We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location...that's about it.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Ranked #60 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great location...that's about it.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

The location of this hotel is ideal as you really couldn't be more central! It is located on Picadilly Gardens, right next to the main bus and tram stops as well. The main shopping area is less than a 5 minute walk away so this place is perfect for somewhere central. We were staying in a standard room on the 11th floor which was fine but the room did have a slight musty smell despite it being perfectly clean. The room itself was quite small but at the same time, it's what I would expect from a city centre hotel. We paid £60 for the night and I felt that the room didn't really reflect the price although I can see how people would pay this much purely for the location. In the room there was a huge television in the room, tea and coffee making facilities, lots of storage, and a desk too. The en-suite was a good size and there was hot water at all times as well. Breakfast wasn't included in our room rate so I can't comment on that but we did see a lot of people going to the dining room so it seemed like a popular option! After staying at other hotels in Manchester I would probably not choose to stay here again but it is ideally located for someone who perhaps hasn't been to the city before and wants to be in the centre of the action.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor following your stay wih us recently.

I was disappointed to hear that we did not fully meet your expectations on this occasion and although I do appreciate that you may have alternative accommodation preferences for future stays in Manchester, I do sincerely hope that the benefit of our central location that you have highlighted, may entice you to come back and stay with us again.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    1,075
    583
    235
    114
See reviews for
202
993
155
723
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

I had a booking in the hotel's Arts Brasserie at lunchtime yesterday, and was served by a very friendly woman, whose name I sadly don't recall (although she did tell me at the start, I'm ashamed to admit!).

The food was excellent, and the server in question was very attentive and seemed genuinely delighted to help. She came over and introduced herself, checked everything was fine without being too keen, and was very upbeat and friendly.

I had been entertaining a friend from out of town, and had eaten out five times. Both of us felt this was the best service we had received all week, and so I was moved to share this with you. So often over-worked wait staff serve diners with a tired smile, and it was genuinely refreshing that this server was the first who seemed relaxed, happy and welcoming without having to try.

Thanks to Arts Brasserie and the lovely staff there for providing a wonderful end to our week!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adambeyoncelowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to share your extremely positive feedback following your recent dining experience in ARTS Brasserie; it is really appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at the Mecure March 2/3 on the Tesco voucher scheme must say it was brilliant good service lovely breakfast an a good central location to all the shops restaurants and pubs Manchester has to offer.
Will certainly book again !!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MORGANLLANELLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your review of the Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel following your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and will certainly stay with us again. With this in mind, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel on February 26th and check-in were greeted by friendly, helpful and courteous staff. The room was clean and tidy and perfect for an overnight stay, although the tiled bathroom floor needs a bit of attention as it looks a little worn.
Mecure is centrally located and perfect for shopping and the nightlife. It was my birthday and staying at this hotel added to a great weekend in a great city.
Checking out was just as good and you really felt as though the staff cared about your stay. Wherever you saw a member of staff in the hotel they smiled at you and said 'hello', which is unusual in my experience.
I would most definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzanneMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us, it really is appreciated.

So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and will recommend us to others.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

This hotel is extremely central situated on Portland street.
Very friendly staff, very welcoming. Good service. Rooms were very clean with all the requirements.... Kettle, iron, hairdryer. Would stay at the mercure again! Thankyou for a nice stay!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alisonredpath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David D, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your glowing review following your stay with us. I was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind regards
David Daly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 km away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,330 reviews
0.2 km away
Ibis Styles Manchester Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
0.3 km away
Abode Manchester
Abode Manchester
#24 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
0.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Property: Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel
Address: Piccadilly Plaza Portland Street, Manchester M1 4PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#40 Business Hotel in Manchester
#42 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#49 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME. The Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel is situated right in the heart of the city centre, easily accessible from the M6 and the M60 motorways. Making it the perfect location to discover one of the livliest cities of the North. This vibrant city has a fantastic array of shops, theatres, clubs, bars and restaurants, guaranteed to meet all customers' needs. RELAX IN ONE OF OUR STYLISH ROOMS: Each of the 280 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press/iron, climate control as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Upgraded rooms are also available on request. The hotel offers a range of facilities for guests including accessible rooms. THE PLACE TO UNWIND: Enjoy a visit to ARTS Brasserie, serving modern food in stylish surroundings with a friendly atmosphere. Situated on the 3rd floor, overlooking Piccadilly Gardens, The Brasserie Restaurant is the perfect location to unwind at the end of the day. For a lighter meal choice, room service is available 24 hours a day. THE PLACE TO MEET: The Conference Centre comprises 10 flexible conference rooms all with complimentary wi-fi access, suitable for hosting discreet boardroom meetings or conferences up to 700 delegates. With the added benefit of natural daylight, soundproofing and climate control.Of course, its not just conferences that we're renowned for. Whether you're booking a wedding, gala dinner, private party or a company award ceremony, the International Suite is the perfect choice. Complete with its own private reception area, bar and stage. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS INCLUDE: Old Trafford - Manchester United's Stadium Manchester Central, The Palace and Opera House Theatres, Manchester City Etihad Stadium/Sportscity, Imperial War Museum, Trafford Shopping Centre, Manchester Art Gallery. By rail: Manchester Piccadilly Station 1/2 mile. By Air: Manchester Airport 10 miles. Parking: Chargeable parking. Limited spaces - subject to availability. Dry gym: Free use to residential guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Manchester
Manchester Ramada
Mercure Manchester Piccadilly Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing