We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I hoped for”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not what I hoped for”
Reviewed 9 March 2012

I booked this Hotel as a surprise for my Husband's Birthday, we had tickets for the local Theatre and I thought it would be nice to stay in the City and enjoy a bit of luxury. The hotel itself is very grand and impressive looking - beautiful lobby the staff at reception are friendly and helpful. However, I was less than impressed once I got to my room! Upon arrival, we found a milk jug outside the door, which looked as if it had been left by the room's previous occupants! We contacted the reception to enquire about ice and we're told we could find an ice dispenser on the wall near the lift and if we wanted Ice delivered to the room it would cost us! Sent hubby to find said ice dispenser, however it failed to dispense any ice! Upon returning to our room after the Theatre in the evening we had to put up with quite loud music coming from the room above us until approximately 1 am! The morning shower was interesting to say the least; I had to keep adjusting the temperature to avoid either being scolded or frozen. I wouldn't have batted an eye lid had I been staying at a Premier Inn or Travel Lodge, but I expected a little more class and comfort from this Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Sian M,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us and for your comments. I will look into the matters that you have raised I can assure you and if you would be kind enough to make contact with me I will update you. That said we do have ice machines on several floors for our guests convenience so if one was off line I can only apologise as we missed an opportunity to inform you of this.

Room service like all other hotels that offer a similar service does come with a tariff on the staff required to service a request to a room hence the advice from the team as per the charges. If there is noise from (other) rooms please call our duty manager as he/she will resolve the matter for you straightaway as we are as sensitive as you to noise complaints wherever/ whatever the source as we want you to enjoy a great stay with us. The water temperature is unusual hence my request for you to get in touch so we can track the matter down as again the comfort and enjoyment of guests remains always our priority and I would appreciate your help.

Everyone at The Midland wants your next stay with us to be faultless and genuinely we appreciate your feedback which I thank you again or offering.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,661
    1,365
    481
    146
    77
See reviews for
636
1,891
162
1,146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (812)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Basel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We stayed for a long weekend whilst I was visiting family in the area. The hotel has a big grand looking lobby. It's quite an old grand old place, presumably victorian, but it has been nicely modernised. Tea and scones and sandwiches in the lobby bar was (really) good. Nice little swimming pool for the kids. We had a midland suite on the 4th floor. It was huge. You could entertain people in there it was so large. At one point we had 5 adults and 6 children in there sitting around and chatting (my family). Nice furnishings. Real curtains. Windows were a bit dirty on the outside, but central Manchester suffers a lot from traffic grime and this is not really surprising. Large bathroom with heated mirror.
On checking in there was a sign offering late checkout at a £10 per hour premium. They really should remove this as it presents a very poor image of their values. I hope they can fix this. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon_Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear Gordon_Basel,

Many thanks for staying with us for your long weekend, for taking the time to review The Midland and also for telling others about how pleased you were with our team, our amenities and your Suite. The hotel was actually designed in the Victorian era but built in 1903 (Edwardian therefore) but I know what you mean as it is a wonderful building with lots and lots of character.

As regards charging for late checkouts it is a fact that because we are right at the heart of Manchester a lot of our guests will take the opportunity to shop or site-see on their day of departure and so due to the need for our housekeeping team to get rooms ready for that evening for new guests if we left the situation open ended (i.e. allowed guests to vacate their room when they wanted) truth is we'd never get the rooms turned around because we are constantly full.

However we do offer a complimentary storage service for guests at Concierge so that they can store their luggage and enjoy the last few hours that they have in Manchester; which I feel is a very reasonable compromise and seems to work really well.

As mentioned already thanks so much for your kind comments and we would be delighted to see you return in the near future.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jc30
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Just returned from a long weekend in Manchester and so pleased we decided on a little luxury instead of booking the Premier Inn. The Midland is a glorious building - as we walked up from the station my husband glanced up and said - that's an impressive building. I was pleased to tell him that we would be staying there for 3 nights! The reception area/ lobby is beautiful, very much in keeping with the era the hotel was built. Check-in was swift and we were given a standard twin on the 6th floor. The room was no larger than the usual budget chain size but the decor was certainly quirky - a modern take on the early 1900s theme. Bed was very comfortable and as our room looked over an inner courtyard was also very quiet. Perhaps due to the age of the building, the ceiling did need a little attention but this did not really detract from the overall ambience of the room. My husband did have the opportunity to see another standard room on the 5th floor (long story!) which was much smaller than ours, so perhaps we were lucky.
Arriving back at the hotel after dinner on the Saturday evening we decided to have a drink in the lounge as it was so inviting. Absolutely wonderful sipping a glass of wine, listening to the pianist and people-watching. There were several functions on that evening so the people-watching experience was very interesting to say the least. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful, from the very informative lady on the hotel's tourist information desk who told us the history of the hotel, to the charming gentlemen manning the concierge desk. The location was excellent, with the main tram stop across the street and several decent restaurants within strolling distance, and only 5 minutes walk from the station. We would certainly have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 11 March 2012
Dear jc30,

Thanks so much for your kind comments and for telling others about your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to read that we looked after our guests so well on what was a multi night stay from a senior tripadvisor reviewer. And of course we look forward to your return

Many thanks once again.

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Didn't get the room we had requested, but otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Bev M,

Can you let me know if it was the room type you wanted or a specific room in the hotel as we find many of our guests will ask for their favourite room upon return and I will ensure that we record your preferences so that we allow every opportunity for us to meet with your request in the future.

Really pleased that otherwise we were well received and that you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you for reviewing The Midland

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Midland oozes charm from the minute you walk through the door. It is also good just to have a drink in the lounge area and listen to the pianist. The rooms are traditional yet first class and the beds are an absolute dream,i only wish i could afford one to sleep in at home :) The only minus on the rooms was the slight intrusion of traffic during the night. nothing bad mind you but it was noticeable non the less.
The hotel restaurant(French) was very classy in appearance,food etc. But a bit on the high side for what one got. Mind you,if you can afford to stay here you can afford to push the boat out a bit in the restaurant! Overall,a good hotel with good facilities.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fettes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear fettee5,

Thanks so much for your kind comments; its always a pleasure to read a review where a guest really enjoyed their stay which I thank you for taking the time to do and also for highlighting to others how special a stay at The Midland is.

We look forward to your return

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
512 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
441 reviews
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.3 km away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland
The Midland Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing