We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight with the children”
Review of The Midland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Midland
Ranked #14 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overnight with the children”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Didn't get the room we had requested, but otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Bev M,

Can you let me know if it was the room type you wanted or a specific room in the hotel as we find many of our guests will ask for their favourite room upon return and I will ensure that we record your preferences so that we allow every opportunity for us to meet with your request in the future.

Really pleased that otherwise we were well received and that you enjoyed your time with us.

Thank you for reviewing The Midland

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,755
    1,387
    495
    156
    80
See reviews for
661
1,942
166
1,182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (826)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The Midland oozes charm from the minute you walk through the door. It is also good just to have a drink in the lounge area and listen to the pianist. The rooms are traditional yet first class and the beds are an absolute dream,i only wish i could afford one to sleep in at home :) The only minus on the rooms was the slight intrusion of traffic during the night. nothing bad mind you but it was noticeable non the less.
The hotel restaurant(French) was very classy in appearance,food etc. But a bit on the high side for what one got. Mind you,if you can afford to stay here you can afford to push the boat out a bit in the restaurant! Overall,a good hotel with good facilities.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fettes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear fettee5,

Thanks so much for your kind comments; its always a pleasure to read a review where a guest really enjoyed their stay which I thank you for taking the time to do and also for highlighting to others how special a stay at The Midland is.

We look forward to your return

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chorley
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

After good check in, Room 453 was great but Television was poor. Reception advised me that there is always a problem with aerial in that area of hotel, so found it a little strange they let the room out.
After 30 mins hanging around waiting to be moved, we arrived at room 344, not a patch on the other one, but was fine, and found though there are only a few channels, Sky Sports 1 and 2 are included, perfect for watching Man Utd beat Spurs on the Sunday without having to drag myself out to a pub to watch it.
Air conditioning good, bathroom perfect with a powerful shower, room overall average but adequate. Why have a mini bar if it is locked?
Breakfast in the room on the Sunday morning around 10.30 fine, they charge £5 per room for delivering it if you have breakfast included in your room rate, worth it to avoid the queues.
Pool area intimate, but we thought this was a highlight of our stay having it all to ourselves at about 2pm Sunday afternoon, gym was quite busy, but hey, pool, sauna and jacuzzi to yourselves, first class.
When we were checking in with the great staff, (all staff a credit to the hotel) was asked if I wanted to upgrade for £15 a night extra per room, next time I will take up that offer, as I would have liked a larger room to be honest, our room was more geared to one person, only one chair at the little table, so breakfast was taken in bed!
Next time I will try the French restaurant and the bars, I feel I will have to stay again soon, as I feel we didnt use all the hotel has to offer.
I am a smoker, and thought there could be a designated smoking area somewhere hidden form the other guests as you have to smoke at the front of the hotel, and in this day and age, you do get some rather horible looks off some of the other guests who are arriving or leaving, even when they arrive in their smart cars, and fill my lungs up with their poisonous fumes from their exhausts.
One tip, make sure you know where the lifts are located as the first time I left my room, I took a wrong turn and gave myself a lovely tour of the hotel using the huge stairways!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chorleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear chorleyboy,

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Midland and for your kind words about the hotel, our great team and what we offer. To be fair we do have a designated smoking area to the rear of the hotel that fulfils what you are asking from us and I will ask the team to ensure that we explain this to guests and monitor it going forward with the caveat that the challenge always is that guests (that do) will smoke at the nearest convenience and so anything around the hotel is a public amenity so it can be quite difficult to manage from a private business perspective. With the TV the matter has been resolved although I was pleased that you were able to watch the football in your room as that is always our aim (to please).

I'd also be delighted to help organise your next stay with us and book you into The French as it is a superb Restaurant however it does book out weeks in advance so allow me some time to get it right for you when you get in touch.

Thanks once again and please be reassured that your views have been taken on board and we look forward to your return soon.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have been to the Midland many times & always enjoy our stay. It has a lovely atmosphere with a sense of 'old world' charm. The pianist in the lounge area instantly makes you want to sit & chill with a glass of something fizzy, so we obliged! The French restaurant, is class & thoroughly recommend it (though a bit pricey, worth every penny). Breakfast could be a little bit more slick, service is slow & that's the only reason for 4/5 & not 5/5.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the centre of hotel to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyB500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear SandyB500,

Many thanks for taking the time to review The Midland and The French is appreciated. We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We used the hotel for our daughter's wedding and a large number of us stayed overnight. I can fully recommend this hotel to you, both as an excellent base if you are visiting Manchester, and as a wedding venue.
Staff in this hotel are excellent, they are all courteous and extremely helpful. All staff went out of their way to make our visit succussful and enjoyable. We were able to plan the wedding to our liking, and Nicola, the wedding coordinator is first class. In deed all staff on the day of the wedding were superb and really ensured that this was a great memory for all of us. Nothing is too much trouble for this hotel.
Rooms are clean and well equipped, although there is traffic noise, this is no worse than any other hotel in a central location. Breakfast is very good, but if you are late down you may have to queue.
Make sure you use the car park recommended by the hotel, as this is within walking distance and is only £10 per night if you stay more than one night. It is undercover and is secure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunsetbeach08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerManchester, General Manager at The Midland, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Sunsetbeach08,

Thank you for your kind review and it is always a pleasure looking after our guests on such an important occasion especially the Bride and Groom. Delighted that all of your party enjoyed their time with us and it would be a pleasure to see you and/or some of them return in the future.

Kind regards

Paul Bayliss MBE
Resident Manager
The Midland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 km away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
583 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 116 in Manchester
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 116 in Manchester
559 reviews
0.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.6 km away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Midland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Midland

Property: The Midland
Address: 16 Peter St | Use M2 4NQ for SatNavs, Manchester M60 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#8 Business Hotel in Manchester
#11 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Midland 4*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland hotel in Manchester is an iconic Grade II listed building. The hotel oozes luxury, comfort and style, and enjoys a history that leaves other Manchester hotels out in the cold. The hotel is famous for it's fantastic architecture and the building's characteristic style continues inside, where you'll find opulent decor, rich fabrics and shimmering chandeliers. The hotel has 312 spacious, stylish bedrooms to reside in and is conveniently located in the heart of Manchester city centre. The hotel is ideal for both leisure breaks and a superb venue to hold a conference or event. As for your dining experience - four AA Rosette, award-winning restaurant Adam Reid at The French, winner of a number of reigional and national accolades is perfect for that special occassion or important client. Similarly, 2 AA Rosette restaurant Mr. Cooper's House & Garden offers a fantastic a la carte menu of seasonal dishes. For leisure guests The Midland is conveniently situated near to theatres, museums and of course the fabulous array of shops in the city centre. If you are here on business you'll be pleased to hear that The Midland has 14 conference and meeting rooms which can hold up to 700 people. The Midland also offer free internet access to all guests and delegates. After a busy day of shopping or stressful day in the meeting room, enjoy relaxing in the award-winning The Spa At The Midland which is home to a private gym and relaxation pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Midland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Hotel Manchester
Midland Manchester
Hotel Manchester Midland
The Midland Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing