We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“satisfactory.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Britannia Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Britannia Airport Hotel
Ranked #93 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“satisfactory.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed one night in Feb. before flying next day, did a dinner bed and breakfast package, food good, room good, plenty of hot water, coffee tray etc. only thing was the heating did not come on till the evening, then a bit warm. staff good and helpful, certainly will be going again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc'n'Doris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    179
    277
    214
    557
See reviews for
217
489
107
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oswestry, england
Level Contributor
544 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I've stayed here many a time, 8-10 in all, the last few times for work, so you would expect me to have had at least some bad experiences, if you look at the reviews here.

The first time I stayed, it was because our flight was cancelled, and our entire party was put up here at the last minute. The meal provided was a bit average, but perfectly edible for somethign cooked up for the masses at the last minute. The room was fine. We slept well and got our flight the next day.

Another time we were woken up at 2am because of a fire alarm, no doubt set off by the rowdy wedding guests. We had to go outsuide for half an hour, not perfect preparation for our 6am flight, but that's hardly the hotels fault, what should they do, let us all burn ?

On all occasions I've always had a courteous if not overly interested reception - this is a value hotel after all, they're not going to hire Brad Pitt to welcome you. Some rooms are quieter than others - ask for one away from the road. There are plenty of rooms, they're happy to help.

Whenever I've had breakfast I've had to leave early, before the cooked stuff, but there is plenty of cereal.

Car parking can be a problem if you arrive late, but I've always found a space, and its free.

Yes the place is old and tired, but its clean, tidy and above all, cheap, so if you're on a budget, just ignore the people who have obviously expected a lot more, and maybe stay away if there's a wedding on...

Overall, great value.

Room Tip: Get one away from the road, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunsouthern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We booked this hotel for a family party in April 2012 and due to unforeseen circumstances we have to cancel,after phoning up we were told the booking had been a "special rate" and no refund was available. After arguing the point the hotel still refused a refund and we're now £45 out of pocket even though they will now put the room back on sites as available!!!Beware the small print on this company's contracts!!! Totally disgusted with this bunch of bandits!!

Room Tip: Dont use!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shep C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Overnight stay before flying from Manchester airport. Cost £29 and £5 full English breakfast (on offer). Underground secure car park. Only 3 miles from airport. Didn't have any of problems in other reports.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
In-Naxxar, null, Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The food where the WORST HOTEL FOOD I've ever had! ..and I travel allot worldwide due to my work.

Honestly the food is uneatable!! We orders the "Garlic Mushroom" as starter which where a strange combination of soaked mushrooms and out of date Berniase thing that tasted so awful that we sent it out again.

So after a horrible starter experience and a sent out dish (which we had to pay for!!) we where hoping for a better maincourse. Why? Because we order the "Steak and Ale Pie" which you would suspect to be a steak (a piece of meat) but there we where terrible wrong! Instead a bowl of brown substance came in to the table. Aha... the steak! Unfortunately they had apparently chopped it up to what I would describe as "steak soup" so nasty! ..and yes you are correct once a gain we had to send it out without eating a bit.

The sad thing is that the story continues... but really I think this is enough for me, us and everybody else. I can only say one thing stay away from this hotel!

The room poor ans smelly!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.5 km away
Britannia Country House Hotel & Spa
4.0 km away
Etrop Grange
Etrop Grange
#69 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
5.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 km away
The Airport Inn Manchester
5.2 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
5.1 km away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Airport Hotel

Property: Britannia Airport Hotel
Address: Palatine Road | Northenden, Manchester M22 4FH, England (Formerly Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for leisure and business travellers alike, The Britannia Manchester Airport Hotel is a modern hotel situated only 3 miles from Manchester Airport with a shuttle bus in operation 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Britannia Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Airport Hotel, South Manchester Hotel Manchester
Britannia Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing