We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
15
63
20
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
63
20
6
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Hotel Le Bourbon is located in the centre of Pau and only a five-minute walk away from views of the beautiful Pyrenees. The hotel is accessed via a small entrance that could be easily missed if you weren’t looking for it. My room was clean and comfortable and the continental breakfast was good.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Right in the middle of town so easy to get to all the sights and restaurants. Finding it when driving is a nightmare as my satnav (google maps on my phone so should be up to date) didn't realise it's in a pedestrianised area so you can''t drive to the door. You have to park in the car park under the square and walk.

The reception is on the first floor and the street entrance is unpreposessing.

Our room was on the fourth floor. The view over the square was great. The room itself was rather tired, the bathroom needs updating and the toilet was a separate and tiny room.

The cost for the night was reasonable but I have stayed in better appointed 2 star hotels.

The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AQuinsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

The road system of Pau, like many other cities, can be a problem. Finding Parking Clemenceau had us circling several times but once we got in life became simple. A kind English lady took pity and guided us to the appropriate exit for Hotel Le Bourbon. Yes the entrance does lie between a corner cafe and a shop - but then why not? The receptionist was friendly and welcoming. Our rooms overlooked the Place George Clemenceau with its fountains, wide spaces, mixed architecture and bustle of the city of Pau. Shielded from the afternoon sun our rooms were most adequate with a sizeable bed, TV,, wifi, bathroom with tub and shower, Not huge but good for a nights stay.

We wandered the town with delight, old narrow lanes, modern shopping malls, plentiful cafes and bars. Churches, museums, parks and the backdrop of the Pyrenees.

Good nights sleep with no sound from the Place or other hotel guests. Breakfast in a charming little room overlooking the Place was mixed continental - meats, cheese, yogurts, breads, croissants, confiture, etc coffee, hot chocolate, fruit juice - all fresh and good plain fare.

If you want a no frills room in central Pau at a reasonable price this is the place

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Trausse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016

THE ROOM: We had a pleasant surprise at our arrival, as we had booked a double room and we were given one for three persons. Despite this, we were pretty disappointed with the actual state of the bedroom: it had a very outdated feeling (windows that don't close well, mushy smell that comes from either the carpet or the curtains...). The light of the room was kind of gloomy at night, with only the two bedside lamps and then a foot lamp across the bed near the desk. The weirdest was the fact that the toilet was separated from the bathroom, and was located inside what looked like a closet (to wash your hands you had to exit the toilet and go to the bathroom). The shower had a very low water pressure. Both the room and the bathroom were decently clean. The best of the bedroom was the view from it, as we could see the gorgeous square in front of it. It wasn't noisy the night of our stay. The wifi signal at our room was okay, but we had requested for a room with good wifi before our arrival.

THE BULDING: Very outdated, like the bedroom. When you arrive you have to go up some stairs, which wouldn't be convenient for somebody in a wheelchair, and can be uncomfortable if you carry heavy luggage too. The elevator is very small, but this is common in French hotels located in old buildings. The reception is at the first floor, not accessible from the street, even if it's well indicated. The whole building front looks really decadent from the street. The hotel for sure has seen better days.

STAFF: I wouldn't say they're extremely welcoming. We didn't have any problem with them, even if we didn't communicate much either as we don't speak French and they didn't understand English, at least not the two persons we interacted with (who I believe were the hotel owners). They gave a very cold impression, but maybe it was because we didn't speak the language.

LOCATION: Without a doubt the best of the hotel. Close to the castle and historic part of Pau, and with a lot of stores, cafeterias and restaurants around. The main square can be a bit noisy at night, but nothing major the day we stayed.

OTHERS:
- There's a public parking right in front of the hotel, which we used. I can't remember the price now, but I think it was around 16 euros the whole day.
- At the website they try to make it look like a hotel with charm, but as usually happens with hotel websites the photos are pretty far from reality.
- For 74 euros a night I wouldn't say is that a great value for the money. I've seen two stars way better than this one.
- No mini fridge in the room, but that is expected on a two star hotel.
- If I go back to Pau I wouldn't choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Good location on Place Clémenceau but impossible to approach by car given the incomprehensible road system, sat nav almost imploded! Finally abandoned car at Parking Clémenceau and walked short distance to the hotel.
Hotel looks impressive on the booking website, but then.... don't they all? The reality is a little different, tired room, strangely configured bathroom although the view across the square from the dual aspect windows did compensate.
24 hour porter, reasonable wifi and proximity to the town and restaurants etc., made for a pleasant "overnight" stop..... would not contemplate staying longer than that.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews