We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incroyable 5*”
Review of L'Essentiel

L'Essentiel
Ranked #11 of 234 Restaurants in Perigueux
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is a fabulous restaurant with an imaginative menu, impeccable service, super wine and above all is absolutely delicious.
My girlfriend is raving about it... and so am I!

Date of visit: August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

what a nice and cosy place with very friendly service and outstanding food. We've been there three times and always anjoyed the stay at L'Essentiel a lot.

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ulrike70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Seated on the quiet terrace, my meal started with a refreshing trilogy of tomatoes as an amouse bouche. The girolles in a delicate pastry was accompanied by a perfect piece of hot foie gras. The veal with girolles & truffle potato were a perfect match, and I ended my meal with a raspberry 'clafooutis'. A delicious meal.

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Condor1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We have been coming here for 5 years so our special meal yesterday was no 'flash in the pan'.
The choice at lunch included several good wines by the glass [try the honeyed Monbazillac]. Quite the most marvellous food from the tomato amuse bouche, through exquisitely prepared foie gras, to delicate veal or elegant sea bream to finish with the glorious chocolate and hazelnut cracknel cylinder topped with coffee and further enhanced with a tray of dainty chocolates, preserved orange peel and tiny Bordeaux pastries. The quantity served was judged perfectly, but when I finished I wished I could start all over again! Service was, as ever, correct and friendly.
A wonderful dining experience and well worth the bill!

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The restaurant has not much of view, rather small dining rooms linked together.. can get a little claustrophobic when the dinner gets too long and the rooms gets a little warm...

Must say that all the dishes was created with much passion as they all tasted excellent, with good quality and fresh ingredients, subtle sauces and seasonings.. a treat to your palette.

The only setback is that most dishes are presented in similar ways.... with some foam at the top, cream based sauce... though with some variation in acidity, spices and herbs.., some veges or roots beneath the main ingredient in a tower styled..... so u see.. there is no surprise elements in the dishes... and you will say... not foam again ! but honestly , they tasted great though they looked very much the same... But we started to get bored and fiddlish as the wait was rather long, the room gets warmer for some reaons, and there is nothing much to look around in the small room. So even with such good tasting dish.... u don't quite feel excited or relaxed.. Will probably give it another chance when i revisit periguex... perhaps to sit outdoor !
Hopefully the chef would have improved its presentation on the dishes to kill some boredom....

Date of visit: June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KBWU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Essentiel also viewed

 
Perigueux, Dordogne
 

Been to L'Essentiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing