We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thoroughly enjoyable little bar with excellent tapas”

Le Comptoir Du Foie Gras
Ranked #61 of 383 Restaurants in Biarritz
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Bar
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We ate here twice in the evening. The staff were friendly and helpful, the wine and cider good quality and reasonably priced, and the plates of tapas were delicious.

Also - a good buzzing atmosphere

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FreoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Fao le patron
We visited your bar because my wife likes the Basque cider. On the first occasion he told us they had no more chairs which they clearly did and the waiter with the beard told us to come back that evening. The second time it was 1 55 and we were told that the bar was closed and also call back that evening. On the third visit we went at 1 40 and were told the bar was closed at 2pm and my wife reminded him that it was not 2pm yet. At that moment he said something extremely rude to my wife which I didn't quite catch but was extremely offensive as I understand French. I would suggest, sir that your staff and in need of training, etiquette and downright politeness

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank rhyd2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

We were recommended to eat dinner here, and we did so Friday evening. The place was so crowded and it was difficult to communicate with the waiters in English and understand the menu. Everything was so stressful but the food was great and I would recommend Le Comptoir Du Foie Gras if you want to grab a quick meal.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Good and cheap wines and nice plates. The variety is so great and feels good as you eat in the street. Grab a chair and go help yourself!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank zerayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

We were not starving or even very hungry but when we walked by and saw the plates of tapas ready for consumption we had to indulge. This seems to be a hopping place and that is always a good sign of decent food. We found the tapas good but not as good as the ones we have had in Spain. But since this is not Spain they were pretty tasty.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wwjd1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Comptoir Du Foie Gras also viewed

Anglet, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 
Biarritz, Basque Country
Biarritz, Basque Country
 

Been to Le Comptoir Du Foie Gras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing