We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$126
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/05/21
Expedia.com
US$149
US$117
View deal
SAVE US$32
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
Hotels.com
US$149
US$117
View deal
SAVE US$32
Free cancellation until 22/05/21
PricelineUS$126
FindHotelUS$149
eDreamsUS$126
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
127
122
23
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
127
122
23
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the square ferris wheel double glazing restaurant downstairs hotel centrally located nice hotel would stay again nice breakfast scrambled eggs noise france tram
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2020

It was a great hotel and located in the city centre. Staff were lovely and polite and the room was clean. Breakfast was the typical breakfast for a hotel but was still delicious.
The only downside is the shower wasn’t great. I had to turn off the water because the water was starting to rise and I was worried I might flood the bathroom. I think the plug hole needs to be fixed. Also I could hear the doors from other rooms on my floor
Overall a nice hotel for a 2night stay

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Companion797180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas J, Gérant at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Dear Guest.
Thank you so much for this rating. We value your feedback, and it is great to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2020

We only spent one night in Clermont-Ferrand, but we enjoyed our time at the Hotel Le Lion. The location is wonderful -right in the middle of Place de Jaude, the main square. Our room faced the square, so we were able to enjoy the lights of the ferris wheel. It was easy to park at the public park for the square. We had a nice breakfast in the restaurant downstairs.
Only drawbacks was that you needed to climb stairs to get to the room, which was not easy with heavy suitcases and two people with recent back surgeries. The staff did help, however.Also, the floor right outside our room had a hole in it that was covered by a carpet. I'm afraid that could pose a problem at some point in time.
Would we stay here again? Absolutely!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank joannef213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas J, Gérant at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Dear Guest.
Thank you so much for this rating. We value your feedback, and it is great to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2020 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. Pretty traditional. Great location in the main square of the city. Out room was clean and beds comfortable. The shower was fantastic. Breakfast was fine - nice fresh bread. Pastries could be better for France! Scrambled egg was cold. Staff were very friendly. I think our room was a little over priced but I guess you are paying for the location - I would stay again if I got a better deal.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas J, Gérant at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Dear client,

Thank you for having dedicated a few minutes of your time to express us your opinion on our establishment, we are happy that you appreciated your stay to the Hotel Hotel The Lion.

Hoping to receive you during a next stay in Auvergne.

The reception desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2019 via mobile

Hotel centrally located on the large Pl de Jaune. No parking on site but public underground parking very close, although not suitable for large or sports cars! Tram stops also right in front of the hotel.
We had a modern comfortable room overlooking the square and the double glazing blocked noise well so we were not disturbed.
Easy walk to all parts of the city for food, drink and entertainment.
Bar and restaurant were nicely busy even on a Sunday night.
We would stay again

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jojobfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas J, Gérant at Hotel Le Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2020

Dear customer,

We are delighted that you are seduced at the level of the comfort in our rooms.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you during your next stay in Clermont-Ferrand.
Faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2019

I happened to goto this hotel to visit a friend. Found this hotel to be very comfortable for a short stay and add to the location and the restaurant in the ground floor. This is an ideal hotel for a short stay in Clermont-Ferrand.

Room tip: Top floors offer puy-de dome view.
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arvind Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews