We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Boutique hotel with rooftop”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great John Street Hotel
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Boutique hotel with rooftop”
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel was very well situated - near enough to walk to the main shopping and restaurant area. It was stylish and fun with a great rooftop garden and jacuzzi! The only disappointment was the breakfast - the service was very slow and the breakfast not very good - but would definitely go back for the rooftop jacuzzi!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coco F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    185
    61
    44
    35
See reviews for
182
608
25
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We came to Great John Street for our office Christmas party on 22nd December. I'd decided we'd do something a bit different this year so I booked the roof terrace for a winter BBQ! Was a bit apprehensive on the morning but when we arrived there at lunchtime the room & terrace looked wonderful and guess what - the sun came out! So, middle of December we were sat outside in glorious sunshine tucking in to a wonderful BBQ - burgers, chicken, loads of interesting accompanyments, what a great change to the usual Xmas fare.
This has to be one of the best hotels I've been to. The decor is fabulous but more than anything the service - both behind the scenes when I was booking & on the actual party day - was superb. We were made to feel very special but the staff were never intrusive, we were just left to enjoy our party while all the hard work went on behind us.
So everyone at Coolair says a big THANK YOU! We had the best time & it was a superb way to end the year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed one night for a Peter Kay concert and managed to get a good deal on the room price (so its worth negotiating). The Hotel is in a quirky old building and has been restored to show a lot of original features. We had a lovely room with the bed on a mezzanine floor (unique in my experience) and very comfortable indeed.

Our car was valet parked at about the same price as all the Manchester city centre hotels and was there when we wanted it again. The hotel is convenient for the city centre though in a quiet location. A small crowd is always present outside at the back door of the Granada studio lot!

Overall much to commend but not for you if you like a standard 4 star hotel,

Room Tip: Haggle for a good price. None of the rooms have much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Petertheclaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We booked a suite for one night. The curtains were hanging off the curtain rail, the bedding and the sofa were covered in very dubious looking stains and the walls were paper thin, we could hear everything going on around us, including being woken by hotel staff arguing with a man as to whether or not he was a guest at the hotel. The Philips radio system looked good but due to having no ariel didn't work. The air conditioning didn't work and despite being January the room was like a sauna!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Zamia133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with my husband for my birthday. Really enjoyed it. Rooms are as eclectic as they describe. It's true that the party walls are a bit on the thin side and there are little inconsistencies but this is a lovely hotel. The staff are polite and respectful. It was nice and warm in our room and all facilities were great and very clean. Didn't eat there. Would stay again. Didn't use rooftop bar as it was too cold but would try in summer.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.8 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
610 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 118 in Manchester
1,282 reviews
0.6 km away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.9 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,342 reviews
1.2 km away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great John Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great John Street Hotel

Property: Great John Street Hotel
Address: Great John Street, Manchester M3 4FD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#3 Business Hotel in Manchester
#3 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Great John Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw from Manchester's most exclusive shopping areas, restaurants and theatres, this original Victorian school house has been transformed into a chic townhouse hotel with unique, individually designed bedrooms and suites alongside stylish lounges and Oyster Bar.The Old School House also boasts stunning entertainment rooms and features Manchester only Eclectic Roof Terrace available for exclusive use for your own tailor made event.Being madly eclectic, all of our rooms have a personality of their own, giving the guest a unique experience every visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Great John Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great John Street Manchester
Hotel Great John Street
Great John Street Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing