We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Malmaison Manchester
Nearby Hotels
US$109
US$100
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$88
US$80
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$147
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
US$159
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Midland(Manchester)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Jurys Inn Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$110
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Princess St. Hotel(Manchester)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,749)
Filter reviews
2,749 results
Traveller rating
1,088
920
428
192
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,088
920
428
192
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorner suitepiccadilly stationmini barsuperior roomcooked breakfastan upgradereception staffbirthday treatcomfy bedcity centrehotel barsaturday nightlovely roomnorthern quarterstayed for one nightcanal streetfull english
Filter
Updating list...
773 - 778 of 2,749 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Checking in was helpful but not friendly, room quite pokey for a double, about a foot spare either side of the bed. No plugs by the bed (??!!) apart from a USB socket that didn't work.
Huge bathroom, that could've comfortably been a little smaller for more room in the bedroom.
Bit dark and 'trendy' that now looks a little bit like trying too hard.
Bed was comfy, and room was clean and well presented. Just hoped for a bit more space for a double.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daveo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Dear Daveo83

Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to read that you found our wonderful beds so comfy and the room well presented. However it is disappointing to see that you had a few issues on your stay.

We strive to provide all our guests with a relaxing and enjoyable time, and I am sorry that this was not your experience. If you would like to discuss this in more detail, please contact me at the hotel. I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards
Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Malmaison you need to know how amazing a member of your business hosting team really is. Last Friday we held our Packtypes training here & Marissa was absolutely amazing, so much so several of us went home & told other people about how great she was. We had the second part of our training this week & when Marissa walked in the room to host us she actually got cheers that she was back! She didn't let us down, she was just as good as she had been the week before!

We enjoyed being hosted by her so much that we spent part of our training actually using Packtypes to understand what made her so good!

We are delighted to share it with you.... every Malmaison should have someone with a Marissa profile.

Thank you Marissa from the InstepUK team! xx

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Hi Jo L and InstepUK team!

This is a truly outstanding review and I was delighted to read it. I have passed your comments onto Marissa who was absolutely thrilled to see what a good visit you had and her part in making it so memorable. Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know.

We completely agree and think that every hotel should have a Marissa, but we are holding onto ours very tightly! She is a total star and works very hard to ensure our guests have a great time.

We hope to see you all again soon.

Kind Regards
Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016

The positives first.
This hotel is opposite Piccadilly train station so the location is good.
All the communal areas, bar, toilets and reception were very clean.
The bar is actually quite good and not the soulless affair these sort of hotels often end up being, although the cocktails are nothing special. The glasses were simply so full of ice, and I mean full, that any drink quickly became diluted.
Our bathroom and shower were very nice. The water was as hot as you could want it and the shower had a really good flow. There was also loads of good quality, clean towels
The negatives.
Most of the bad points relate specifically to our room rather than the hotel in general.
The Moulin Rouge suite is very large and the bed is very large and very comfy but that's about all it's got going for it.
All the furniture was scuffed and tired.
Some of the wallpaper was ripped off in the bedroom.
There was a cigarette burn on the bedsheets.
The plug didn't fit the sink.
The carpet was tired, worn and wasn't fitted properly in high traffic places.
The sound from the busy street below was very evident, especially in the morning. This is central Manchester so I expected some noise but it was as if one of the windows wouldn't close properly or wasn't fitted correctly. There was obviously some problem with the street noise not being blocked out as it should.
There was nowhere near a mirror with enough light for my wife to be able to do her make up.
When we arrived we saw the usual drinks and snacks in the mini bar but on the table was a bottle of cheap, none descript Malbec and 2 wine glasses. I assumed that as we paid nearly £200 a night for our room ( and that's at a reduced rate ) this was complimentary but rang reception to be sure. It turns out it was £30. There was also a bottle of still water at either side of the bed and I've no idea if this was complimentary or not but if it wasn't it shouldn't have been there.
In no way is this room worth full price and even paying just short of £100 a night extra isn't really worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Dear Kieran
Thank you for your feedback. We always hope that all our guests have an amazing experience with us, and it is disappointing to hear that was not the case here.
I am pleased to say that we are embarking on a refurbishment of this particular suite shortly. There was so much you liked about our hotel, we would love you to stay again and show you our new look in its full glory.
I would very much appreciate the opportunity to discuss the details of your review in person. If you would to do so also, please contact me directly at the hotel. I will look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

A great room and great food! Bianca was so helpful! I'm vegan and Bianca arranged well in advance a separate menu for me and a whole range of vegan things for me to eat, from dinner to breakfast. Everyone in the restaurant was ready and willing to help and the food was amazing. Had an amazing stay. Thanks Bianca :-)

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Hi Jonathan F

It was lovely to read that our fab supervisor Bianca could be so helpful in accommodating your special requests and that the whole restaurant team contributed to your amazing stay. She will be very happy to read that her hard work was so appreciated. Thank you for letting us know all about your fantastic experience.

Let us know when you will be back, and we shall get the vegan treats at the ready. We are looking forward to seeing you then.

Kind Regards
Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Sorry it has took so long to write this reply but me and my husband stayed here 3-5th July to celebrate our 2 year anniversary and my birthday and we really could not fault the place.

My husband is a little claustrophobic and found our 1st room was a little closed in and was given an upgrade straight away. We were welcomed with a free drink and cake on arrival as well.

Bar staff were amazing with a further complimentary drink and the service was second to none from both receptionist staff and the restaurant and bar staff.

A really BIG BIG thank you to Suzie and Kate on reception for making us feel special and also Sophie in the restaurant who arrange for a cake and drinks for us.

There was a slight issue with the hot water however this was resolved and their was one rude gentlemen on the bar for our last drink before we left but this did not put a dampener on such a fantastic weekend.

We will definitely be returning again to see you all - it was a weekend we will never forget!

Room Tip: A corner suite is a must!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrandibrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqui G, General Manager at Malmaison Manchester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2016

Dear mrandibrooke

A very happy belated birthday and many congratulations for your 2nd anniversary!

Thank you very much for choosing to share this occasion with us and for taking the time to write such a wonderful review all about it. It was completely our pleasure to spoil you with a few treats and we are thrilled that they were so appreciated. Suzie, Kate and Sophie are all wee stars and they will be very happy to read their names here and to know that they made your trip so memorable, thank you for their mentions.

We are already looking forward to seeing you again, hurry back soon.

Kind Regards
Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews