We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Nearby Hotels
US$162
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$148
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$90
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$119
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Princess St. Hotel(Manchester)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$112
US$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$130
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
US$157
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (500)
Filter reviews
500 results
Traveller rating
124
168
120
41
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
168
120
41
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreetihad stadiumstandard holiday inncar parktram stationthe hotel is cleanpleasant staybusy roadlate checkstayed here for one nightgood nights sleeptaxiaerodromemetrolinkacademyconcert
Filter
Updating list...
421 - 426 of 500 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I spent a week in Manchester recently, and was quite satisfied with most of my stay at Holiday Inn Central Park. It's located about 5 minutes by taxi north of the city center, so location is quite good. However, it's in a quite "dodgy" area of the city, so I wouldn't recommend walking around alone after nightfall. But, there are some things you will mostly always get at a Holiday Inn; a clean room, comfortable bed and a hearty breakfast; no more, no less. My room was facing the main road (Oldham Road), but was suprisingly quiet. So far, so good.

Two things that were sub-standard though; dinner and Internet. I've always been a bit sceptical when it comes to eating at the hotel I'm staying in. Holiday Inn definately confirmed this. We were a group of eight wanting a quick meal. We asked if it was possible to move the tables together so we could have a good conversation while waiting for the food. But, we were met by a cold shoulder from the waiter. "Not possible.....there's no room.....". There was room enough, but we gave up and had to sit at two different tables. When we finally received our dinner (20 GBP per main course!), I was very disappointed. How hard can a steak & fries be? The steak had definately been frozen and thawed (so-called sirloin), and was very tough and dry. My companions were perhaps a bit luckier, but the food was sub-standard and no better than the average school cafeteria. The other thing that disappointed us was the fact that the hotel demanded 10 GBP per day for WIFI access. In other hotels and restaurants/cafes etc. this is free of charge for guests. Free WIFI is expected by all travellers nowadays!

All in all, a pretty good stay at a fair price. But, there are better alternatives.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misterjbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

The first impression of the hotel is of a medium security detention facility. It is located in a run down industrial area, and has high fences and CCTV all around. There is free parking for guests, and that CCTV is reassuring, although we never felt unsafe or uncomfortable in the neighbourhood.

We chose the hotel because it is in walking distance of the Velodrome at SportCity, meaning it's also in walking distance of Manchester City's stadium. It's not in easy walking distance of the city centre, so if you're looking for a central hotel look elsewhere, but remember you'll likely have to pay for parking. The hotel is on a regular bus route into town.

The room was a reasonable size, there was tea and coffee, and although the bed was 'continental style' with twin beds locked together to create a kingsize it was comfortable and we slept well. Almost everything worked, we couldn't get the plug out of the bath but that was not a major problem. There is Sky Sports but only in the bar, the in-room TV just has standard channels. We didn't try the restaurant or blow £10 each on breakfast.

The location made this hotel a winner for us, we'd certainly choose it again for events at the velodrome or Man City.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GollyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Loads of free parking, great staff, fantastic dinner and a good nights sleep. Check-in was efficient and friendly and they recognised me as a Priority Club member. A standard Holiday Inn bedroom, no less than I would expect, a good size zip-lock bed but the room was exceptionally clean and well presented. We had a drink in the bar before dinner, the staff were attentive and friendly and there was a good atmosphere (the City game had just finished and they had won so the travelling supporters were in good spirits). Dinner was fantastic, great portion sizes, fabulous quality and what appeared to be home-cooked food rather than the usual Holiday Inn standard and the menu was really reasonably priced. The minor negatives - the location which looked like a business estate, however at no time did we feel security was an issue and for anyone travelling to the Etihad Stadium (we weren't) this is a brilliant location. Also, my parents, who are light sleepers, did not sleep exceptionally well due to traffic/other guest noise, however myself and my nephew slept fine.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Back to normal...The last HI didn't have parking unless you paid extra. But this one was as I expect...Plenty of parking, nice rooms and smoking rooms as well...Nice bar and the food was good...10/10

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miamiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The plus points:
- Helpful staff
- modern and clean
- comfortable beds
- great shower

The negative points
- Our bath didn't work so we had to move rooms
- the walls and ceilings are paper thin - we stayed on a Saturday night and between 2 am and 4 am we were woken up by drunk people coming back and banging doors, shouting in corridors etc
- Room service is not 24hr as advertised ... its hot food until 9.45pm and then just sandwiches !!!
- The location - its on a main road in a VERY rough area. Lots of high rise council blocks etc You can't walk around and despite the car park having CCTV etc - we were worried about our car all night.

Room Tip: We had an executive room and its was very spacious. Would also suggest top floor - as ceilings are very thin - you don't want someone crashing about above you as we had.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews