre of St Malo). We are hoping to visit St Malo again before too long & will definitely stay at Le Nautilus again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This was the first time that I and my partner had visited and stayed at St Malo. Now we wonder why we waited so long before going to this extraordinary town. If you love everchanging vistas of sea and beaches this is the place for you. I chose the hotel after reading the good reviews on this site and I can confirm that all the excellent comments are true. Very friendly and helpful hosts, impeccable decor and the bright colours inside the hotel are warm and pleasing. Breakfasts were delicious with home made brown bread, french bread, croissants, yoghurts, jams, soft cheese, cakes and for me there were lots of varieties of green tea....I booked a queen sized bed which meant that our room was a little larger, I think. It is a small hotel with a lot of character and good value. Beds are also very comfortable with latex mattresses ..............
Eating within St Malo is expensive but we ate a couple of times at the Amoricaine, which had a three course set menu for 12 and 16 euros - very good quality food. There is not much food for vegetarians in the town but the omelettes , galettes and crepes are varied. The walk to Dinard is beautiful and interesting [ about 3 hours] and you can get the boat back, which takes 10 minutes. We also went to Dinan, which is an extraordinary town. You can go by boat up the Rance [ 30 euros and nearly three hours] or catch the No 10 bus which is comfortable and inexpensive and takes an hour. Go down to the river by the steps and zig zag path and come up via the 14th century cobbled road . We are looking forward to returning and seeing more.

Room Tip: Ask for a queen or king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Malo hotels
0.5 km away
Quic en Groigne
Quic en Groigne
#1 of 81 in Saint-Malo
492 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,665 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 81 in Saint-Malo
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
La Villefromoy
La Villefromoy
#3 of 81 in Saint-Malo
709 reviews
1.5 km away
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
MERCURE Saint Malo Balmoral
#11 of 81 in Saint-Malo
848 reviews
3.1 km away
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
Kyriad Prestige Saint Malo
#8 of 81 in Saint-Malo
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Nautilus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Nautilus

Property: Hotel Le Nautilus
Address: 9 rue de la Corne de Cerf, 35400, Saint-Malo, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Saint-Malo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Saint-Malo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Saint-Malo
#3 Best Value Hotel in Saint-Malo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Le Nautilus 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the old town close to the sprawling beaches, you will find the Nautilus cherished haven of the buccaneers of St Malo, a resting place before returning to sea. Open all the year, the Nautilus, 2 stars hotel, offers 15 welldecorated non smoking rooms with ensuite facilities and a private bar. In this classified historical building, you will appreciate the warm welcome of the Nautilus crew, every passenger can expect a faultless service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Nautilus Hotel
Le Nautilus Saint Malo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing