We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a minimalist and relaxing seaside break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Thalassa Dinard
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Dinard
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Reminded me of Seaham Hall near Durham(!)

Visited with wife & 17 yo daughter for couple of days to go with a tasty seafood weekend.
Very welcoming atmosphere - classic French sort of medicalist treatments.
- very well equipped sea water pools with jets, machines etc.
- easy 20min walk into town
- reasonably good buffet breakfast - but a little bit down on budget - except for the oysters!
- nice quiet rooms
- just enough car parking
- spacious and great views of the sea
- slight smell of vinegar after cleaning - the sort of "not quite properly laundered" smell that some French hotels seem to like (I don't!)

Room Tip: Garden view was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1114-gm, Directeur général at Novotel Thalassa Dinard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

thank you for your comments
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our 2016 tour of Normandy and Brittany. Pretty much everything you would expect from a decent Novotel, no big surprises either way.
We stayed at the end of August just as the holiday season was winding down.

The hotel was not noticeably busy, except at breakfast. Plenty of choice and good quality food (including oysters for breakfast!), but arrive later as they may start running out of some things. Coffee is available from two machines, but queues always 4 or 5 deep, they need two more machines.

Very satisfied with our room, we had a standard garden view with an extra bed for our 13 year old. We were not charged extra for this, which made a nice change. Room was clean and spacious with comfortable beds. Wardrobes a bit weird, plus the seal around the shower leaked onto the bathroom floor.

Parking is free, but is clearly used by non residents to access the beach so the car park gets very congested.

There is an indoor pool, but it is very much part of the health spa and is heavily regulated (swimming caps, no kids etc)

Plenty of restaurants in nearby Saint Enogat, 10 minutes walk away. La Brasserie des Bains was superb (see review).
Overall, a sound if choice for visiting the beautiful coastal resort of Dinard.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1114-gm, Directeur général at Novotel Thalassa Dinard, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2016

thank your for your comments
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2016

The title of this famous movie came into my mind when I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. I booked a room through Booking.com. Terrible mistake! Nobody informed me that this is a sanatorium and not a normal hotel. A combination of rural furniture and hospital atmosphere. Far from a 4 stars hotel confort. Finally, I was put in the situation to be refused at the bar because I stayed at a table 2 meters from the bar terrace, fully occupied. The name of bar responsible was Karine Martin. Staff very arrogant. And all this for more than 170 EURO/night. It was my last time using a hotel in ACCOR network. Conclusion: avoid Novotel Thalassa Hotel in Dinard, France. You can use it only if you need a treatment.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel in Saint Malo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tiberiu85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1114-gm, Directeur général at Novotel Thalassa Dinard, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

sorry for reading our hotel was not ok for you
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

The view from the Novotel Dinard across to St Malo and the English Channel is magnificent. We enjoyed a fabulous pre dinner drink and meal in the restaurant and ended the evening with a spectacular sunset. We thoroughly enjoyed our time here.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1114-gm, Directeur général at Novotel Thalassa Dinard, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

thank you so much for your comments
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

As you might expect, being our fourth visit in four years, we like it here.

It's a beautiful hotel with stunning views over the bay to St Malo, directly above a lovely sandy beach. We have always found the staff cheerful, friendly and very helpful.

The hotel comprises a main building where the rooms have sea views and a newer wing with views over the garden or the next door chateau: ‘Résidence Les Villas la Falaise’. We always choose the newer wing where the rooms are spacious and airy and contain a useful kitchenette; we’ve always found the rooms very quiet. Those on the upper floors, chateau side, have glimpses of sea views and benefit from nice sunsets. Our room did not have air conditioning and did get hot when the temperature went above 30 degrees Celsius, but this is rare in Brittany. The rooms do have double doors onto a balcony and opening these keeps the room cool.

We have only eaten breakfast at the hotel, preferring to eat our evening meals at the plentiful local restaurants, but breakfast (a very comprehensive buffet of hot and cold food) is magnificent, especially when taken on the terrace overlooking the sea.

The hotel is more properly in St Enogat than Dinard and a walk into Dinard centre takes 15-20 minutes down quiet streets (or a 5 minute drive with a large free car park in the centre - Rue Raphaël Veïl, behind the market). Incidentally, parking is free at the hotel, though the car park can get busy on some days which may entail parking in the street outside: also free and very quiet.

We always arrive at the hotel with great happiness and depart with great sadness, but we’ll be back next year.

Room Tip: For rooms with a garden view, ask for an upper floor on the chateau side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Likeahurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h1114-gm, Directeur général at Novotel Thalassa Dinard, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

thank you so much for your king comments
see you soon
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dinard
1.5 km away
Royal Emeraude Dinard - MGallery Collection
1.9 km away
Castelbrac
Castelbrac
#1 of 22 in Dinard
392 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
Hotel Le Nouveau Monde
#4 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel
4.3 km away
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
Hotel Oceania Saint Malo
#6 of 82 in Saint-Malo
1,806 reviews
5.9 km away
Le Grand Hotel des Thermes Marins de St-Malo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Thalassa Dinard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Thalassa Dinard

Address: 1 avenue du Chateau Hebert, 35800 Dinard, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Brittany > Ille-et-Vilaine > Dinard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dinard
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dinard
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dinard
#4 Family Hotel in Dinard
#7 Romantic Hotel in Dinard
Price Range: €128 - €247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Thalassa Dinard 4*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly connected to the thalassotherapy centre, the Novotel Thalassa Dinard is a 3 star hotel in a stunning location, featuring comfortable and spacious rooms with sea views. During your thalasso break in Brittany, 12 km from Saint Malo, try our restaurants, La Goelette, serving health-conscious cuisine, and La Fregate, serving French cuisine. The centre offers a range of fitness and well-being treatments with a sauna, hammam and indoor heated swimming pool. Private undercover parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Thalassa Dinard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Dinard
Dinard Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing