We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our Didsbury Favourite,” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of No. 4 Dine & Wine

No. 4 Dine & Wine
Ranked #94 of 2,136 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$48
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Didsbury
Description: No.4 Dine and Wine opened in 2005 and has gone from strength to strength with a huge amount of regular customers from Didsbury and surrounding areas.Still owned and managed by Paul & Nina Burton who take part in the day to day running of the restaurant with a small team of friendly loyal staff.Menus are seasonal using as many local suppliers as possible. All dishes are homemade including bread baked every day, desserts and their popular chocolate truffles served with coffee.Ideal for a relaxed meal whether popping in for an early dinner or a special occasion. Small parties can also be catered for.Friendly & efficient service with the chance to watch the chefs in the kitchen! Booking advisable but not always essential.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our Didsbury Favourite,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

We visit frequently with family and friends, the food, service and atmosphere are excellent. We always book a table as the restaurant is cosy and intimate, and another plus for me is there is no monotonous background music.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank graham o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    47
    17
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Little gem - good food, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

Firstly a good impression when you get there as it's on a lovely little cobbled street a bit out the way of the main buzz.
The food is very good and definitely good value for money, everybody in our small party was very happy with their starters, mains and deserts. Also good portion sizes are given. I would like to be able to recommend something in particular but this isn't possible as it really was all very good!
The service, which I think is crucial, was very good. You can tell that the owners care about the restaurant and the experience of their customers (which is nice in itself), but the service could be a little more polished (but I'm talking only about small things like pouring the wine better etc).
Lastly, the atmosphere was nice, quite classy, not too noisy as many other restaurants can be, especially on a Saturday night.
I would definitely go here again and would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chadderton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Secret. Shhhhh don't tell anyone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Simply great. Must try it and avoid the normal rubbish chains.

Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“early evening fixed price menu offers really good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is a lovely restaurant down a quiet side street where the early evening fixed price menu offers really good quality and value. We ate a brilliant meal on a miserable Thursday evening and the place was quite full. The serving staff are great; knowledgeable about food and keen to help without being intrusive. Its best to come in a small car with loose change as parking can be a bit of a lottery in the general area .. and the nearby car parks have demon wardens if you don’t buy tickets.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank stalixian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
146 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“No.4 is No.1 in Didsbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Known about this place for a while but never went as we always went to Jem & I. Not happy with recent visits to jem & I so decided at last to try No.4. I can't beleive what we have been missing out on all this time. Absolutely fantastic!! Food beautifully cooked and full of flavour. So much on the menu that I wanted to try and I'll be back again soon to do so. Lovely setting as well, very relaxed and friendly. Also very reasonably priced. No4 is No1.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Stanworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed No. 4 Dine & Wine also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to No. 4 Dine & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing