We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Ranked #54 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent stay”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We stayed 2 nights for a family wedding. Hotel is a typical budget hotel with added luxury of a bar and free breakfast. Rooms were clean and reasonably well looked after, although it had had some repairs done. Beds were OK if a little jittery, major issue was the quilt which was exactly the width of the bed, so with a person under the quilt, it becomes too small and as you toss and turn in the night it easily slips off. Why they can't get a correct size quilt beats me.

On a positive side the hotel is well staffed, with good helpful staff, which is a significant thing in a budget hotel, other chains usually have person looking after everything and failing on every count - not so here so 5 stars for that one Holiday Inn.

There is a pub restaurant next door, a typical Harvester type place, which on the Internet gets horrible reviews, but we had no problems, food was fine and we had a good night. I mention this as the second problem with the hotel is the area in which it is located - one of the worst in Manchester, so I wouldn't recommend walking about.

The breakfast was filling if a little limited - the usual help yourself buffet -tea, coffee, juices, toast, fruit, yogurt, cereal, scrambled eggs, sausage, beans, buns and bread. Yes that's about the lot - a starange mix with no bacon, but as its free and filling, was OK for 2 days but if you stayed longer would probably drive you to the McDonalds over the street.

Overall, we had a good stay, without complaints. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Dodgy area, so be careful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for all of your comments. I will take on board the negative aspects of your stay. The area the hotel is located in is in between the districts of Gorton and Denton, these are obviously suburbs of the large city of Manchester. I can honestly say that we have never had any issues in the hotel with security or misconduct and our regular customers are happy to stay in the area. Hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Many Thanks

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    251
    107
    38
    22
See reviews for
176
148
39
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Five familymembers on a fotballtrip.

The hotell seemed ok when we arrived, fairly clean, and nice people.

First, they could`n`t fine over booking, but it turnes out ok.
5.30 the first morning, suddenly some strangers tried to get into the room, and a while after, they called form the desk, asking "why we were at that room", somebody clearly didn`t do their job, as the room apparently stood as available in their computer.

The breakfast was ok, but not much more, scrambled eggs made of powder, and where`s the bacon?
Tried to order a Gin Tonic in the bar, but both offered in th bar menu was sold out......
Quite noisy place, and a little too far from City Centre.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sulteniasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
I am sorry that your stay was not great at the Holiday Inn Express Manchester East earlier this month. Please accept my apologies for that and if you would like to stay with us again please contact me directly on gm@hiexpressmanchester.co.uk and I will happily book accommodation for you and show you that the hotel does normally operate to an exceptional standard.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heggedal, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I invited a son and a grandson for a "football weekend" in Manchester, and I wanted a fairly inexpensive hotel. The Holiday Inn Express East offered good value for the money - 47 £ for a family room. It is located some kilometers from downtown, but even if you factor in 8 £ for a family daycard on the bus, that's a decent price. As it happens we like riding in front of the top deck in the dobledecker buses, so taking the bus was part of the tourist experience. All in all we had a nice stay at this hotel. The room was comfortable, the only problem was that the termostat on the panel heater was not functioning properly, so that the room temperature was lower than we would have liked it. That was a literally speaking a minus when we returned from a sub-zero weather football match. Another minus is that they charge for the WiFi internet - I think it was 7 £ for a day, which in this day and age is quite a lot. It is strange that the McDonalds next door can provide Wifi for a 89 p Coke, while the hotel finds it necessary to charge that much. All HI Express hotels offer free breakfast, but the breakfast is usually quite "rudimentary". Here the breakfast was very good, with several hot food items. All in all a good hotel experience, I might very well select this hotel again.

Room Tip: Buses no 201 or 203 from Piccadilly. Look out for the McDonalds yellow arches on the left side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ketilito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your comments and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel soon! Just so you know we can offer free WIFI in the lobby area on a 30 minute voucher.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed here for one night on the 18th January. Reception staff were very friendly and checking in and out was easy.

Room was spacious and fairly clean, had good facilities including a kettle and some high street brand toiletries. I didn't find a trouser press but this would have been useful.
A nice touch was the complimentary offering of basic items (razor, toothbrush/toothpaste) if you had forgotten your own

The bar area was good with acceptable drink prices and selection and sky television. Evening food was average, seemed microwaved, I had a burger that tasted like cardboard.

Breakfast had a good selection of hot and cold items with good quality.

The hotel charged for wi-fi both in the room and in the lobby. This was both surprising and disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_s10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for your great comments! Just to let you know that if you do stay with us again we do offer free wifi vouchers in the lobby area for 30 minutes usage.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Very descent hotel with all the basics. Very clean premises and friendly staff. The breakfast offered was adequate both in quality and variety. Free wi-fi and parking. 10 minutes drive using a taxi to transfer you to Picadilly Coach Station, spending about 10 pounds. I definetely recomment this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eledem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you very much for your great comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
4.5 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
5.8 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
5.5 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
5.0 km away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#49 of 117 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
5.2 km away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Address: Debdale Park 21 Wall Way | Hyde Road, Manchester M18 7WY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#30 Family Hotel in Manchester
#37 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn East Manchester East is just 1 mile from the M60 motorway, Junction 24, and M67, Junction 1. Rates include continental breakfast with hot choices and free car parking and coach access. We are just 2 miles from City of Manchester Stadium, Sport City and Manchester Velodrome home of British Cycling, and a short taxi journey to Old Trafford Stadium, home of Manchester United Football Club.All rooms offer wifi access, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. Manchester International Airport is 15 minutes away, whilst an hour's drive by motorway from the hotel will take you to the English Lake District and to the seaside coastal resorts of Blackpool, and the city of Liverpool. Within Manchester city centre are major and small art galleries and museums, including the Tate North, the new Lowry at Salford Quays, the City Art Gallery, the Manchester Museum and the Museum of Science and Industry , as examples. Whether you decide to do shopping in the Trafford Centre or attend a concert at the MEN Arena, you are always welcome at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, Gorton, Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Manchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing