We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Visit spoiled by being charged twice.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Ranked #70 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Visit spoiled by being charged twice.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

Hotel was fine , sadly between Holiday Inn and Hotels.com I was charged twice for one nights stay. Holiday Inn and Hotels.com have both passed the blame to eachother leaving me with a very sour taste in my mouth.

Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jonathan440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    130
    101
    31
    40
See reviews for
29
104
27
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

I spent a week in Manchester recently, and was quite satisfied with most of my stay at Holiday Inn Central Park. It's located about 5 minutes by taxi north of the city center, so location is quite good. However, it's in a quite "dodgy" area of the city, so I wouldn't recommend walking around alone after nightfall. But, there are some things you will mostly always get at a Holiday Inn; a clean room, comfortable bed and a hearty breakfast; no more, no less. My room was facing the main road (Oldham Road), but was suprisingly quiet. So far, so good.

Two things that were sub-standard though; dinner and Internet. I've always been a bit sceptical when it comes to eating at the hotel I'm staying in. Holiday Inn definately confirmed this. We were a group of eight wanting a quick meal. We asked if it was possible to move the tables together so we could have a good conversation while waiting for the food. But, we were met by a cold shoulder from the waiter. "Not possible.....there's no room.....". There was room enough, but we gave up and had to sit at two different tables. When we finally received our dinner (20 GBP per main course!), I was very disappointed. How hard can a steak & fries be? The steak had definately been frozen and thawed (so-called sirloin), and was very tough and dry. My companions were perhaps a bit luckier, but the food was sub-standard and no better than the average school cafeteria. The other thing that disappointed us was the fact that the hotel demanded 10 GBP per day for WIFI access. In other hotels and restaurants/cafes etc. this is free of charge for guests. Free WIFI is expected by all travellers nowadays!

All in all, a pretty good stay at a fair price. But, there are better alternatives.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterjbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

The first impression of the hotel is of a medium security detention facility. It is located in a run down industrial area, and has high fences and CCTV all around. There is free parking for guests, and that CCTV is reassuring, although we never felt unsafe or uncomfortable in the neighbourhood.

We chose the hotel because it is in walking distance of the Velodrome at SportCity, meaning it's also in walking distance of Manchester City's stadium. It's not in easy walking distance of the city centre, so if you're looking for a central hotel look elsewhere, but remember you'll likely have to pay for parking. The hotel is on a regular bus route into town.

The room was a reasonable size, there was tea and coffee, and although the bed was 'continental style' with twin beds locked together to create a kingsize it was comfortable and we slept well. Almost everything worked, we couldn't get the plug out of the bath but that was not a major problem. There is Sky Sports but only in the bar, the in-room TV just has standard channels. We didn't try the restaurant or blow £10 each on breakfast.

The location made this hotel a winner for us, we'd certainly choose it again for events at the velodrome or Man City.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GollyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

Loads of free parking, great staff, fantastic dinner and a good nights sleep. Check-in was efficient and friendly and they recognised me as a Priority Club member. A standard Holiday Inn bedroom, no less than I would expect, a good size zip-lock bed but the room was exceptionally clean and well presented. We had a drink in the bar before dinner, the staff were attentive and friendly and there was a good atmosphere (the City game had just finished and they had won so the travelling supporters were in good spirits). Dinner was fantastic, great portion sizes, fabulous quality and what appeared to be home-cooked food rather than the usual Holiday Inn standard and the menu was really reasonably priced. The minor negatives - the location which looked like a business estate, however at no time did we feel security was an issue and for anyone travelling to the Etihad Stadium (we weren't) this is a brilliant location. Also, my parents, who are light sleepers, did not sleep exceptionally well due to traffic/other guest noise, however myself and my nephew slept fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Back to normal...The last HI didn't have parking unless you paid extra. But this one was as I expect...Plenty of parking, nice rooms and smoking rooms as well...Nice bar and the food was good...10/10

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miamiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
4.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
2.5 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
2.8 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Manchester, City Centre
4.3 km away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park

Property: Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Address: 888 Oldham Road, Manchester M40 2BS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****NEWLY OPENED…..CENTRAL PARK METROLINK 200 YARDS FROM THE HOTEL…..ONLY 2 STOPS FROM MANCHESTER VICTORIA STATION****Stay at the contemporary Holiday Inn Manchester-Central Park hotel for ample complimentary parking just outside the city centre. Conveniently located for Manchester City Football Club, Sportcity; with Manchester city centre and the Arndale Centre, a shoppers’ paradise nearby. Our Manchester hotel is ideally situated for leisure breaks, business travel to Manchester, and for sport enthusiasts.Just 2.0 miles from Manchester City Centre, now accessible via metrolink direct into Manchester Victoria Station, the good-value Holiday Inn Manchester-Central Park is in the Central Park Industrial Estate. Leave your vehicle in our complimentary car park and be greeted in the Lobby by our friendly staff. Wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Choose from our 83 en-suite rooms which are all furnished to a very high standard with super king size beds. All rooms feature colour TV, hair dryer, hospitality tray, direct dial telephone, modem points and WIFi. Family and executive rooms are available. Take advantage of joining Holiday Inn’s outstanding rewards programme, Priority Club, and enjoy many more benefits associated with this. Together with our friendly ‘can-do’ service and a global reassurance of quality and standards, you can relax and be yourself here.Holiday Inn Manchester-Central Park has 6 natural daylight filled meeting rooms for up to 90 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park Hotel Manchester
Manchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing