We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,682)
Filter reviews
1,682 results
Traveller rating
1,182
313
127
41
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,182
313
127
41
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoney restaurantrooftop barinner sanctumbrass barwelcome cocktailfur throwprivate membersafternoon teaquirky touchesmini barking streetquirky hotelturn down servicetop flooramazing hotelon arrivalbirthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 1,682 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

Stayed at Gotham last night absolutely wonderful, cannot fault anything. We had already been here for afternoon tea so knew it was a fabulous hotel. Every single staff member from concierge, reception, bar and housekeeping were so professional , personable and lovely. I cannot wait to go back and stay for longer. We had the added bonus of being able to sit out on the terrace and watch the fireworks for Chinese New Year - amazing. Thank you Gotham and see you soon. Xxxxxx

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at Hotel Gotham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Dear Claire J,

Thank you so very very much for this fantastic review.

We really do appreciate your very kind words, especially regarding the staff who looked after you during your visit.

I do hope we will see you again, and I certainly hope we will not need to wait until next new year.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

This hotel has style. Vintage glamour and great attention to detail makes staying here a visit you will remember.

Our room was small but beautifully designed. With probably one of the best showers I have ever encountered (slightly odd thing to mention I know but it was amazing).

The staff were both friendly and helpful. The breakfast was really delicious.

This hotel is well placed for both shopping, bars, restaurants and the theatre.

Overall a great night away.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 24honestreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at Hotel Gotham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Dear 24honestreview,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this fantastic review of your recent stay here at Gotham.

We really do appreciate your feedback and kind words about both the hotel and the staff who looked after you.

I do hope you will visit us again soon and I look forward to welcoming you back.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

This is without doubt the best hotel I have ever stayed in.
For a start the staff are amazing here, from the second we stepped into the building we were greeted with a smile and directions onto what floor we need to go in order to get to where we needed.
Top floor is the reception where we were greeted by two ladies who were very friendly and got us checked in.
The room was incredible! When we first walked in you get a great view of the room, the bathroom is all tiled with a big mirror and two shower types (one normal shower head and an overhead shower). Bed had a big fur throw on it, nice soft pillows, and a soft blanket. Really nice views out of both windows, mini-bar full and also a few additional things you can purchase from in the cupboard. In fact they even have their own newspaper with prices for a lot of the items in the room, which was fun to look through.
Overall the best hotel I have stayed in and it’s certainly unique in the best kind of way. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank taylorball07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at Hotel Gotham, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Dear taylorball07,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent visit here at Gotham.

We really do appreciate your kind words about both the hotel, and in particular, your comments about the staff you came into contact with.

We would also like to thank you for your recommendation and I do hope we will see you again very soon.

regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights , room 110 , very comfortable room , coffee machine , excellent toiletries great shower .
Staff friendly and helpful . Drinks were good and not too expensive for an exclusive bar , £22 for two gin & tonics .
Quirky , modern hotel , will recommend to others and would deffinatley stay here again .
I bought the umbrella on sale in the rooms as it is unusual and was a great price at £19.95 , thanks Gotham, it makes a change to stay in a individual hotel rather than a hotel chain

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jojolloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil B, Manager at Hotel Gotham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Dear jojolloyd

Thank you so so much for this 5 star review of your recent visit here at Gotham.

We genuinely do appreciate your feedback and can't tell you how grateful we are. We are Quirky and out there but remain professional at all times throughout our customers journey

Thank you so much , Happy Birthday

I hope we will see you again very soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

This hotel has amazing rooms but there are hidden extras which we were not expecting. When I approached a member of staff regarding my bill her reply was "£800 is average for a night away" she was rude and offered no apology. The 5 course meal we booked wasn't what we expected either apparently this was a website error. Overall the staff need some training on how to speak to customers and it's overpriced. The hotel down the road King Street Townhouse is definitely a better choice in Manchester, we will not be returning to Gotham.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kerryannxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario O, General Manager at Hotel Gotham, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Dear kerryannxxx,
Thank you for your feedback. I would like to offer my unreserved apologies for anything that might have been unclear. I would welcome an opportunity to discuss any items you feel were hidden charges, as well as the explanations given by the team. Our room rates are advertised at a point of reservation, just like any other service we provide. With reference to the your bill, and a charge of £800, this strikes me as odd as we do not have a rate plan for £800, and if your invoice included, for example, a meal, Bentley, cocktails, champagne or any other services we provide - it would be most unusual to have a round figure at the end - but not impossible. I would be delighted to take a look at this for you if you'd be so kind to give me a call.

I appreciate that there are different properties in Manchester to stay at, at various price points, and I appreciate you chosing Hotel Gotham on this occasion.

With kind regards
Mario Ovsenjak, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews