We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“First class gîte in an excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Julie M
Peterborough
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First class gîte in an excellent location”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed in La maison a côté for a week. I would throughly recommend it. On our arrival the gîte was immaculately clean, and had all essential equipment that we needed. It has an excellent location, on the edge of the village, making it far enough away from the main village to avoid the tourists, but close enough to take just a ten minutes walk to all main restaurants and bars. Very close to the gîte is a small supermarket and the bakers. It's also excellently located to explore this beautiful area of the Dordogne. A real find.. we will definitely go back.
Pet friendly too :))

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DocCroc
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“La Maison Verte”
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just returned from a fabulous two week holiday in Les Eyzies. Rob & Karen were excellent owners. The gite was immaculate for our arrival, it was very well equipped and well stocked with the essentials (loo roll, dishwasher & washing tablets, etc). The pool (shared with the other gite) is beautiful - plenty of loungers, sun shades, etc. The one very minor issue we had with the television was remedied by Rob & Karen without delay.
The location is great - a short walk from numerous restaurants, bars & shops in beautiful Les Eyzies. There are numerous things to do in the area - highlights for us were the Wednesday Market in Sarlat, the road cycling & kayaking down the Vezere.
The gite & the area are highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise F
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely residence..great hosts..centrally situated in the French countryside..accessible to all tourists attracrions”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our stay in this comfortable country residence in the French countryside of Les Eyzies. Hosts Karen and Rob could not be more helpful..explained all attractions round the area and provided us with directions. Home away from home. Would recommend this country residence to anyone and everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely country atmosphere, comfortable residence, easy access to all attractions
Liked least: Can't think of any negative point
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat G
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfectly positioned”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Delightful gite in the best possible position for access to the village with 3 wonderful historical sites for visiting. Not too mention the large number of restaurants and small bars for eating out. Rob & Karen are excellent owners who went above and beyond the requirements to make our stay a good one. They went to the trouble of getting up very early in order to run us to a train station and Rob was there when we got back to pick us up again. I am sure that we will be visiting again in the future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location to village life
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jane a
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location, location, location - and a great place to stay!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This is the best equipped holiday accommodation that I have ever visited - everything was there from toilet paper and washing powder to a pestle and mortar. Two bedrooms, well separated for privacy, huge bathroom with double sinks, full size bath and shower over. Well equipped kitchen, with dishwasher and freezer, comfortable sitting area, and massive outside table and chairs, with barbecue. Good sized outside pool shared with only one other holiday let. Plenty of loungers and chairs around the pool. We found the accommodation charming - lots of Ikea furniture and accessories made the place a visual pleasure. Having a washing machine and full sized fridge made running the holiday simple. This property had the great added benefit of being walking distance from a good number of restaurants ranging from top quality French cuisine, to pizza restaurants which also provided a french menu. Bakers round the corner, and the only supermarket in town is located next door but one. Canoe trips run from the town. Truly excellent walking - we bought the walking map from the Tourist Information office, which provides more than a dozen circular walks, including several starting from the town of Les Eyzes. Two museums in town, and a couple of prehistory sites, many, many more within a 30 minutes driving radius. Two weeks sped by - I'd go again tomorrow if I could

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Unkempt bushes on access lane buffetting the car
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing