We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Abel Heywood
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Premier Suites(Manchester)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Burton Arms Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Gardens Hotel(Manchester)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
829 results
Traveller rating
545
222
41
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
222
41
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern quarterboutique hotelloft roompub with roomsbar downstairsbusy barcomfy bedcity centrebars and restaurantsrooms are smallncp car parkgreat showerlocation was perfectlittle toucheslovely roomlovely hotelbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
428 - 433 of 829 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely smashing hotel in the heart of all the bars and restaurants!
Cracking room, beautifully decorated and very clean. Nice touches like green tea!
Only downside was bar staff initially refused to serve us saying they were closed, until we pointed out that they weren't actually closed for another hour. No one was on the desk for checkout, we had to wait ages for someone to come.
Minor niggles and we'd definitely go back again and again!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Jules D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hotel
Very quirky with gorgeous rooms .
In the northern quarter so lots of lovely bars and close to the shops .
The bar downstairs is so cosy absolutely packed with lovely cocktails , breakfast was amazing .
Staff are so friendly , we will defo be returning . X

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank claire_owen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed overnight in a deluxe suite which was very modern, comfortable and clean with virtually no noise from the surrounding bars and restaurants. The decor is warm and inviting with some colourful and rustic looking tiles in the bathroom. Makes a change from boring white!

The pub is also very friendly and relaxing with great food and service from their very attentive staff. I can recommend the hummus and avocado sandwich washed down with a cherry vodka daiquiri! Yum!

We spent the evening exploring the lively Northern Quarter before returning for a great nights sleep. The next morning I was treated to the best veggie breakfast I have ever had! We'll be back!

Please note on my pics that the veggie breakfast was half scoffed before photographing. The original presentation was flawless

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank TravelMadMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

I've walked past Abel Heywood many times but never really noticed it. It sits within the Northern Quarter which was once the grimy, industrial part of the city but now boasts lots of cool bars, cafes and smells of quinoa, beard oil and vimto vape liquid.

The pub downstairs does good beers and wasn't too rowdy which was a concern when booking a hotel over a pub. In our room which was on the 2nd floor, it was very quiet and peaceful which is a surprise considering the location.

The receptionist was very friendly and incredibly happy which for a generally grumpy person like myself made me think I needed to double lock my door in case this happiness was a facade to a dark secret.

The room was modern and quirky as you'd expect from a 'boutique' hotel. The bed was big and comfortable, there was a small sofa and a nice bathroom.

I have 2 issues which stopped me giving the hotel 5*.

1) Cheap coffee sachets in the room and those pots of UHT milk that have a layer of fat on the top.
2) The size of the ironing board

I'm not a very organised person and therefore normally need to iron something when I stay in a hotel. I was pleased there was both an iron and board in the room but when I got the board out, I realised it was one of those table top things from Ikea made out of MDF.

It resembled a child's surf board and I challenge anyone to iron anything other than a pair of socks on one.

Overall however we had a great stay. The breakfast was great. Strong coffee, good ingredients, cooked well and eaten in a pub. What could be better?

To summarise, if you don't need to iron anything and don't mind UHT milk, stay at this hotel.

To Abel Heywood.....fresh milk, decent coffee in the room and a bigger ironing board please.

I'll be coming back to check

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here with my grandson. I the room was modern and of high quality and facilities were outstanding. Food delicious. The staff were very friendly and helpful, my grandson became ill, and the cleaners were so very caring and helpful as was the manager who helped me get him to a medical centre. I would definitely recommend and stay here again. Thank you to all who helped and I have never seen such friendly staff as here.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank janetindidim2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews