We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 - 17:00
Save
Review Highlights
Some gems in the basement

Great record shop near the city centre. A rake through the vinyl racks in the basement had my... read more

Reviewed 21 May 2017
beakerquincy
,
Dundee, United Kingdom
via mobile
Quite a find

Popped in on a recent shopping trip and was amazed at how busy it was. It appears that this revival... read more

Reviewed 24 February 2017
david n
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Read all 19 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Manchester
from US$21.80
More Info
from US$15.40
More Info
from US$15.40
More Info
from US$23.57
More Info
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
11
4
0
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
4
0
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2018

The Staff at the Vinyl Exchange were very rude and frankly quite condescending. This is my own experience and other people may have caught the staff on a good day, however my experience means I will no longer be going back. Whilst you are a niche market, the principles of customer service still stand, and to tell a customer that you 'don't want to waste your time' is pretty poor service. If I were to offer you any advice, it would be to teach your staff to respect anyone who calls and walks through the door, as their time is valuable, as well as your own. Hopefully this criticism will be taken on board, considering there are several reviews that run on a similar thread.

Date of experience: February 2018
2  Thank Grace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

I worked in Manchester in the 1980s and this place was going strong then. This latest visit showed it to be still very popular and not a lot has changed.

It has a fantastic selection of music to choose from and brings back many, many memories. The window display is excellent and you struggle to find some of the vinyl you will find in here – it really is a collectors paradise.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank OfftheirP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Great record shop near the city centre. A rake through the vinyl racks in the basement had my finding some gems that I'd been after for years. Great selection of genres. Staff were friendly and chatty.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank beakerquincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Popped in on a recent shopping trip and was amazed at how busy it was. It appears that this revival is still gathering pace. Prices do vary enormously but they do have an excellent collection. After 20 minutes had to drag my partner out of here.

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Great selection of vinyl, all sectioned into boxes in the downstairs bit. Some very expencive but lots of bargains too, check the bargain bins and look out for deals. Will definitely go here again

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank SBC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews