We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campsite and great holiday”
Review of Chateau des Ormes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rennes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chateau des Ormes
Hamilton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great campsite and great holiday”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This campsite is excellent. I can't think of anything it didn't have. We all enjoyed the holiday, our teenagers especially.

We went with Canvas holidays who were great. Our caravan was very clean and of a very high standard. It had three bedrooms and decking - and a dishwasher! The pitch was lovely and big, too.

The teen activities (three time a day some days) provided by Canvas were great, our only regret was that the kids didn't use them right from the beginning. Both Canvas and the campsite put activites on, and both were of a high standard. Canvas also provided Family Extra activities.

The couriers couldn't have done more to ensure that we had a great holiday. We and others we spoke to, noted that we'd never had such good service from a company before, or seen so many couriers around. We were asked every day whether everything was ok. They seemed to 'go the extra mile' every time!

If you have teenagers then this site can't be beaten, the adventure course is excellent value (lasts for about 2 1/2 hours), there were quite a few discos on, lots of sports activites, and the rep shows were great. (Again the reps did very well).

However I should also say, that although the site is large and lively, it is very well run. From where we were on site we had a relaxing and peaceful holiday - the campsite does a great job of being quiet if you want - the adults had a very peaceful time, while the kids went to the activites. You can have both on this site. If you like walking or cycling then this site is also ideal - there are lakes and a nature reserve on site. The site is kept to a high standard, very clean and tidy.

This was our fifth time on this site - only our first with Canvas, and if we come back to France, it would be to here and with Canvas.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robertamacHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    28
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
77
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Stayed at Chateau DES ormes in early July. Travelled with LD Lines, recommend the fast craft not the ferry.
On arrival we had a very easy check-in and were shown to our 3 bedroom caravan by a friendly, helpful rep on a bicycle!
The caravan was clean and well presented. Had all the basics like kettle, microwave, full gas cooker and hob etc. Only thing missing really was a tv, not a problem for us but maybe for family with young children. There were sun loungers on the outside lawned area and table with chairs and parasol on the decking.
On exploring the site we found it covered a very large area, with lake, woods, golf course several swimming pools, shop, cafe, bars etc. There was something for everyone and with the lovely weather we had it was an ideal holiday location. The whole site was clean and tidy, well laid out and very pleasant to walk around.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank love-the-sun59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Fantastic site, Great Pitch in the Palm Beach (PB) part of the site. Zip wire is a must.. food is okay Drinks reasonable, Wave pool isn't for babies! Caravan clean on arrival Booking and reservation spot on as ever with FF holidays.

Only down side was we ran out of gas one afternoon and it wasn'y changed till the following morning after a call to FF head office. So check you have enough gas in advance.

Happy camping!

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanderers1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
French_Freedom1, Tour operator partner at Chateau des Ormes, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Thank you for the positive feedback of your recent french Freedom Holidays. I'm sorry to hear that you ran out of gas during your stay, I'm sure you will be pleased to learn that Chateau des Ormes along with several of our other campsites are installing mains gas supplies to all our accommodation units. So far almost three quarters of our units are completed and it is anticipated that over the closed season the remainder will be done.

Once again thank for your comments which are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I have never been on one of these mobile homes holiday before so I didn’t know really what to expect.

I booked through French Freedom as I had been recommended them through a friend who had previously used them and spoke very highly of them.

I must say the service received from French freedom was brilliant. The whole booking process was simple and pain free, and I found them much cheaper than other companies.

When we arrived on site we were greeted by a friendly courier who looked after us all week. We asked for a BBQ and he brought one back right away. The caravan was spacious and clean and had been well looked after.

The site on a whole was great. The kids spent hours in the swimming pool and my eldest daughter enjoyed the tree top adventure park(so much so that she had to go on it again!). There were so many activities going on that my children where never bored. The site offers a wide range of activities such as horse riding and loads of different sports activities.

I would highly recommend Chateau des Ormes as a campsite. There is entertainment at night and always things going on in the day for everyone to enjoy. Chateau des Ormes is a lovely campsite and well looked after.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
French_Freedom1, tour operator partner at Chateau des Ormes, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your French Freedom experience. We look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

booked with keycamp middle of may for a 30th may 4 night stay great price for half term and i did look at all the companys operating here. Had listened/read lots of reviews both on trip advisor/ family/friends, all mixed but mainly on a positive side. Live in jersey so booked supersaver with condor to st malo on the monday 30th 0910 then walked to the train station got the train direct to dol 3.50 euros onway as both children travel free. Taxi from dol to campsite 14.00 euros ( make sure you take taxi number if planing this way as no taxi waiting but only took 5 mins (0299809822) . So much to write about this camp site all positive ... mobile home .. space around the pitch was great .. total joy.. felt that i had been away on holiday boys loved it .. both age 11 .. played football .. met new friends .. swimming pool outdoors and indoors ,, felt safe ,, everything worked in the mobile home and keycamp staff were there when we needed them twice once to mend the oven door ( was done within a hour of reporting it ) ..and to bring us extra blankets. The chateau staff on the activity club , in the shop and life guards around the pool , bar staff were all great . If you like walking or just strolling this is ideal . Yes the supermarket is a little expensive but its the euro and you just get on with it , nearby are the large supermarkets if you bring your car . But the basics are there and thats all you need ... We will be back for another long weekend .My only comment is about the sleep quality it was COLD at night so make sure you got extra blankets.

Room Tip: we stayed V13 back of the site nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pihpih4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rennes
Les Ormes, Domaine & Resort
#1 of 5 in Dol-de-Bretagne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Parcheminerie Toussaints
Balthazar Hotel and Spa MGallery Rennes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chambres d'hotes Les Sageais
#1 of 2 in Baguer-Morvan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
L'Oisette
#1 of 2 in Epiniac
5.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
Best Western Plus Hotel Isidore
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jacques-de-la-Lande
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Ormes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Ormes

Property: Chateau des Ormes
Address: Domaine des Ormes Epiniac, 35120, Rennes, France
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Rennes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Rennes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Ormes Hotel Rennes
Chateau Des Ormes Rennes
Chateau Ormes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing