We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, good service..”

Carluccio's - Spinningfields
Ranked #260 of 2,527 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$33
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Carluccio's in Spinningfields is located in the heart of Manchester's financial district between Deansgate and Leftbank, overlooking Hardman Square. This branch of the famous Italian café chain combines a gourmet deli with a chic white dining room that is popular for business breakfasts, working lunches, and romantic evening meals. Carluccio's has an authentic contemporary Italian ambience, and favourite items from the classic menu include Bistecca di bue con patate - 8oz, 21 day aged West Country rib eye, served with rosemary potatoes and marinated peppers and the gamberoni alla griglia - grilled king prawns marinated in chilli and lemon, served with a green salad. Carluccio's is famous for their gourmet groceries, Italian roasted coffees and fine Italian wines.
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Went to this restaurant for a birthday celebration- it was nice. There was a large group of friends, but were placed in front of the door.. too cold!!
Bit of confusion with the food order to start, but was soon rectified.
Had calamari and the seafood crab lasagne- it was really nice.

Thank nicmad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Ate in this restaurant last night with friends. Like every where on a Saturday night just before Christmas it was extremely busy! Service was really attentive but we did have a couple of issues - we ordered bread and Olives to start off the meal but they told that they had run out of bread?? When the Pizzas arrived my friends pizza was all burnt on the base - this was replaced quickly with a fresh Pizza. Overall quite average meal for the 5 of us! Did not really stand out and I would not go back through choice!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth W, General Manager at Carluccio's - Spinningfields, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Good Morning

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit with us. I have gone through your comments regarding the bread and the burnt pizza with head chef.

Its disappointing for us as a team when these things happen especially when they can so easily be avoided. We have gone through the ordering with kitchen team and have re-trained the them to ensure that they are checking that food is good enough before it leaves the pass for the guest.

Again thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies and I hope we can prove to you another time that this was one off.

Many Thanks

Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

With the new adjacent buildings now dwarfing this restaurant, they had to do something to entice customers back in through the doors and a makeover has done the job. Moving slightly away from the traditional Italian look and more into modern fittings, in-keeping with spinningfields glass and chrome exterior has brought it up to date. An addition of a new pizza oven has also picked up the food stakes as well.
We have been enjoying this restaurant for its evening meals for a while now and I always seem to aim for the same formula. I would pick off the special offer menu which has the simply wonderful antipasti starter which consists of homemade baked ricotta served with pane carasau – a Sardinian flat bread – finocchiona salami, prosciutto Gran Sasso, poponcini peppers, balsamic onions, caponata and green beans. Very tasty. I then normally move on to the chicken Milanese which is a flattened chicken breast in breadcrumbs, simple and delicious, but with the festive season encroaching, the menu has changed slightly with a festive menu being brought in whereby the Milanese is taken out and chicken saltimbocca has been unveiled. I'm glad to say that it's equally delicious. A chicken breast that is again flattened but with a bacon wrapping and a mushroom type sauce over the top with the addition of roasted potatoes thrown in as well which the Milanese didn't offer. The special offer comes in at £17.95 for two courses which has increased quite a bit over the last offer which was priced at £13.95 for two courses but hopefully the previous offer will return when the season of higher prices has passed.

1  Thank Metrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth W, Manager at Carluccio's - Spinningfields, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hi Metrox,

Thanks so much for your feedback on our festive menu and the new look restaurant! Always good to hear of a good experience, especially regarding our new Menu Festivo.

Again thanks so much much for the feedback and see you soon!

Regards,

Luke Jakeman
Assistant Manager

P.S - The set menu's will be back in January.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

My meal was absolutely delicious. I had Vegan choices with a mushroom starter and followed by best pizza i have ever tasted, Also the Pecorino wine was lovely. The waiter was outstanding with his help. The ambience of the restaurant was brilliant.
I would definitely recommend Carluccio's

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cazste2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth W, Manager at Carluccio's - Spinningfields, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hi Cazste2013,

Thanks so much for your feedback, we appreciate feedback in any form but knowing it was as positive as this makes us very happy!

The vegan options we serve are something we here are very proud of and so happy you enjoyed them.

Looking forward to seeing you soon,

Regards,

Luke Jakeman
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Great food and atmosphere.
Vegetarian options. Fantastic mocktails for drivers. Also a shop to take away goodies to enjoy at home or gifts.

Thank Terisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth W, General Manager at Carluccio's - Spinningfields, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2017

Hi Terisa T,

We appreciate Feedback in any form especially feedback as positive as this!

We pride ourselves on our service and also the services we provide and especially proud of our Vegetarian/Vegan menu.

Looking forward to seeing you soon,

Regards,

Luke Jakeman
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carluccio's - Spinningfields also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Carluccio's - Spinningfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing