We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely basic (but satisfactory)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Ranked #52 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
New York NY
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Extremely basic (but satisfactory)”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Let's begin with the positives...

Free parking in a very well-lit parking lot with CCTV
Quiet location away from traffic - still convenient to the Motorway.
Front desk staff pays close attention to who is coming and going so it feels safe and secure.
Very professional front desk staff - friendly and courteous
The breakfast is very decent

Areas for improvement...
*The walls are paper thin and you can hear every word in the room next door (if you're unfortunate enough to be next to people drinking beer and arguing until 4:00AM, not good)
*Free wifi is really a hallmark of Holiday Inn Express in the U.S. and I realize it is not something you find as frequently in Europe and the UK but charging almost a third of the room rate for internet access seems excessive (but I suppose it goes with the geography)
*The towels are disintegrating - that just really reflects poorly. I have a bath towel at home that has been in constant use for many years and it doesn't look anything like the sad Holiday Inn Express towels in Manchester. The towels in that room were in *bad* shape.
*The sink in our room backed up and was quite nasty - these are little things but come on, you're part of InterContinental Hotels Group here.
*The base around the shower was pretty nasty (maintenance issue - not housekeeping)
*A bar of soap would be nice - I think even the most economical budget brands in the U.S. provide a bar of soap (and I do not think of Holiday Inn Express as the most economical, I think of Holiday Inn Express as midscale limited service)

The Front Desk picked up on my American accent and decided to put the charge through in U.S. dollars. Please ask me first. I immediately noticed the rate was significantly higher in dollars and asked to have it in Pounds as my bank does *not* charge me any exchange fees. They cheerfully voided the U.S. dollar transaction and there wasn't an issue but it just left a sour taste in my mouth (especially considering the spread was about 4% in their favor).

All in all, if I had to be in that immediate area again and the rate were the same, I wouldn't have any major hesitations about staying there again - it wasn't bad, just very basic. I don't lose sleep over tired towels or poor drainage in the sink - I just think it reflects poorly on the Holiday Inn Express brand which I think is top notch state-side.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoreFFmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thankyou for all your comments. I will definately be investigating the issues you raised regarding the towels we provided to make sure there is no recurrence of this problem.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    253
    108
    38
    22
See reviews for
180
150
39
144
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Very easy to find from the motorway - ideal for a quick in and out. Very close to a McDonalds, so when you see that, you know you're there! Free parking (very happy about this) Booked a room with a double bed plus a sofabed for my toddler son, the room was a good size, not too cramped.

Check in very easy, polite friendly and helpful staff.

Was delighted to see that the sofabed had been fully set up and made up for him, and it was not too high either - ideal if you worry about your toddler falling out of bed!

TV in the room had a good range of channels including cbeebies. Bed very comfortable, good sized bathroom, very clean.

Stayed here as we were attending an evening football match at Man United, and although it is the opposite side of Manchester, if you are using the motorway, and know where to park at the football, it is ideal for the two of them, and for not straying too far from the motorway.

Was nice there was a bar open (doubles as the breakfast room in the mornings) when we got back after the game, and there was the aforementioned McDonalds round the corner too.

Got a good nights sleep, and the breakfast in the morning (everyone qualifies for one - why can't all places be like this?) was excellent - not a vast range of stuff like the big Holiday Inns, but nevertheless a decent choice, and all the main things included (including hot buffet, sausages, eggs, beans etc)

Would almost certainly stay here again, got a great rate and could not fault it at all.

Room Tip: Book early on the Holiday Inn website to get the lowest price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorkingeagle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Its great to get positive feedback like this and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel shortly. Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

A quick overnight stop on way from London to Burnley.

Good to see wifi costs at expresses are finally falling.

Still don't understand why the TVs don't offer full freeview and teletext so couldn't check weather on route.

Instead just poor quality limited to 12 channels ?

Despite this minor gripe would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerTimUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you very much for your comments - I will feed back to the rest of the team. Thankyou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We had originally Booked a city centre hotel to visity friends and the christmas markets but whilst searching for another trip came across a deal for this hotel on Hotel Pronto at a fraction of what the city centre hotels where charging.Excellent transport links to the city centre and only 13.50 in a taxi when we returned later in the evening.Hotel is clean and well presented, room equipped to the usual standard offered by budget hotel chains ,clean and comfortable .Breakfast was excellent and plenty of it.What really stood out with this hotel was the staff especially the lady duty manager and H the night manager. when we booked in Hotel Pronto had booked us a twin room but the hotel staff sorted it out and we could not of been more happy. The only complaint we had was the coffe provided in the room was awful but the Hotel bar and the macdonalds over the road sold better so no major issues. Hotel was full but remarkably quiet We visit our friends who live local to the hotel quite often so will be booking again.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lifts for a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnstonei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 14 December 2011
It is wonderful to get such good feedback about my team here at the hotel. We pride ourselves in offering excellant customer service. Hope to see you at the hotel again soon.

Best Wishes

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daventry
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed at this hotel for one night (thur 17th nov) whilst visiting elderly relative.Very warm welcoming staff. Nice clean room not overlooking traffic.Very good night sleep. My only niggle was no bacon for brekkie!!Excellent value def stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carl7206, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, responded to this review, 25 November 2011
Thank you very much for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Carl Butterworth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Manchester hotels
4.5 km away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
5.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester City Centre Arena
5.0 km away
Holiday Inn Manchester Central Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
5.8 km away
Jurys Inn Manchester City Centre
4.1 km away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Manchester East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Manchester East

Property: Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Address: Debdale Park 21 Wall Way | Hyde Road, Manchester M18 7WY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#30 Family Hotel in Manchester
#37 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Manchester East 3.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn East Manchester East is just 1 mile from the M60 motorway, Junction 24, and M67, Junction 1. Rates include continental breakfast with hot choices and free car parking and coach access. We are just 2 miles from City of Manchester Stadium, Sport City and Manchester Velodrome home of British Cycling, and a short taxi journey to Old Trafford Stadium, home of Manchester United Football Club.All rooms offer wifi access, telephone and tea/coffee making facilities, with all bedroom windows opening for guest use. Manchester International Airport is 15 minutes away, whilst an hour's drive by motorway from the hotel will take you to the English Lake District and to the seaside coastal resorts of Blackpool, and the city of Liverpool. Within Manchester city centre are major and small art galleries and museums, including the Tate North, the new Lowry at Salford Quays, the City Art Gallery, the Manchester Museum and the Museum of Science and Industry , as examples. Whether you decide to do shopping in the Trafford Centre or attend a concert at the MEN Arena, you are always welcome at Holiday Inn Express Manchester East, Gorton, Manchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Manchester East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East Hotel Manchester
Holiday Inn Manchester
Manchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing